Customer Reviews for

Unstoppable: The Incredible Power of Faith in Action

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unstoppable

Nick Vujucic is not a side show curiosity, but rather a spiritual and powerful sympol of inspiration and the glory of God. The newly published sequel "Unstoppable", by Nick Vujicic provides more moticational and inspirational messages for those readers who enjoyed his ...
Nick Vujucic is not a side show curiosity, but rather a spiritual and powerful sympol of inspiration and the glory of God. The newly published sequel "Unstoppable", by Nick Vujicic provides more moticational and inspirational messages for those readers who enjoyed his first book: "Life Without Limits". This book includes a color excerpt of photos from his life. Many curious people have probably viewed the popular You Tube videos online or watched a Discovery health documentary about Nick Vujicic, known as the man born without arms and legs. Yet there is much more to Nick than his severe disability. What many probably do not know about Nick, is that he is perhaps among the most inspirational motivational speakers there is. Gifted with inisght and empathy, his trials with his disability have been turned around and used as a gift to motivate and help others. He explains that he found happiness when he learned that despite his imperfections and disability, that he is perfect in God's eyes and that he is part of God's creation "designed according to His plan".

Each of the ten chapters addresses spiritual issues that Nick has battled which can apply to each and everyone alive. His handicap has not stopped him from doing whatever he wants- not even surfing or getting married. He percieves himself as enabled instead of disabled, counting himself blessed admist a world where many experience all kinds of pain and suffering. His new book, harnesses Nick's gift of empowerment to motivate the reader no matter what challanges he may face in life. He does not spend time feeling sorry for himself. Even though as a young boy he contemplated suicide, with the power of his faith in God he was able to overcome. He does not feel sorry for himself. Quite the contrary, he actually counts himself as blessed and emmpowered, feeling thankful for his life. In his book, Nick speaks to the reader personally, as if addressing the reader one to one: "I can't know exactly what your burden is, nor do I pretend that I've ever been through a similar crisis....You may not be able to see a bright light at the end of your own dark tunnel right now, but know that my parents could not have envisioned what a wonderful life I would have one day." He acknowledges the validity of those who suffer and does not minimize the pain others may be going through- knowing that there are those who suffer from a host of many issues: personal, physical, emotional and financial. There is no life that is insignificant, when Nick claims that God uses his impediments for God's glory and that God intentionally led him to help another familiy whose little boy was also born without arms and legs. This book is sure to give the reader an inspirational boost no matter what his or her circumstances may be. Included in this book is an insert of color photographs and a chapter of additional resources. It is ironic that a man without arms and legs, is perhaps among the most dignified, well adjusted individuals, with the God given gift of empathy and inspiration. This book is a good outreach method for all readers, disabled, young, depressed- anyone who seeks to find greater meaning and purpose. As a blogger for Water Book publishers I recieved a copy of this book for the purposes of review. The opinions expressed are my own.

posted by PJtheEMT4 on October 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic was written very well and with great

Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic was written very well and with great purpose, but read much like a self-help book. I was not expecting this at all when I first decided to read this book.

As mentioned, the book was written very well. Nick Vujicic had many wonderful things ...
Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic was written very well and with great purpose, but read much like a self-help book. I was not expecting this at all when I first decided to read this book.

As mentioned, the book was written very well. Nick Vujicic had many wonderful things to say about Faith and believing that God is good and that God has a plan. Overall, the writing felt repetitive at times. It was definitely geared toward those who are disabled but anyone can glean some new knowledge and affirmation about our gracious Lord by reading this. The message conveyed in this book is powerful, knowing that God can use you where you are as long as you have Faith and are willing to put Faith in action.

A great verse to be left with is 2 Corinthians 1:3-4, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.”

God gives comfort, and God calls us to comfort others in need. This is Nick Vujicic’s true message for writing the book Unstoppable.

posted by Kellie4 on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unstoppable

    Nick Vujucic is not a side show curiosity, but rather a spiritual and powerful sympol of inspiration and the glory of God. The newly published sequel "Unstoppable", by Nick Vujicic provides more moticational and inspirational messages for those readers who enjoyed his first book: "Life Without Limits". This book includes a color excerpt of photos from his life. Many curious people have probably viewed the popular You Tube videos online or watched a Discovery health documentary about Nick Vujicic, known as the man born without arms and legs. Yet there is much more to Nick than his severe disability. What many probably do not know about Nick, is that he is perhaps among the most inspirational motivational speakers there is. Gifted with inisght and empathy, his trials with his disability have been turned around and used as a gift to motivate and help others. He explains that he found happiness when he learned that despite his imperfections and disability, that he is perfect in God's eyes and that he is part of God's creation "designed according to His plan".

    Each of the ten chapters addresses spiritual issues that Nick has battled which can apply to each and everyone alive. His handicap has not stopped him from doing whatever he wants- not even surfing or getting married. He percieves himself as enabled instead of disabled, counting himself blessed admist a world where many experience all kinds of pain and suffering. His new book, harnesses Nick's gift of empowerment to motivate the reader no matter what challanges he may face in life. He does not spend time feeling sorry for himself. Even though as a young boy he contemplated suicide, with the power of his faith in God he was able to overcome. He does not feel sorry for himself. Quite the contrary, he actually counts himself as blessed and emmpowered, feeling thankful for his life. In his book, Nick speaks to the reader personally, as if addressing the reader one to one: "I can't know exactly what your burden is, nor do I pretend that I've ever been through a similar crisis....You may not be able to see a bright light at the end of your own dark tunnel right now, but know that my parents could not have envisioned what a wonderful life I would have one day." He acknowledges the validity of those who suffer and does not minimize the pain others may be going through- knowing that there are those who suffer from a host of many issues: personal, physical, emotional and financial. There is no life that is insignificant, when Nick claims that God uses his impediments for God's glory and that God intentionally led him to help another familiy whose little boy was also born without arms and legs. This book is sure to give the reader an inspirational boost no matter what his or her circumstances may be. Included in this book is an insert of color photographs and a chapter of additional resources. It is ironic that a man without arms and legs, is perhaps among the most dignified, well adjusted individuals, with the God given gift of empathy and inspiration. This book is a good outreach method for all readers, disabled, young, depressed- anyone who seeks to find greater meaning and purpose. As a blogger for Water Book publishers I recieved a copy of this book for the purposes of review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Nick Vujicic is pretty cool.

    My classmate told me to watch Nick Vujicic's video because I was havijg social problems. I finally watched it a couple of months later, realizing I should've much earlier. His video inspired me so much that immediately I began to appreciate life much more. Actually, the next day I bought a whole bunch
    of stuff and gave it to the people I had to apologize to. Even though I didn't want to, I did it because of my inspiration. His video has changed my life and I am going to buy his book to improve my character. I would like to thank my classmate for introducing me (through the video) to Nick Vujicic. For what has happened, my classmate has become my role model. To everyone out there reading this, I hope the book and video's inspire you as much as it inspired me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    Fantastic

    Haven't read any of his books yet. But he spoke at National FFA Convention this year, and he was great! Very inspirational!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow love this book

    wow love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    wow good book I love it

    wow good book I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic is probably one of the best books I

    Unstoppable by Nick Vujicic is probably one of the best books I have read on Faith, Courage, Perseverance and a true Man of God. Nick was born with out arms and legs but he has never let that stop him from anything. He had learned to adapt and persevere, to become a great Evangelist and motivational speaker and one who inspires many to be all they can be. He has overcome many trials but has come out on top because of his faith. In this book he tells us how that has been possible.


    I loved this book. I love how open Nick was about his struggles and how he was bullied but I think more than anything I love his passion and faith in God. Nick tells us how he has learned to have courage and overcome obstacles by living his faith. He is very opened about his life and how he has learned with God's help that he was made unique so that God could use him in a unique and special way to help others. He is a remarkable person, but not just because he has overcome not having limbs to do just about anything he wants, but he is remarkable to me because of how he loves and follows
    God and his beautiful love and faith in God. He doesn't just talk the Faith but he puts his Faith in action, believing and doing. I think one of my favorite quotes from the book is in the introduction when Nick says " Putting faith in action is about believing and achieving. It's about having faith in yourself, your talents, your purpose, and most of all, in God's love and His divine plan for your life." The book is all about how Nick has lived this way and shows us how we can too.


    I would encourage you to read this book. It not only tells you about Nick's life and faith but shows you how to put your faith to work also. It has some good points on learning to activate your faith and put it into action with examples of how Nick has done that in his own life. I think this is one book that I would read again and again besides sharing with other. I would give it 5 stars and more.


    If you would like to find out more about Nick and his foundation and read a chapter from this book follow these links below.
    Excerpt: Chapter 3-How Nick met his wife
    •Life Without Limbs Website
    •Trailer
    •Facebook
    •Twitter
    •More Info
    •Read Chapter One
    •Author Bio

    "I received this book for free from Blogging for Books for this review."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Born without limbs, Nick Vujicic lives out his faith with action

    Born without limbs, Nick Vujicic lives out his faith with action. He understands God has a plan for all of us…just the way we are. In his life, Nick has encountered many obstacles (bullying, suicide, depression, rejection) yet lives a ridicously good life (in his own words). In this book, Nick shares his personal stories as well as others while giving encouragement, inspiration, reassurance and confidence to everyone through God’s love for us.

    A PENNY FOR MY THOUGHTS:
    Having heard of Nick Vujicic as an inspirational speaker, I was interested in reading his current book. Through humor and heartache, Nick shares his own struggles and triumphs in the hopes of proclaiming and helping others see their own worth as well as impact on the world. He is literally “unstoppable” when acting on his faith, having done more, shared more and conquered more than most people without limits. I found Nick to be quite an example…taking away any excuse not to put faith into action, making anyone unstoppable in the process as well.

    RATING:
    4.5 (out of 5) pennies

    *I received a complimentary copy of Unstoppable from WaterBrook Press for my honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Nick Vujicic is an amazing human being, you dont have to be chri

    Nick Vujicic is an amazing human being, you dont have to be christian to like this book, he is so inspiring and is 
    a lot happier than the average person. I would do anything to meat him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    A must read and one to add to yourlibrary!

    A very inspiring and thought filled book. Mine has many highlights in it. We who are "able" bodied have very much to be thankful for and yet so many of us take it for granted every day. If Nick Vujicic is "Unstoppable" we should also be "Unstoppable", and Nick shows and tells us how we all can be "Unstoppable".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    "I like to believe that rough patches are meant to teach me

    "I like to believe that rough patches are meant to teach me important things about myself...and the depth of my faith."



    I really enjoyed reading this inspirational book by Nick Vujicic. Everyone has had times of struggle and felt desperate, clinging to whatever they can to survive that circumstance. Whether physical, financial or emotional; this book takes you through all possible scenarios that are easy to relate, real and in the end, encourage you to put your faith into action in times of adversity.



    Nick takes you through the highs and low in his life, along with people he's met along the way and inspired to put their faith into action. He's traveled the world, done things you wouldn't think were possible, met and married his wife and pursues his passion of speaking and encouraging others, to bring glory to God. Truly living his life to the fullest.



    He encourages you to find peace and joy in your circumstance. Throughout the book he quotes scripture and Biblical stories, tying it back to his message. It's a great, easy read for any age with an underlying theme of with God, all things are possible!







    I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    I loved this book because it showed me that God does have a purp

    I loved this book because it showed me that God does have a purpose for my life and, your life, and that nothing can really stop us when we have faith in the God who created us! All through this book I thought about the fact that Nick "went for it" and how I can sometimes find excuses for why I can't do something. Nick could have definitely done this but he hasn't. His faith has led him all over the world, sharing the Word of God! He has also had a lot of fun along the way!

    I also liked that he addresses bullying in a chapter. This has been around for centuries, but it seems this day, it's become a way of life for many. It affects those on the recieving end in profound ways. He also addresses suicide in a chapter and has many wise thoughts on the matter.

    By far, my most favorite chapter was "Living in Balance". In this chapter he shows us how we can live in balance - what works best for us. He shares six things to help us do just that. They are wise and so simple but incredibly powerful for living the life that God created us to live!

    I highly recommend this book! It will encourage you, bless you, show you how God is working in your life, inspire you and more! I was so incredibly blessed by getting to read it and it will definitely be a book I will read again and again!
    *This book was provided to me for my honest review by the Blogging for Books program

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Faith in Action This book, Unstoppable, demonstrates faith in ac

    Faith in Action
    This book, Unstoppable, demonstrates faith in action. Nick Vujicic, born without arms or legs, lives life to the fullest with God at the center of it. His message is one of hope to those in despair, challenges those who feel inadequate due to a handicap, and speaks up about bullying. Nick's book is not only for adults but teens as well. His topics range from relationship issues to bullying to self-destructive thoughts. But what makes it truly inspirational is that Nick has dealt with all of these issues and uses real life events to get his message across. At the end of the book, Nick writes "My life is built upon my faith and the teachings of the Scriptures. These are the source of my confidence, my belief system, my decisiveness, my persistence, and my endurance. With faith guiding my deeds, I can find balance in mind, body, heart, and spirit." I think that pretty much sums up how it should be for all of us. I would like to be my goal.
    I received this book from Waterbrook Press Multnomah to review and this is my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Just perfect book. Everybody needs to reed!!!We can be, Do and H

    Just perfect book. Everybody needs to reed!!!We can be, Do and Have anything and everything we want.
    Danny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1