Customer Reviews for

Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unstoppable

Nick Vujucic is not a side show curiosity, but rather a spiritual and powerful sympol of inspiration and the glory of God. The newly published sequel "Unstoppable", by Nick Vujicic provides more moticational and inspirational messages for those readers who enjoyed his ...
Nick Vujucic is not a side show curiosity, but rather a spiritual and powerful sympol of inspiration and the glory of God. The newly published sequel "Unstoppable", by Nick Vujicic provides more moticational and inspirational messages for those readers who enjoyed his first book: "Life Without Limits". This book includes a color excerpt of photos from his life. Many curious people have probably viewed the popular You Tube videos online or watched a Discovery health documentary about Nick Vujicic, known as the man born without arms and legs. Yet there is much more to Nick than his severe disability. What many probably do not know about Nick, is that he is perhaps among the most inspirational motivational speakers there is. Gifted with inisght and empathy, his trials with his disability have been turned around and used as a gift to motivate and help others. He explains that he found happiness when he learned that despite his imperfections and disability, that he is perfect in God's eyes and that he is part of God's creation "designed according to His plan".

Each of the ten chapters addresses spiritual issues that Nick has battled which can apply to each and everyone alive. His handicap has not stopped him from doing whatever he wants- not even surfing or getting married. He percieves himself as enabled instead of disabled, counting himself blessed admist a world where many experience all kinds of pain and suffering. His new book, harnesses Nick's gift of empowerment to motivate the reader no matter what challanges he may face in life. He does not spend time feeling sorry for himself. Even though as a young boy he contemplated suicide, with the power of his faith in God he was able to overcome. He does not feel sorry for himself. Quite the contrary, he actually counts himself as blessed and emmpowered, feeling thankful for his life. In his book, Nick speaks to the reader personally, as if addressing the reader one to one: "I can't know exactly what your burden is, nor do I pretend that I've ever been through a similar crisis....You may not be able to see a bright light at the end of your own dark tunnel right now, but know that my parents could not have envisioned what a wonderful life I would have one day." He acknowledges the validity of those who suffer and does not minimize the pain others may be going through- knowing that there are those who suffer from a host of many issues: personal, physical, emotional and financial. There is no life that is insignificant, when Nick claims that God uses his impediments for God's glory and that God intentionally led him to help another familiy whose little boy was also born without arms and legs. This book is sure to give the reader an inspirational boost no matter what his or her circumstances may be. Included in this book is an insert of color photographs and a chapter of additional resources. It is ironic that a man without arms and legs, is perhaps among the most dignified, well adjusted individuals, with the God given gift of empathy and inspiration. This book is a good outreach method for all readers, disabled, young, depressed- anyone who seeks to find greater meaning and purpose. As a blogger for Water Book publishers I recieved a copy of this book for the purposes of review. The opinions expressed are my own.

posted by PJtheEMT4 on October 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic was written very well and with great

Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic was written very well and with great purpose, but read much like a self-help book. I was not expecting this at all when I first decided to read this book.

As mentioned, the book was written very well. Nick Vujicic had many wonderful things ...
Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic was written very well and with great purpose, but read much like a self-help book. I was not expecting this at all when I first decided to read this book.

As mentioned, the book was written very well. Nick Vujicic had many wonderful things to say about Faith and believing that God is good and that God has a plan. Overall, the writing felt repetitive at times. It was definitely geared toward those who are disabled but anyone can glean some new knowledge and affirmation about our gracious Lord by reading this. The message conveyed in this book is powerful, knowing that God can use you where you are as long as you have Faith and are willing to put Faith in action.

A great verse to be left with is 2 Corinthians 1:3-4, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.”

God gives comfort, and God calls us to comfort others in need. This is Nick Vujicic’s true message for writing the book Unstoppable.

posted by Kellie4 on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Overcoming tremendous odds and becoming truly unstoppable

    This book and this man are awesome. After seeing and hearing him interviewed on television, I had to read this book. What an uplifting read and what an inspiration for anyone who thinks they have problems that can't be overcome. Amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    When someone sees life as mundane, perplexing, or disinteresting

    When someone sees life as mundane, perplexing, or disinteresting what’s its purpose? Nick Vujicic supports a purpose to life known but not always accepted as God. Throughout the motivational book, Nick references several anecdotes to help annunciate and demonstrate the meaning of “being unstoppable.” So, what does Unstoppable mean? Might I suggest, the indefatigable love for humanity today and forever?
    This book would really fascinate a reader seeking motivational inspiration and religious uplift. However, this book serves its reader a second privilege: passion. Nick said something so profound yet so generic, I was flummoxed for a bewildering second. He claimed: “Remember, too, that if one passion ends, it is probably because God has something bigger and better in mind for you.” This sentence struck me and gave the opportunity to reflect on what God is doing in my life. Thank you.
    I pray that anyone who is interested in reading “Unstoppable” will first look at themselves and recognize they’re the ones who are truly unstoppable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    This is a book that will make you cry one minute and then make y

    This is a book that will make you cry one minute and then make you laugh the next.  Nick’s story is just that kind of story.

    Nick Vujicic was born without arms and legs.  Facing a world designed for arms and legs, Nick found life hard to live.  After attempting suicide at the age of 10, he confided to his brother that  he would kill himself when he turned 21.  But God had a special purpose for Nick and began to show Nick just what his value was to other people.
    In Unstoppable, Nick gives some glimpses into his life, as well as sharing his love story with his wife of 2 years, Kanae.  But Nick also offers inspiration for some extreme emotions we face in life.  He speaks to those with suicidal thoughts, relationship crisis, physical handicaps, and career challenges.  God never leaves us, ever.  Even on the darkest, roughest road.

    A real, empowering book that everyone in my family is going to read!
    Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    This book, UNSTOPPABLE by Nick Vujicic, is an encouraging read.

    This book, UNSTOPPABLE by Nick Vujicic, is an encouraging read. Not only does Nick share the wisdom he has gleaned from his own struggles and victories, but he also share numerous stories of the struggles and victories of other people. With each victory experienced after heartache and struggles, Nick is an example of one who believes every life is a gift from God, and a gift to be lived to the fullest.

    Every person goes through different challenges in life and Nick has definitely had his fair share. He talks about his relationship with God and how he journeyed through all those challenges to become the person he is today. He is such an inspiration and has the most interesting story. My favorite part about him is that he has the greatest attitude about his position and is very funny.

    I received this book from Waterbrook Multnomah for my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action is the seco

    Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action is the second inspirational book written by Nick Vujicic - motivational speaker, evangelist, author, and director of the nonprofit organization Life Without Limbs. Born with a rare disorder characterized by the absence of all four limbs, Nick shares from his wealth of personal experiences that took him from suicidal thoughts at a young age to becoming an internationally famous motivational speaker, in combination with personal stories from the hurting people he has ministered to through his world travels.

    I began reading this book thinking I had never heard of Nick Vujicic, but I quickly became aware of glimpses I had seen of him in the media and was eager to learn more about him. I loved his message and don't believe I've ever read a more upbeat book. A sense of humor is one of his greatest gifts: When there was a problem with his visa, he asked an embassy official, "Is there a problem with my fingerprints on the visa?" While anyone would be inspired by Nick's testimony, it would especially touch people who think they're alone in their suffering.

    Many passages spoke to me, but here are a few of my favorites:

    -- "God's vision of your life is far greater than anything you might imagine."
    -- "I keep a pair of shoes in my closet because I believe in miracles, but there is no greater miracle than seeing someone come to God."
    -- "Humility is an interesting virtue because if you don't have it, sooner or later it's given to you."
    -- "My self-destructive urges came when I lost faith and focused on what I could not do rather than what I could."
    -- "If you put 'Go' in front of 'disable' you'll get 'God is able'."

    One of Nick's stories that stood out to me is that of Eduardo Verastegui, a popular actor who turned away from a successful career to making films with a positive message. His first project was a movie that I loved, Bella, and which had a life-changing effect on many women considering abortion. Chapter 7, which deals with bullying, is also a strong chapter.

    Maybe Unstoppable's narrative could be a little tighter, maybe it includes a little too many stories, but it is easily readable and packs a powerful message. Nick never fails to deflect attention away from himself and to the One he serves. Nick was privileged to meet with Billy Graham and has taken his advice to heart: "Your job is to preach the truth and only the truth of the gospel without targeting certain people or groups. The truth is powerful, and it will set hearts free."

    In that this book offers inspiration, help and encouragement, I can recommend it to anyone. But I would especially recommend it for anyone dealing with physical disability or serious illness.

    This book was provided by WaterBrook Press through the Blogging for Books program in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    When Nick Vujicic says that God wants us to have a Ridiculously

    When Nick Vujicic says that God wants us to have a Ridiculously Good Life, he does not mean that we will have
    A Big Income.
    Fancy Vacation.
    Two Homes.
    Perfect Health.
    No. None of those things. If that was his message, he would not have been able to preach it to the people he does. Nick has told men dying of AIDs in prison. Elderly ladies in a nursing homes. Girls in India who had been kidnapped and sold into the brutalizing "sex trade." When Nick says that we can all have a ridiculously good life he is telling the truth. As R. C Sproul Jr says, "The Good Life is knowing God". And I would add, knowing and loving your brethren. That is what Nick is saying. The Ridiculously Good Life is a life of rich relationships and Christian Service. Christ can reach us anywhere, rescue us from any sin, and comfort us in any pain. God our Father can show us His love in the prison or the nursing home. And then we can take and give this love to the world in Christ's Name. People made in the image of God need our help and love in schools where innocent victims are being bullied and the men and women who are self destructing, believing the cunning, deadly lies of the enemy that there is no hope, and attempting suicide all around us. And some succeed. Those who don't often live with the shame of having tried. Having failed to "have it all together". And we as the Church, so often don't know how to reach them. We don't want to get involved in anybody's business. We fear being pushed away. We aren't sure how to tell them there is Hope. Hope in Christ and Him alone. That is the message Nick brings. God is love. God loves you. God's kindness towards you should cause you to repent of your sins and trust Him. This book is filled with examples of absolute brokenness, transformed by God who rescues His children. Nick is no stranger to doubt, fear, and pain. As a boy he feared being a burden to his parents and told himself he would die so as not to burden them. How wrong he was! His parents thank God for blessing them with their son! Nick feared that no woman would love him. Wrong again! My favorite photo is on the back flap- Nick and his beautiful wife. They look so happy together.
    There is a lot worth thinking about here. We as the Church need to think, and ACT to stop bullying, suicide, desperation, hopelessness. I love the stories about how God has used Nick in the lives of other children born without limbs. He tells us about one lovely little girl and one dear little boy especially, that he has been able to work with their parents to show them that their baby is not going to have a horrible life-not at all!!! God even used Nick in a village where the people were murdering the babies born without limbs. When they saw him, and his joy and energy, they saw that their children could grow up to do good things. Missionaries report that there have been no more killings in those villages after Nick visited.

    In one story that Nick recounts he quotes a man who talks about how his Church stepped up and began to work and live in the community to make a difference. They took over doing things that the city could not pay to have done. They found out that when the Church moved out into the community, the community realized that there was something different about the Church. This is so true and needful. Last week we drove into town and along a street full of bars. On the left hand side was historic, stone and brick Churches. I could not help but wonder if the men and women in those buildings ever reached out to the people on the streets, the lost souls who are entering the temples of drunkenness. Somewhere in the story, someone said that they realized that doctrine needed to stop dividing them. What I can do to help us understand this is to quote Ravi Zacharias, who said that doctrinal differences come in two kinds, Form and Substance. Form is a difference in the outward way we do things. Substance is a real difference in what we believe. We must reach out, and we must give each other Grace. We must not ever give up doctrine. We need to reach out in real ways with the Love of God. Doctrine, the systematized Truths of the Faith, tell us what Love is, and Who God is. Without those doctrines we could never give people the true, saving Message. In other words, we need the Faith in action!
    Nick Vujicic is an inspirational speaker as well as running two ministries Attitude is Altitude and Life without Limbs He was married in February of 2012, to the love of his life Kanae. They are expecting their first baby

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1