Customer Reviews for

Unseen Academicals (Discworld Series #37)

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Discworld satire lampoons team sports, fans and academics

    Ankh-Morpork's clever ruler Lord Ventinari informs Ankh-Morpork's Unseen University Archchancellor Mustrum Ridcully he could lose a humongous grant if they fail to field a sports team playing football; some sort of hybrid of soccer and rugby. The wizard faculty and administration are in a frenzied state as none of the practitioners understand the rudiments of the game so they struggle to become adept rather quickly; depending ironically on the mundane support staff.

    As they put together a squad around a good kicker who apparently is not part of UU, but part of the streets of UU, Ventinari plans to take advantage of the competition to further his ambitions as sponsors expect much more than a front row seat. Part of his tasking of the wizards is to remove the violence out of the sport as the two best teams in the city, the Dimmers and the Dollies, break a lot of bones and not just on the playing field or limited to the players.

    The latest Discworld satire lampoons team sports, fans and academics as UU always put learning and eating way above athletics, but now must dropkick athletics way above learning; eating remains at the top thanks to the cook. Fans will enjoy this amusing look at football and universities with side mockings of racism, sexism and fanatics as learning gets benched for a Top Ten team of headbangers.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    If you dislike this book i want your name and adress.

    This is one of prattcets best. The comlex charachters and intricate interweawing of plots are great. Arc words and overarching themes tie it all together and it is verry funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Brilliant Fun

    The man is from another world it seems, and he continues to take us with him time and again, throught all of his challenges. Unseen Academicals is no different. This book is a gift of creatively brilliant fun for humanity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    Another Hit!

    I've read all of the books in the Discworld Series and this one did not disappoint with the laughing out loud, the amazing characters and the fantastic footnotes. Rest assured, you will never be disappointed when it comes to Terry Pratchett.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    Great Book from a Great Series

    I've read all of Pratchett's Discworld series, and this one didn't disappoint. Pratchett's writing style and satirical take on almost every makes reading his series a very enjoyable experience. Pratchett's novels have always intrigued me by the way he takes very modern things, such as police forces, colleges, or even the post office, and inserts them into his Medieval Discworld in comical ways. This particular novel focuses on soccer, something I don't really care about all that much, but I still chose to read it due to the fact that the way Pratchett inserts modern things into his world can make everyone laugh.
    Even though Mr. Pratchett had started to develop Alzheimer's disease, he has lost none of that wit or style in his writing. His take on soccer in a Medieval time is quite humorous, and the way the characters deal with the changing times are very fun to read about. The way that the plot jumps around from time to time, focusing on Mr. Nutt at one point, then going to the Wizards, then to the Night Kitchen staff keeps the reader intrigued about what will happen next, while learning what another group of people will do. I've always loved the way that Pratchett takes fantasy creatures and includes them in different, and often humorous ways, like having a goblin, which most people would associate with stupid, ugly, smelly little creatures, and have him be extremely intelligent, more intelligent that a majority of the characters in the novel. Even the way he integrates certain aspects of sports into the novel is great, like having one of the ancient rules of soccer being to have water nymphs dressed in as little clothes in possible and dance on the sidelines.
    Basically, if you like to laugh, this is the book and series for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    A new view of Ankh-Morpork.

    While this book explores places in the city, that fans of Disc are already familiar with, it goes much deeper into the every day lives of the more "common" folks, taking you to places that have previously just been skimmed over. Leaving you with a different memory feeling than other Disc novels. Looking forward to re-reading it in a couple of months, to get a second sight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Preview of Unseen Academicals

    I heard excerpts from the book this weekend at the North American Discworld Convention in Tempe. It was great - between the reading and the bit printed in the program book I know it is going to be a fun read.

    Terry Pratchett is a very charming and witty speaker and I hope to be able to attend another convention to see him again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    I almost hated it

    If I hadn't seen his name on the cover I would not believe he wrote it. I adore the Discworld novels and would read them far into the night with a flaslight and my laughter muffled by my pillow so I wouldn't wake my husband. I wanted to be fair so I read it twice. It sucked just as bad the second time. Sadness.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    The Footnotes are in the Back!

    If you see an asterisk, click it. Click it again to go back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    U U so so

    The minute Unseen University is in the book you know Pratchett will deliver less invention.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    I just finished this one and really liked it. Only the 4th I've read from the discworld series, I found it just as enjoyable and the return of Rincewind and his magic chest though short was fun. As well as being introduced to the cast of very entertaining wizards (Hex is one of my favs) and the anything but common folk in Trev, Jools, and Glenda. Top that off with the special and mysterious Nutt, some dwarves and who can ask for more? There was quite a bit of sports in this one, and even if you don't follow football/soccer, it's still fairly easy to follow and enjoy.
    The wrap-up for Glenda, Nutt and the others was all I'd hoped for. I can't wait to try more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    He did it again

    Terry Pratchett never disappoints when it comes to his Discworld series and Unseen Academicals is no exception. It is a fun and funny tale that die hard Pratchett fans and newbies alike will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unseen Academicals

    The latest in Terry Pratchett's wonderful Discworld universe. Mr. Pratchett remains the best lliving humorist/satirist in the English language. The humor is both witty and intelligent, with sharp, funny and sympathetic insight into human foibles and the innate craziness of of society and its institutions: in this case, college sports.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Help But Love Any Terry Pratchett

    Thank Goodness that Terry Pratchett has never gotten tired of writing Discworld books, because I will never get tired of reading them. Pratchett's books are funny-PLUS! His characters are weird and wonderful, but also completely recognizable. Despite the fact that they live in a flat world (where magic works) supported by four elephants standing on a giant turtle moving through space; we all know someone just like each of them. "Unseen Academicals" takes on sport, sports fans, and the schools that support the teams - oh, and the modeling industry, fashion design, prejudice of all kinds... you know, LIFE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Great Fun

    Terry Pratchett has a knack for invoking uncontrollable laughing fits! His knack for seeing situations from a different point of view and putting a silly twist on them is refreshingly witty. As always, a great book to put a smile on your face with talented writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Terry Pratchett Does It Again!

    As usual, Terry Pratchett delivers a flawlessly funny, crazy, comical adventure. Discworld is definately a place you should visit, if you haven't already. I was hooked on Good Omens and haven't been able to stop. If you love Sir Pratchett, then this is a must read. I'm desperately searching for some of the early books to complete my library, than I'll read them all over in order. ENJOY!!!

    I highly recommend all of his books, Discworld and otherwise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Football and Dwarf Fashion shows in the Discworld

    If anyone other than Terry Pratchett had written this they'd be declared a literary and imaginative genius on the spot and the world would be agog. But as it is, it's just what you expect from Pterry.

    This takes place in his main Discworld city of Ankh Morpork and has many of his recurring characters and introduces some new ones - including two interesting young women. Plus, yet another minority gets the benefit of his plea for understanding. Minorities previously dealt with include, among others, vampires (who've taken the pledge), werewolves, and golems. Now add Orcs.

    This is one of the more bubbly books, higher density writing than some (that's more entertainment per syllable) and it's pleasantly fat.

    The book is about football and the theory of group sports and also fashion and the theory of that, and about pies and the role pies play in the structure of things. So if you have deep interests in both football and pies, you need to put this on your must read list. If not, well you should put it there anyway. Because this is good Pratchett and you can't do much better than that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Terry Pratchett never fails to please

    I have to be careful when buying a Terry Pratchett novel because I know that's all I will be doing until it is finished. This one was no exception. Every Pratchett fan has a favorite story line, usually the witches and death are the favorites, but close behind are the wizard ones, which is what this one is. Pratchett continues to get better as he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    A fine Discworld adventure with some new characters

    Terry Pratchett returns to Discworld and introduces some of the staff who support the wizards at Unseen University, as well as some of the more common people of Ankh-Morpork. The central theme tying the story together is (despite the cover illustration) football (soccer to us Americans).

    With many subplots and interwoven stories, this is a fine addition to the Discworld collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    good Read

    I have always enjoyed reading Terry Pratchett stories. This one did not, in any way, dissapoint me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9