Customer Reviews for

The Unseen

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    This one will keep you guessing to the last page!

    The Unseen is the first book I've read by T.L. Hines, and I look forward to reading more! The plot twists and turns keep you guessing until the very last page. When the book begins, you start to get an idea of just who Lucas, the main character is...then you very quickly learn that there is more to him that you imagined. Little by little, throughout the book, Hines pieces together Lucas' past. He gives you hints, but he still completely caught me off guard with the ending. The plotline was very original and kept my glued. As you progress through the book, you wonder how the author is going to pull what seems to be several different plot lines together, but once they all tie in, it whole story comes together wonderfully. I got so involved with the book and so caught up in the storyline that I wanted to check every ceiling, closet and crawl space in my home and office as I was reading - you'll understand what I mean after just a couple of chapters! After reading The Unseen, I would love to pick up more books by T.L. Hines. If you are a fan of suspense and mystery novels, I would definately recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    The Unseen was Unexpected.

    When I started reading The Unseen by T.L.Hines I thought I was going to be creeped out by it. The back cover copy says, ¿Lucas is a loner, but he¿s never alone. From secret hiding places, he peers into the lives of others. Creepy, huh? The whole idea that someone is watching you is creepy. Though in my work office you¿d be hard-pressed to watch me without my knowing it. Despite my misgivings, I decided to try the book anyway.<BR/>I¿m glad I did.<BR/>This book isn¿t just about a guy who watches other people. Lucas is a man with a past. He thinks he knows what that is, but you find out he doesn¿t. So as not to spoil the end, I won¿t say more than that.<BR/>One day he runs into another person in the steam tunnels under Washington DC. He¿d never encountered someone in his territory so he Googles the person. He finds out there are others who watch people as they work and live. He goes to a meeting of a group called The Creep Club. He doesn¿t like what he sees.<BR/>This is where his life goes South. I could not have predicted how events unfold in the rest of the book. This is always a plus. As a writer I have a pretty good imagination and I know all about twists and turns. When an author can keep me guessing that makes for a good read. So two thumbs up to T.L. Hines.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    Intense

    I have never read a book by T. L. Hines, but I selected it to review from the Thomas Nelson website because it sounded interesting. <BR/><BR/>I don't think I have read a book in a long time that had so many twist and turns in it. At first it was sort of boring, but once Lucas says hello to another urban creeper his whole world is turned upside down. You don't know who is the good guy or who is the bad guy through out the entire book and that makes for a really good read.<BR/><BR/>I will defiantly have to go back and take a look at some of his other works and see if they are as good as this one. <BR/>I know that just because it is a CBA book doesn't necessarily make it a shall I say Inspirational book and I guess I just read my first one because I thought this was a secular book at first. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2009

    Really Liked It!

    My head is spinning--in a good way. There are so many layers to The Unseen, that I didn't see it coming (pardon the pun.) The book starts with Lucas, a man who spies on people in public places, and lives in underground tunnels and other unauthorized areas. Honestly, I didn't know what to think of him at first, and thought he was kind of creepy for a main character. But the longer I read, the more I found myself concerned for Lucas and drawn into his character journey. <BR/><BR/>Enter the Creep Club. The book escalates to a new level when Lucas finds others like himself who watch people. (As a side note, one of the websites mentioned in the book is real: infiltration.org, and there really are people slinking around in places they don't belong, and then bragging about it!) From there we have a surprising mixture of secret agents, genetics, and the key to Lucas's past. Though he was an unlikely hero in the beginning, he had me rooting for him in the end. Lots of twists and surprises, and there was no way I could've predicted the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Quite Unsettling - but a good read

    TL Hines latest book The Unseen is unsettling due to the fact that it affects you on a very primal level. Lurking, spying, snooping, whatever the term, Lucas' life revolves around it. He lives in abandoned buildings, crawl spaces and under the metro line in Washington, DC. Collecting mementos from offices and other semi-private places, but never homes. That is until he meets The Creep Club, a small group who's primary focus is filming and documenting their 'projects'. After Lucas befriends fellow creeper Donovan it isn't long before Lucas is involved with nefarious elements of all kinds and creeds. Somehow even with his under the radar living style he's contacted by the CIA. Or is it the FBI? The struggle to distance himself from The Creep Club's motivations leads him help one of their projects in what can only be described as a clever twist on the age-old cat and mouse game.<BR/><BR/>In reading The Unseen the reader gets the unique point of view of watching someone watch someone else. Quite a unnerving point of view, but done with a quick writing style and separate story lines. This novel could have taken a turn toward the voyeuristic but Hines cleverly doesn't allow that to happen. All in all a very favorable foray into the world of hiding and watching the world go about it's business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    When you look, do you really see? What about the unseen around you?

    "...but no one seemed to notice him. This he knew he could count on. People looked, but they never saw." <BR/> <BR/>Have you ever had that creepy, gives you goose bumps, feeling that someone was watching you and your every move? What if someone truly was watching? What if there was someone--someone in the walls peering out at you, trying to make a connection, trying to get a small glimpse into your life? <BR/><BR/>In The Unseen, by T.L. Hines, Lucas, aka Humpty, reaches out trying to connect with the world around him, while staying hidden. He is harmless, simply spying on those around him in public places and inventing stories about their lives without ever approaching them. This loner lives vicariously through the lives of others. Through his daily infiltrations in the metro DC area, he discovers he is not alone in his urban exploration. He encounters a group called the Creep Club, a club that takes his ¿creeping¿ a step further.<BR/><BR/>Lucas soon gets in over his head and is pulled into the world of double agents, the mafia, and a folk tune singing guitar player. He continues on his quest to do the right thing while struggling with the Dark Vibrations inside.<BR/><BR/>Hines does an expert job of building suspense and throwing the reader for a loop with the number of twists and turns this novel takes. Surprisingly, although published by Thomas Nelson there is not a spiritual side to this book. Although one could make spiritual applications, I expected a more straightforward approach from the publisher. However, that should not stop anyone from reading this excellent novel. The creativity of Hines is enough to keep any thrill seeker turning pages until he reaches the surprising end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy on so many levels! Must read!!!

    Have you ever felt like someone was watching you? Have you ever looked up or turned around and found no one there? Have you ever felt the eyes of someone who wasn¿t there boring into you? T.L. Hines has brought new meaning to these feelings of paranoia.<BR/><BR/>Above ceiling tiles, behind closet doors, and atop elevators hides Lucas; watching. Lucas watches others while they work and interact. He creates histories and stories for these individuals. He takes a memento from each of his targets; a picture, a favored scarf, some precious object. <BR/><BR/>Raised in an orphanage outside the Washington D.C. area, Lucas discovered his love of watching others from the roof outside the windows of the orphanage. He watched as the children interacted and played. He watched as the caregivers searched for him. Always watching, never being. Lucas does not technically exist. However, the life Lucas has always known is about to change drastically and his existence will no longer be hidden. A chance encounter begins to unravel a world of deceit, conspiracy, and treachery that Lucas never believed could exist. Lucas discovers that he is not the only person who watches. He finds a group of people who have crossed the line and who must be stopped. <BR/><BR/>Lucas is quickly submerged into a world of lies, creepers, and murder. His existence is made extremely public. He has become the target. The deception peels away like layers of an onion and finally reveals a terrifying link to Lucas¿s past. <BR/><BR/>When I started this book I couldn¿t help but look up at my heating vents. I am thankful that I do not have tiles in my ceiling. The book began to drag in the middle but picked up shortly after I got bored. Once the tangle of lies began to be unknotted I could not put the book down. I also can¿t stop thinking about it! I think everyone must read this book. Maybe these people are really out there.<BR/><BR/>To read this book is to look over your shoulder. Each turn of the page makes the reader feel less and less alone. Each new description of the ¿observation decks¿ created by these people instigates another bout of paranoia and raises questions. Am I being watched? Is someone there? Someone who wishes to remain¿unseen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A thought provoking thriller.

    For many years Lucas Freund has lived his life by mostly being unseen. He has a fascination with hiding small nooks and crannies in buildings all over the city watching strangers through hidden peep holes. He makes up elaborate stories about their lives that give him comfort in between the times when he makes a connection with them. The connection happens when someone either feels his presence without seeing him or when someone seemingly makes eye contact with him again without seeing him. <BR/><BR/>Lucas is a loner with no permanent address. He sleeps in vacant buildings or underground tunnels. One night, his home for the time being is almost found by another "infiltrator", Donovan. Surprisingly Lucas is drawn to Donovan and meets with him the next day. Donovan introduces him to a group called Creep Club whose members watch and record people in their homes... the one place Lucas never dared to watch. <BR/><BR/>Soon Lucas is approached by a federal agent who wants his assistance in gaining access to the group. Lucas is torn by this request but when people start disappearing and turning up dead, things start spiraling into chaos and Lucas is forced to figure out a way out of the trouble.<BR/><BR/>The Unseen pulls you in from the first chapter. Although Lucas has a strange way of life I was rooting for him right from the start. He's such a likable character who is a "do-gooder" at heart. The book is full of surprises coming in the form of plot twists and other characters. <BR/><BR/>The only thing I felt let down about was a strange character at the end (when you read it, you'll know who I'm talking about). Maybe I just didn't understand the author's intentions with this character but I felt he really didn't belong in story and thought the book could have had the same type of ending without him.<BR/><BR/>To me the best part of the book was that it brought up a great point. Many of us see without really seeing. I know I'm guilty of being oblivious to my surroundings which drives my husband nuts. Reading this book has made me a little more conscious of the happenings around me and I've been constantly thinking, "Someone could be watching me right now". I recommend this book for all suspense and thriller lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1