BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Unspoken (Lynburn Legacy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    4.5 stars The moment I read this description I knew I had to re

    4.5 stars

    The moment I read this description I knew I had to read Unspoken. It sounded unique and intriguing and I loved the idea of a psychic connection gone awry. Who does that? AND, does it well? Sarah Rees Brennan…period.





    I could sum this review up in seven words:

    This book rocks my socks.

    The End.



    …but I won’t…So what specifically did I love? The setting, for one thing. I’ve been to London (ok I was six so I don’t even remember it clearly). I’ve seen pictures of the countryside in England, Ireland, Scotland, etc. I know of its beauty but I’ve never seen it firsthand. Yet, somehow, after reading Brennan’s descriptions and the imagery she uses, I feel like I’ve visited the English countryside. I feel like I’ve seen the town and met it’s occupants. It’s gorgeous.





    The writing. Within the first two pages I was hooked. I am a sucker for a good inner monologue and incredible banter and in this fantastic novel we get to hear the joint inner monologue of the main character, Kami Glass, and her not-so-imaginary friend, Jared. Top it off with Brennan’s quirky banter and you are set for an utterly hilarious read. Anyone can come up with a great line but to sustain dialogue and keep me captivated through every page is talent and flat-out art. There are no wasted words in this book. Brennan has carefully crafted the plot and it’s pacing to deliver each punch at just the right moment for the final knock out blow and…well we’ll get to that.





    The secondary characters. Every character mentioned in this book has a purpose. I loved Kami’s family and the way that the other Lynburns are brought to life, especially Ash. Angela, Holly and Rusty are totally unforgettable. Brennan’s ability to make these characters human is exquisite.





    Now on to Kami. She is quirky, smart and impetuous. She’s ridiculously brave and I absolutely adore the fact that she tromps through the woods in skirts and kitten heels. She’s a super awesome girl sleuth with fashion sense. I want to be her. She’s also hilarious and made me laugh more than anyone in the whole book. I also loved her honesty and depth. She is one seriously grounded individual who looks at things from all sides.





    Then there is Jared who has the ability to be both endearing and swoon-worthy while at the same time disturbing and a little unhinged. He is complex and “other” compared to the other characters in the book. No one truly understands him, even Kami who is practically in his brain almost constantly. He’s broken and needs Kami in sometimes very unhealthy ways. So, while I adore him and want to hug away his brokenness and kiss his boo boos, he’s also extremely needy and could use a little maturity. Jared has this ability to leave you completely unsettled about him the entire story. Throughout the novel, I kept going back and forth: do I like him? do I not like him? I’ll leave you to decide for yourself!





    Lastly, the conclusion aka the knock out blow. ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. I wasn’t expecting it at all but it made perfect sense with the way Brennan set up her world. She keeps you just enough in the loop and just enough on edge that you never really know who to trust and who to hate. Unspoken is a beautifully spun mystery and an epic love story while never venturing into the trite or cheesy. I could not have asked for a better ending to complete this portion of Kami’s story and I’m so excited to see where these characters go next.





    Unspoken is hilarious and charming while also being dark and unsettling. Sarah Rees Brennan has created a work of genius that delights and disturbs in equal measure. Absolute must read!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not since ¿Potter¿ has a book this good come on the market! This

    Not since ‘Potter’ has a book this good come on the market! This is one of those series that is fresh and new that speaks to readers on all levels, and then makes them seriously angry because…they want Book II right now!

    Our leading lady, Kami Glass, loves the guy who lives in her head. Ever since she was eight she’s spoken with Jared, an imaginary friend who makes life more interesting. And, gosh knows, she needs interesting.

    Kami lives in Sorry-in-the-Vales, England. She’s a teenage reporter who wants her dream of being the best journalist in the world to come true. But when you live in this town, you have to really scrape for a story considering how boring it is. For a town built in the 1400’s - all they seem to have is sheep and no secrets. Soon, however, the ritzy family who built this town and were once the ‘lord and masters’ of all they surveyed, return. They are the Lynburn’s, and after seventeen years away the Lynburn daughter’s have returned with their families and Kami wants to get an interview. She knows there’s something up with these guys and she’s going to find out what their secrets really are.

    Angela - who is a truly hysterical character - is Kami’s best friend. She signs on when the school year begins to help Kami with her newspaper. The school gives them a wee little office to work in and Angela basically joins the team so she can nap on the couch that’s provided. As Kami begins running around like ‘1,000 monkeys on crack,’ to get things going, a Lynburn walks in with a camera around his neck and asks for a job - this is Ash - and he is absolutely stunning.

    Although Kami has stars in her eyes for this guy, a cousin of his soon arrives at school who is a way darker version with more than one secret hanging over his head. The cousin’s name is Jared, and he is…the voice inside Kami’s head.

    Yup - the imaginary friend is absolutely real. So how does that happen? Readers will be blown away by the plot this author has come up with. Chills from the past, ancient legends come to life, Jared and Ash and a family that has secrets that could ruin the town and create lots of dead bodies - everything is in this one!

    Quill Says: Bravo to the author! And hurry up with Book Two!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    Rating: 5 stars* What do I like about this book? Hmm.... I thin

    Rating: 5 stars*
    What do I like about this book? Hmm....

    I think the better question is what DON'T like about this book?
    Because that list is virtually non-existent.

    I just cannot get over how fabulously the author tackled every aspect of this book that could have made it just another typical, clichéd YA novel!
    Just the fact that Kami has been able to talk to this "imaginary" boy in her head for her entire life, this imaginary boy she's in love with, only to suddenly discover that he's real and they now go to the same school! Oh yes, the boy she's told everything to--every secret, thought, insecurity--this boy is not a figment of her imagination. I feel like this set-up could have easily turned into a major case of insta-love, but THANK YOU GODS OF LITERATURE for giving Sarah Rees Brennan a much more brilliant idea!
    Kami and Jared are pretty freaked out at discovering the other is 100% real--understandably so, I might add--They're not sure whether they should be friends, girlfriend-boyfriend, or enemies. They spend a fair bit of time resenting the fact that the other person isn't imaginary and I LOVED IT.
    Their relationship is just so unique in the world of YA--confusing, strained, frustrating, yet at the same time, their chemistry is undeniable. It's just crafted wonderfully and very realistically.

    Now let's just take a moment to appreciate the sheer awesomeness of Brennan's characters. Seriously. They. Are. Magnificent. Not only are they all very distinct, personality-wise, but they're all gifted with impressive wit. I wish I could be funny like Kami and Angela--no actually, can I just be BFFs with them??? Angela was a personal favorite of mine. I mean, how often do you meet a character who loves naps, is super lazy, can seriously kick butt, and hates people? I was like, "let me love you!" Kami was sassy and super witty, very much like Veronica Mars. I fell in love with Kami's character from the moment she made her first joke. Another thing about these characters that was so refreshing was how sensible they all were! Especially Kami! She thought things through, was courageous but not stupid, and didn't let her emotions take over! The best way to describe her would be this quote:

    "She didn't want to be the girl who just believed in the guy she liked, no matter what extenuating mind-reading circumstances existed. She didn't want her feelings to blind her. She didn't want anything to blind her. She did not know what her feelings were, or what his were, or how to separate the two. She did not want to drown in what was between them and lose control, or lose who she was."
    If you hated Bella, I think you're going to love Kami. Heck, even if you liked Bella, you'll still probably love Kami because she is just made of awesomesauce.

    All in all: This. Book. Is. Freaking. Amazing. There is a supernatural element present in the book--which I won't spoil for you--but I can honestly say that Brennan's take on this is quite unique and honestly? I did not see it coming. At all.

    *I was provided a copy of this book by Netgalley and the publishers in return for an honest review.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The was one of the better books I have read.I was instantly imme

    The was one of the better books I have read.I was instantly immersed into this fantastic story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    I am utterly and completely in love with not only this book, but

    I am utterly and completely in love with not only this book, but its author Sarah Rees Brennan. Unspoken is amazing! I have never read a book that was anything like it or even about the same topic. An imaginary friend who ends up being a real person? How amazing! And scary at the same time, I know I would be freaked out. I loved every single second of this novel, including (after coping) its huge cliffhanger ending. The characters are all amazingly well developed and I loved every single one of them. I couldn't find a single flaw with this book. I encourage everyone who loves YA to give this novel a read, and I will definitely be continuing on with this series and anything else Sarah has written!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    This book is clever, funny, snarky, mysterious--and it will rip

    This book is clever, funny, snarky, mysterious--and it will rip your heart right out. A must-read for any fans of Veronica Mars or The Golden Compass.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    read it and loved it. It combined my favorite stories into one..

    read it and loved it. It combined my favorite stories into one... I love it I keep rereading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2014

    The Half-Clan Legacy-Chapter 3

    DAWNKIT<br>
    <p>Darkness was encasing Dawnkit as she ran through the gloomy dream forest. I've got to get out of here! She thought. She blindly charged through the huge forest, unsure where it ended.<br>
    "Ow!" She wailed. She tripped on a root and went sprawling forward into darkness. Her eyes flashed open. She was lying in a straw nest. A juicy mouse lay in front of her. Faint cat-scent hung in the air around her, but it wasn't of any Clan she knew. She struggled to her paws, and a bolt of pain coursed through her shoulder, toppling her over into the nest again. She fell back into a dreamless sleep. When she woke, there was a cat standing over her.<br>
    "Awake at last!" The stranger purred. Her mew had a strange accent, as if she was from a faraway place. "My name is Running Brook. I'm from a place called the mountains." She settled down next to Dawnkit and continued speaking. "What happened to you? Where is your mother? You seem so far away from home." The concern radiated from her so much that Dawnkit blinked in surprise.<br>
    "Well... errr... my ancestors told me to go meet them at the Moonstone," Dawnkit mewed. "Then the monster hit me." She felt her shoulder wince as she spoke.<br>
    "Oh, the Moon-Stone," she mewed. "Cats pass through here time and again, going there. But it's none of my business. I only give them a tasty meal." She pushed the mouse to Dawnkit. "Eat," she meowed.<br>
    "I really must be on my way," she replied once she finished the mouse. She struggled to her paws, feeling her shoulder. It was better now. "Good-bye! Thank you for the help! And the meal!" She called over her shoulder. She padded out through the entrance to the barn. The moonstone loomed in the distance, Dawnkit felt her paws carrying her to it. At last, after another treacherous Thunderpath, Dawnkit arrived at the foot of the Moonstone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    TMS

    I love it! Don't let her die please. &#9825 :} (Ps. Please read my story Morning Rising at "morning" res 2+. There are 8 chapters!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Nice!

    You're really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Really good!!

    Continue it was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    MagiKK

    Amazing! I like the story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    The Half-Clan Legacy: Chapter 2

    DAWNKIT<br>
    <p>Dawnkit turned in her nest. She couldn't sleep. Recently, her brother Wetkit had fallen on a rock and was trapped in Willowcloud's den, and as the Clan had fallen ill from greencough, ThunderClan had greedily taken Sunningrocks at the onset of leaf-bare. RiverClan had waged war, and lost. Four of her Clan had died, and many more lay dying. She was worried. Eventually, she managed to shut her eyes and fall into a fitful sleep. Suddenly she was standing in a clearing, at Fourtrees, and there was a cat in front of her. It spoke.<br>
    "Greetings, Dawnkit. I am Riverstar." Riverstar! This is the founder of my Clan! She thought. "You must undertake a journey, farter than any kit your age before you has gone."<br>
    "Me? Where?" She asked stupidly.<br>
    "To the Moonstone," Riverstar meowed. "I will send you dreams. I must go now. Depart immediately." Riverstar started fading.<br>
    "Don't go! Why do I--" Riverstar was gone. She was awake in her own nest. The Moonstone! She thought. I'll need traveling herbs. I've been to Willowcloud's den enough, she thought. She picked her way between the sleeping kits and queens and made for Willowcloud's den. She pushed open the moss opening open and silently made her way to the herb store. She froze as the medecine cat apprentice, Fishpaw, stirred. The herbs all laid out in front of her, and Dawnkit quickly picked out the required herbs for traveling. She ate them, vile taste and all, and made for the camp exit. She pushed through the reeds and started makung her wy toward highstones. At last, she reached the edge of WindClan territory. I'm not far now, she thought. She quickened her pace as she sprinted tiward the looming gray bulk that wss highstones. Dawn was encroaching, and Dawnkit hsd to make extra sure no WindClan patrols found her. Then she stumbled upon a hard black surface. The Thunderpath! She thought. I'd better cross after this one, she decided. She pelted out onto the Thunderpath after the monster passed. Then she heard anoter one coming. No! She thought. StarClan chose me to recieve their message! I have to-- her thoughts broke off as the monster struck a glancing blow on her shoulder. Agonizing pain coursed through her body, then eerything went black.<br>
    <p>Thanks for reading! Reply if you want an Allegiances list and if you want me to continue. Also thanks to the person in res 1 who said my writing wss just like Erin Hunter's. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    This book...

    Is so freakin awsomre i read it at least 6 times and it still ant old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Amazing

    I love every aspect of this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    AMAZING

    I loved this book took me a day and a half to read cover to cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    THIS ilIS ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I HAVE READ ALMOST EVER! I highly recommend it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Amazingly beautiful

    This books is a great read. The ending is sort of sad ish. Because of what this guy say to the girl.anyways i think she is better of with the guy with the colorful and amazing eyes.who liked her from the begining without having to read each others mind. Anywho is you are done reading this book, you should check out the expert for the next one because it sort of was unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Got to read

    I was wondering around the library
    At my school and found this book. So hey why not, looked interesting...i got it......i could barely put it down wihout going crazy! Im now going to search for the second book (at librarys) to devour that too...ppl looked at me like i was crazy! I couldnt stop laughing at parts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2