Customer Reviews for

Unseen (Will Trent Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

In her last novel, CRIMINAL, Slaughter's writing soared to new h

In her last novel, CRIMINAL, Slaughter's writing soared to new heights. The plot twists dazzled this long time fan, and the read was incredibly satisfying. It sealed the deal that Will Trent is the hero to root for. To follow up with anything less would have been a huge...
In her last novel, CRIMINAL, Slaughter's writing soared to new heights. The plot twists dazzled this long time fan, and the read was incredibly satisfying. It sealed the deal that Will Trent is the hero to root for. To follow up with anything less would have been a huge letdown. But UNSEEN does not disappoint. In fact, it delights. Long time readers will remember what they love or hate about Lena Adams. Watching Sara continue to grieve Jeffrey reminds readers how strong the two were together. But also displays why Will is her new perfect match. One wouldn't think that there was room for improvement, yet Slaughter's impeccable storytelling continues to get better with each book. Slaughter fans will be gratified. Thriller fans who've not yet read Slaughter will be hypnotized. Readers who fell in love with Gillian Flynn last year but never considered themselves thriller readers will be converted. This one is unputdownable and not to be missed.

posted by ThrilList on July 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Being a avid reader this book took me a long time to read it. Ha

Being a avid reader this book took me a long time to read it. Had a real hard time getting into it.

posted by Diane49 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    In her last novel, CRIMINAL, Slaughter's writing soared to new h

    In her last novel, CRIMINAL, Slaughter's writing soared to new heights. The plot twists dazzled this long time fan, and the read was incredibly satisfying. It sealed the deal that Will Trent is the hero to root for. To follow up with anything less would have been a huge letdown. But UNSEEN does not disappoint. In fact, it delights. Long time readers will remember what they love or hate about Lena Adams. Watching Sara continue to grieve Jeffrey reminds readers how strong the two were together. But also displays why Will is her new perfect match. One wouldn't think that there was room for improvement, yet Slaughter's impeccable storytelling continues to get better with each book. Slaughter fans will be gratified. Thriller fans who've not yet read Slaughter will be hypnotized. Readers who fell in love with Gillian Flynn last year but never considered themselves thriller readers will be converted. This one is unputdownable and not to be missed.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    How is it she keeps getting better and better? Normally, after


    How is it she keeps getting better and better? Normally, after a few books in a series, I get bored, but Slaughter has me riveted from the opening pages (what a shocker!!!)  to the end. She is a master of this genre and frankly, outshines all others.
    LOVED!!! 

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Slaughter does not disappoint with Unseen!

    Karin Slaughter books just keep getting better! Unseen has several twisting plots that are unseen until the end! If you want an exciting read with great characters that keep you entranced until the end, this is it!
    She brings past characters along with some new evil and new good ones into an awesome crime plot! This is not for the faint of heart though. Her writing shows her researched knowledge in forensics, and just like true crimes, some can be graphic.
    Slaughter is one of the best (if not THE best) mystery crime authors of our time! Caution: Unseen will leave you wanting more of the characters, and may make you want to read the series from the very beginning of it all!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Karin Slaughter book

    Macon Detective Lena Adams returns as she and her husband, Jared become the victims of a brutal home attack that may be retaliation for a raid headed by Adams only days before. GBI Agent Will Trent is working undercover in Macon in an attempt to uncover and capture the mysterious Big Whitey, an underworld kingpin who leaves a trail of drugs and death in his wake. Dr Sara Linton, still holding a grudge against Lena is Jareds’ stepmother, their feud is re-fueled and burns hot, once again. To make things worse, Will cannot tell Sara what he is doing, in spite of their relationship. His secrets could mean the end of them and he knows it.

    True to form, Karin Slaughter’s <b>Unseen</b> is raw with emotion, the action is gritty and brutal and the tension runs high as the twist and turns leave the reader guessing at the final outcome! Using the POVs of Lena, Will and Sara, Ms. Slaughter has once again, pulled together a fully rounded tale that runs high on tension-filled adrenaline as Lena and Sara face off once again. Meanwhile, there are crimes to solve, will Big Whitey be identified and captured?

    The ups and down of the pace made the anticipation to the final resolution run high for me, although I did find that I worried that Sara and Lena’s feud would overpower the main plot too much.

    An ARC edition of <b>Unseen</b> was provided by NetGalley and Bantam-Dell in exchange for my honest review.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    The best yet!  loved it!

    The best yet!  loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    Unseen is the seventh book in the Will Trent series by popular A

    Unseen is the seventh book in the Will Trent series by popular American author, Karin Slaughter. GBI deputy director, Amanda Wagner has her agent, Will Trent working undercover in Macon, but he is reluctant to tell Sara Linton just what he’s working on: he knows she’ll be furious. It is no coincidence that Lena Adams, the woman many believe caused Chief Jeffrey Tolliver’s death, works for Macon PD. The story revolves around a shooting at Lena and Jared’s house. Events before the fateful attack are presented from Lena’s perspective, which allows the reader to get inside Lena’s brain. Events after the shooting come from Will’s and Sara’s perspectives. Undercover Will demonstrates some unsuspected talents: alter-ego Bill Black is quite something else. Will does, however, have to endure being cut, kicked, punched, tasered, tied up, slapped, scratched, strangled, and bitten. As always, there is plenty of action: murder, kidnapping, paedophiles, sex trafficking, drug theft, child pornography, corrupt cops, cops working off beat, snitches and suicide. The range of weapons includes pistols, shotguns, a knife, taser, hammer, fists and boots. And apart from all that, there’s even a bit of humour and heartache. The long awaited confrontation between Lena and Sara finally happens (definitely worth the wait) and Slaughter ties up quite a few loose ends in this book, which will have some readers wondering if this is the last Will Trent/Sara Linton we will see. Each time I pick up another Karin Slaughter book I wonder if she can maintain the high standard she has set for herself: she can and in this book, she certainly does. Unputdownable!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Awesome author

    Read one of her books on a whim and have since read both Grant County Series and the Will Trent series! I would suggest reading them all in order. Can't wait for her next Will Trent book to come out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Couldn't put it down until finished!

    Loved it! The only thing I am upset about; that I have to wait a year for the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Being a avid reader this book took me a long time to read it. Ha

    Being a avid reader this book took me a long time to read it. Had a real hard time getting into it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wish I could give it 4.5 stars.  I must read in a series that ju

    Wish I could give it 4.5 stars.  I must read in a series that just keeps getting better. 

    Unseen is listed as the 7th book in Karin Slaughter's Will Trent mystery/thriller series, although it is actually the latest in the series of books that combines both the Grant County characters and the Atlanta characters. 
    As the book begins, we find Will working on an undercover assignment in Macon, Georgia. Interestingly enough, Macon just happens to be where our old friend Lena Adams has settled after she left Grant County. Things begin to heat up as Will and Lena's paths cross. As any fan of the series knows, if Lena is involved, there is bound to be plenty of trouble. This book is no different in that respect, and as the story continues, Will and Lena's seemingly unrelated story lines merge, though not necessarily in the way that I expected. Slaughter is a master in the use of twist and turns in the plot of her stories, and many of her books contain those &quot;Ah Ha,&quot; moments that make a good mystery so much fun to read. Her stories are action packed, and although there is violence and evil, as all good thrillers must have, it is not over the top or gratuitous, just the right level of both to make the story believable. 




    One of the things that I have come to love the most about Slaughter's books are her characters. Slaughter's characters are all undeniably human with all the complexity that suggests. In fact, reading this book was like going home for a visit and getting caught up with family and friends. You know they are going to make you laugh, or shake you head in wonder when they make a decision that doesn't seem to make sense. I found myself, once again, being amazed by their actions, yelling at them when I could see they were making the wrong decision, crying with them, celebrating with them, and in the end, feeling like they haven't changed a bit. Will is still a troubled soul, Sara is still too nice, Lena is still clueless about what really matters, Faith is still trying to hold them all together, and Amanda was still the ball buster I have come to count on. I was glad that Angie did not make an appearance in this book, but I am willing to bet that she is not far away and will make her presence known in an upcoming book. 




    If you are a fan of the mystery - suspense - thriller genre, I cannot recommend these books highly enough. As series go, both the Grant County books and the Atlanta books are top notch, and as mystery/thrillers go, they are among my favorites. If you are a fan of Karin Slaughter and have read the other books in her series, then I am probably preaching to the choir. If you have not, I recommend that you start with the Grant County books to get the background of the characters from that series, and continue with the Will Trent books, where Slaughter really comes in to her own. 




    Thanks to Delacorte Press and Netgalley for making this book available to me in exchange for a review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    To violent.

    I LOVE a good suspence romantic thriller, but there was just to much VIOLENCE in this story to make it enjoyable. It could have been told just as well without all the gory indepth details. The preview got my attention to buy the book, but the more I read I was sorry I did. I finished it only by fastfowarding thru the most violent parts, but I would have returned it if I could have.
    1 star for suspence. Would have given 4 if not for violence.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

    No text was provided for this review.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    good read

    I did not read a Karin Slaughter book in a while. I forgot how good a writer she is. If you like Sandra Brown, read Karin Slaughter. I am sure you will enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Trouble in Macon, GA with a capital T!

    Karin Slaughter’s UNSEEN, a compelling and suspenseful novel of cops and criminals of the South, in her Will Trent Series #7—an emotional roller coaster crime fiction thriller of evil and romance!

    Set in the southern town of Macon, GA, Will Trent is working undercover as an ex-con trying to infiltrate a drug and sex trafficking ring in order to get to a powerful and elusive man called Big Whitey (Florida gangster), who has expanded business in the Macon area. However, Will’s friends in the Macon police department are not aware of his undercover work.

    When three men break into the home of two Macon officers, Detective Lena Adams and her husband Jared Long, it gets complicated. Lena is now married to Jeffrey’s son from his first marriage, and is hot on the trail of a local drug kingpin, Sid Waller. Will adopts the persona of tough ex-con and bad boy, Bill Black, all unbeknownst to Sara. Will can't share his case with girlfriend Sara, because going undercover is too dangerous.

    But Will’s secret suddenly becomes harder to keep when Lena and her fellow officer husband, Jared, are attacked in their home, leaving Jared in bad shape, bringing Sara from Atlanta to Macon to see her stepson. Neither Will nor Sara realizes the connection (the two investigations collide) —they are both targets and in danger.

    Sara holds Lena, Jared’s wife, responsible: Lena, a stubborn detective, has been a magnet for trouble all her life, and Jared’s shooting is not the first time someone Sara loved has gotten caught in the crossfire. (I am trying to catch up with all the players and their past).

    As Will makes his way through the dark world of drug dealers and pimps, he must also balance his job and his romance with Sara Linton, which becomes involves in the case, as well. Some nasty and dark human trafficking and drugs in the South. Yes, the south has its share of crime rings, and who better than Karin Slaughter to uncover the scums hiding in the dark alleys.

    I listened to the audiobook narrated by Kathleen Early, with a stellar performance. Unfortunately, I started with Slaughter’s most recent release, COP TOWN (which I loved) and my first read by Karin. I am working my way backwards, as have heard so much about the Will Trent series. I probably should start with book one instead of latest; however, what can I say, I like to start from newest and work my way back to the oldest. I tend to do this when I find an author I love, and cannot wait to read all their previous books. The problem with doing this is the latest is a 5 star, and hard to compare the others to the best.

    Loving the Will Trent character and see why all the rave reviews, and Karin’s reputation for her riveting novels of cops and robbers. Having lived in Atlanta for years, and moved to South Florida—always nice to re-visit Georgia!

    Looking forward to learning more about the famous and complex Will Trent with CRIMINAL (Will Trent, #6) next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't put it down. Did I enjoy this book: I loved it. I co

    I couldn't put it down.

    Did I enjoy this book: I loved it. I couldn’t put it down.




    Unseen is one of Slaughter’s Will Trent mysteries. He’s working undercover in a violent criminal operation known for killing police officers who get in their way. It’s easy to see how this creates lots of opportunities for conflict.




    The book opens with Will serving as a look-out when the hit men enter the home of his lover’s step son with a plan to murder him (a motor cycle cop) and his wife (lead investigator). It’s the first in a series of explosive battles as Will wrestles with the internal conflict between keeping his cover secret while maintaining an intimate relationship with the victim’s family member.




    Would I recommend it: Yes, with a word of caution regarding violent content.




    As reviewed by Belinda at Every Free Chance Book Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    The story sounded promising but this book was about 200 pages to

    The story sounded promising but this book was about 200 pages too long. In addition, it wasn't a smooth read because of the jumping back and forth in time. I lost interest after a while. Disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Love this series!

    301 pages of great reading. Will read this series as long as she writes them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    READ the series!

    i have liked the Will Trent series very much...and always look forward to each new book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    The unconditional queen of suspense. Just cannot get enough of S

    The unconditional queen of suspense. Just cannot get enough of Sarah and Will. This story has you on the edge of your seat with an intelligent storyline! I have come to love these characters and look forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    fantastic!

    fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7