Customer Reviews for

Unspoken

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unspoken was a great example as to why I love NA Contemporary Ro

Unspoken was a great example as to why I love NA Contemporary Romance. There was passion, romance, and just enough drama to keep my heart thumping. The strength of this book was in the characters. Bo and AM's relationship made this a special book for me.




When I firs...
Unspoken was a great example as to why I love NA Contemporary Romance. There was passion, romance, and just enough drama to keep my heart thumping. The strength of this book was in the characters. Bo and AM's relationship made this a special book for me.




When I first met Bo in Undeclared, I was intrigued to say the least. He was a bit difficult to read, but I also only got to see little bits of him. In this book, we learn more about this smoldering hot guy. He grew up in a wealthy home, but it was an unhappy home. He was a popular athlete in high school, but his best friend was from the wrong side of town. Together they formed a lifelong friendship. After high school, Bo and Noah enlisted in the Marines. After a few tours, they returned home and went to college. While Noah had his reasons for ending up at Central, Bo was just along for the ride. He's been satisfying his adrenaline needs with fighting and women. But then he meets AM. She's very different than any girl he's pursued before. Her apparent lack of interest in him makes him want her even more. As he gets to know more about AM, he finds that he wants to take care of her, be with her, and show her how special she is. Sure, I loved Bo because he was a hot-tempered, sexy, flirt, but I fell in love with him because there was more depth to Bo than I initially realized. He broke my heart a bit, actually. But, I also loved the way he cared for AM.




Luckily, I've never been bullied. Sure, I've had my fair of gossip spread about me, but never anything that I really gave much attention to. But AM, this girl's reputation has been decimated. And the sad thing is, that it isn't true and she's spent the past year in hiding. She goes to class, but isn't enjoying college life. One mistake, one mistake, made when she was a freshman put her in this position. The sad thing is that it was a typical college hook-up, but for some reason AM was targeted. She has a few friends, she does well in school, and she even has a job, but she tries to avoid campus life as much as possible.  When she's partnered with the campus heart-throb for biology class, everything for AM changes. Bit by bit, Bo breaks down AM's defenses and she lets herself fall for and more importantly trust someone with her heart. Like Bo, I felt like there was more to AM. She's a rather complex character when I looked at the story overall. I felt for her and in some ways could even relate to her.




I have to mention the supporting characters. I was happy to see Noah and Grace again, but I really enjoyed getting to know their roommates a bit more in this book. I was excited when I realized that they will each be getting a book. I also really liked AM's best friend, Ellie. She was such a great friend to AM. She was supportive, honest, and really loved AM. She also had a bit of sass, which made me laugh.




Overall, I really enjoyed Unspoken. As I said before, the characters made this book special for me. Frederick's strength is her characterization. They are complex, sexy, likable, and relatable. I can't wait to see what happens next in the series! If you're looking for a new NA series to start, definitely check this one out!




Quotes:
~Bo was the poster child for every disaster that female singers warbled about. He'd break your heart and do it smiling. Worse, he'd make you think you were better off for having your heart broken because it was done in by him. -Loc 173




~I had a little wood in my pants and I needed her to be about fifteen degrees less cute in order for me to be able to obey her commands.-Loc 271




~"We need condoms for the heart."-Loc 2337




~"I'm going to tell you something." Bo reassured me, as if sensing I was tottering on the edge again. "I'm scared too, but neither of us are going to get what we want if we don't take a chance."
"I want to take this chance with you," I admitted.
I'd just done either the stupidest thing in my life or the smartest.-Loc 2441

posted by TheAutumnReview on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dull.

Not enough dialogue. Too much fluff. Epilogue is the best part. S.A.K.

posted by Anonymous on October 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Wow

    All I can say is WOW!!! This book has it all and is for sure in my top 20 of "All time favorite books". I could tell I was going to LOVE this book within the first few chapters. It just grabs you in and does not let go! Please, for your reading enjoyment, buy this book! (You wont regret it)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Unspoken was a great example as to why I love NA Contemporary Ro

    Unspoken was a great example as to why I love NA Contemporary Romance. There was passion, romance, and just enough drama to keep my heart thumping. The strength of this book was in the characters. Bo and AM's relationship made this a special book for me.




    When I first met Bo in Undeclared, I was intrigued to say the least. He was a bit difficult to read, but I also only got to see little bits of him. In this book, we learn more about this smoldering hot guy. He grew up in a wealthy home, but it was an unhappy home. He was a popular athlete in high school, but his best friend was from the wrong side of town. Together they formed a lifelong friendship. After high school, Bo and Noah enlisted in the Marines. After a few tours, they returned home and went to college. While Noah had his reasons for ending up at Central, Bo was just along for the ride. He's been satisfying his adrenaline needs with fighting and women. But then he meets AM. She's very different than any girl he's pursued before. Her apparent lack of interest in him makes him want her even more. As he gets to know more about AM, he finds that he wants to take care of her, be with her, and show her how special she is. Sure, I loved Bo because he was a hot-tempered, sexy, flirt, but I fell in love with him because there was more depth to Bo than I initially realized. He broke my heart a bit, actually. But, I also loved the way he cared for AM.




    Luckily, I've never been bullied. Sure, I've had my fair of gossip spread about me, but never anything that I really gave much attention to. But AM, this girl's reputation has been decimated. And the sad thing is, that it isn't true and she's spent the past year in hiding. She goes to class, but isn't enjoying college life. One mistake, one mistake, made when she was a freshman put her in this position. The sad thing is that it was a typical college hook-up, but for some reason AM was targeted. She has a few friends, she does well in school, and she even has a job, but she tries to avoid campus life as much as possible.  When she's partnered with the campus heart-throb for biology class, everything for AM changes. Bit by bit, Bo breaks down AM's defenses and she lets herself fall for and more importantly trust someone with her heart. Like Bo, I felt like there was more to AM. She's a rather complex character when I looked at the story overall. I felt for her and in some ways could even relate to her.




    I have to mention the supporting characters. I was happy to see Noah and Grace again, but I really enjoyed getting to know their roommates a bit more in this book. I was excited when I realized that they will each be getting a book. I also really liked AM's best friend, Ellie. She was such a great friend to AM. She was supportive, honest, and really loved AM. She also had a bit of sass, which made me laugh.




    Overall, I really enjoyed Unspoken. As I said before, the characters made this book special for me. Frederick's strength is her characterization. They are complex, sexy, likable, and relatable. I can't wait to see what happens next in the series! If you're looking for a new NA series to start, definitely check this one out!




    Quotes:
    ~Bo was the poster child for every disaster that female singers warbled about. He'd break your heart and do it smiling. Worse, he'd make you think you were better off for having your heart broken because it was done in by him. -Loc 173




    ~I had a little wood in my pants and I needed her to be about fifteen degrees less cute in order for me to be able to obey her commands.-Loc 271




    ~"We need condoms for the heart."-Loc 2337




    ~"I'm going to tell you something." Bo reassured me, as if sensing I was tottering on the edge again. "I'm scared too, but neither of us are going to get what we want if we don't take a chance."
    "I want to take this chance with you," I admitted.
    I'd just done either the stupidest thing in my life or the smartest.-Loc 2441

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2013

    Welp, now that I've read the second Woodlands series book, I thi

    Welp, now that I've read the second Woodlands series book, I think I can officially say that I am a fan of both this series and author Jen Frederick. My favorite type of series is the companions, with each story focusing on a different member of a group of friends or family. In this series, we get the guys of the Woodlands. The first book, Undeclared, was Noah Jackson's book. Unspoken is his best friend Bo Randolph's story.

    If you've read Undeclared, then you've met Bo Randolph. And if you've met Bo Randolph, then you know why I wanted to read this as soon as possible. Bo is a blond-haired, sexy, charming former Marine. He's a good time guy who's always up for a fight or a f--- (you know what I'm saying). But the thing is, Bo is a good guy. A good friend. Best of all, he's more than good to the girl he cares about.

    Not only does Unspoken have a worthy guy, but also a heroine who does my heart good. AnnMarie, AM, is a girl that I, like way too many women I'm afraid, could identify with. She's a girl who has been labeled, mistreated, harassed for one event during her first semester in college. She's become withdrawn from university society in an effort to protect herself, the campus ghost. Some might say AM's reaction to the bullying is weak, but I say she's not. That however she handles her feelings and fears is okay and part of a process. Unspoken is not only a love story, or Bo's story, but also AM's journey past the people who've persecuted her, and reclaiming her life and voice.

    I absolutely loved AM and Bo together. I like how they started out as friends and had a natural chemistry that was both fun, antagonistic, teasing, and suggestive. I love that their relationship didn't revolve around the physical, though they definitely did have that going for them. It was a layered and beautiful relationship that did revolve around trust and friendship and becoming stronger together. A team.

    Undeclared deals with several heavy issues: bullying, society's unbalanced treatment between the genders in regards to sexuality, physical and emotional abuse and how it affects a victim's decisions throughout their lives. It also deals with trust and the safety you can find in someone that loves you in your entirety.

    Author Jen Frederick has really hit on something special with the Woodlands series. Her stories are fun, funny, steamy, and thoughtful. Each story delivers enough of the other Woodlands guys to have you itching for more. And now, Frederick and this series have a permanent spot on my "Highly-Anticipated" list.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow! Blew me away! 4.5 STARS! I loved this book. I am a sucker f

    Wow! Blew me away! 4.5 STARS! I loved this book. I am a sucker for college romance/angsty books. This one was it! It had a sort of a Beautiful Disaster feel to it for me. It wasn't just like BD, just had that feel. I didn't read the first in the series, but I am definitely going to go pick it up. Also note, that I don't think it took from the story at all.

    I fell in love with Bo right from the beginning. He is hot, funny, smart, and did I mention hot? I also loved the heroine, AM. Most girls I know have made stupid mistakes and that is exactly what she did. Unfortunately a douchenozzle decides to torment her and bully her the rest of her time at College and force her off campus after that mistake. Well, that is until Bo and the gang come along.

    I felt like Jen did a great job getting you to feel what the characters were feeling. She had me anxious and nervous one minute, laughing the next, and then ready to fight the next. I loved it!

    I am literally bouncing in my shoes now to get to Noah's story. I also can't wait for Finn's story!

    Don't hesitate to read this book. I am a new fan! * Copy kindly provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Excellent read

    Loved Undeclared so much I didn't think this could be as good, but having just finished Unspoken, I think it was even better! Hot alpha with issues and strong heroine with issues made for the perfectly sizzling match! Loved it and can't wait for the next Woodlands alpha's story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    DS

    Just loved this book!! AM & Bo were so great together!! Great story!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    WOW

    Absolutely LOVED this book!!! Can't wait for the next in The Woodland series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Love it

    GREAT BOOK !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    WOW...second book was even better than the first! LOVED the epil

    WOW...second book was even better than the first! LOVED the epilogue! Bo & AM's passion was soo intense & leaped off the pages!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Dull.

    Not enough dialogue. Too much fluff. Epilogue is the best part.

    S.A.K.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Good book.

    The characters were realistic and storyline was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    *I received a free e-book copy of this book from the author in e

    *I received a free e-book copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review*

    I absolutely loved this book! WAY more than I expected to. The storyline is interesting and serious enough to keep you reading but the author throws in these laugh out loud moments that take it from a good book to a great book.

    My absolute favorite part of Unspoken, without a doubt, was the characters. They are sooo well written. You have AM who is just trying to survive the daily nightmare that college has become for her. There is plenty of opportunity for us to consider her weak with all the hiding she does but it's so obvious that she isn't. The author gives her an underlying strength and confidence that are impressive to say the least.

    Then there is AM's best friend and roommate, Ellie. Why can't we all have friends like Ellie? She is fun and kind and fiercely loyal. What she lacks in size, she more than makes up for in heart.

    Next comes Bo. OMG Bo! The instant we were introduced to Bo he became my new book boyfriend. He is, by far, the most perfect male lead I've read about in a long time. Maybe EVER!

    And because the cast of characters isn't perfect enough already, Jen Frederick throws in some other gems for you with an outstanding cast of secondary characters including Ryan, Sasha, Noah, the Woodland boys, and Bryan among others. All awesome and all loyal to a fault. When you put them all together you have literary gold.

    I said it in the beginning and I will say it again. I LOVED Unspoken! It was a great mix of drama, laugh out loud funny, and pure sexy deliciousness. I didn't even touch on the HOT factor in this review but trust me...It's HOT! I have already recommended it to everyone I know and I can't wait to read the next book in this series. Do yourself a favor and go get this book! You will not regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    I figured I would like this book based on sample, but I didn't realize how much I would like it!

    .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2015

    AnnMarie (AM) is hiding from life. One night at a Frat party gav

    AnnMarie (AM) is hiding from life. One night at a Frat party gave her a nickname and reputation that she doesn't deserve but the teasing is so bad she resorts to living off campus and only being on campus for class. Bo has seen his best friend Noah find love but he doesn't believe he is worthy. When he crosses paths with AM, there is something he sees behind her eyes that draws him in and he wants to know more. This is a wonderful story of two souls needing a push to find their true destiny. I love how Bo doesn't give up on AM which gives her the push she needs to come out of hiding. The banter between Bo and AM is awesome and their chemistry is off the charts. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    I love this book. just so you know this is a mature book.

    I love this book. just so you know this is a mature book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    LOVED IT!

    I absolutely loved this book. Bo & AM were perfect for each other. The chemistry between them is off the charts hot. It was awesome just watching their relationship come together. They were completely different yet also similar in some ways. They both have a lot of heart and an abundance of strength. Hers in her inner strength and his in his physical strength. Their love for each other is so strong that no one dare try to come between them. I highly recommend this book to everyone. 280 some pages of everything you could want in a romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    I love this book!

    I could honestly re-read it over and over! It is definitley worth your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    Beauregard 'Bo' Randolph is a former Marine and a junior year co

    Beauregard 'Bo' Randolph is a former Marine and a junior year college student at Central College.  Bo followed Noah's lead when he transferred into Central.  Just like Noah, Bo enjoys fighting as well. He releases all that is built up inside him from his past by using his fists. Bo lives life by one motto, if it feels good, do it. He has fighting and women and he is satisfied until 'she' walks into biology class.  
    AnnMarie 'AM' West has been branded Central's slut after one drunken party mistake with a lacrosse player. Central students set out to spread rumors and Ruin her reputation.  Now she stays away from Central social life, the parties, or social media. She goes to classes and then spends most of her free time in her apartment with her roommate. But everything is about to change when she walks into biology.  
    "...You don't know how strong she really is. .."
    Can Bo warm his way into AM's life? Can he help AM fight to restore her reputation and bring her a feeling of safety on campus, or will he be the one to completely break her? Will AM be nothing but another female distraction and conquest for Bo or will she become something more? Can Bo face his past and his demons or will they continue to send him on a path of self destruction?  
    "...I'm a bad bet, sunshine, but if you're willing to give me a whirl around the ring, I'm yours. Because you've got me so twisted up inside that I barely know if up is down..."
    I really liked the first book of this series but now I am in love. I love the Woodlands guys and the friendship and family unit that they are. I enjoy the fact that these characters are strong and independent people but are even stronger together. I gladly give this book a Nerd Alert A or 5 stars and can not wait to read Unraveled!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    Really good.   I liked as much as the first one.   Loved the add

    Really good.   I liked as much as the first one.   Loved the added ending.  Would love to read the kids story.  Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4