Customer Reviews for

The Unsung Hero (Troubleshooters Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

Wow, just wow. The first in Brockmann's Troubleshooter series, The Unsung Hero was a fantastic read. It had it all--action, drama, romance, human relationships, history--and was a whole lot of fun to read. If I'd had the time to read this all in one sitting, I'd have...
Wow, just wow. The first in Brockmann's Troubleshooter series, The Unsung Hero was a fantastic read. It had it all--action, drama, romance, human relationships, history--and was a whole lot of fun to read. If I'd had the time to read this all in one sitting, I'd have loved to; as it was, when I wasn't reading this book I was thinking about it and figuring out how soon I could finish what I HAD to do to get back to it. I loved all the characters--they were well written, believable people who you'd want to know in real life. The main characters are Lt. Tom Paoletti and pediatrician Kelly Ashton, but the secondary ones--Kelly's father Charles and Tom's uncle Joe, World War II veterans; Tom's niece Mallory and her geeky friend David; and the makeshift members of Tom's thrown-together anti-terrorist team--are just as solidly written. The main storyline: Tom, on convalescent leave from the Navy, has thirty days to prove he's healthy enough to keep his leadership position, but believes he sees a presumed-dead terrorist on his first day back in his uncle's small New England town. Suffering from headaches and dizziness, he is torn between his fear that it's all in his head and his need to act on his instincts. This book had me laughing and crying--multiple times--and really caring what happened to each and every one of them. The storylines were all well-crafted, and came together nicely in the end. This series was begun before 9/11--significant both because it follows a Navy SEAL special ops unit and its terrorist theme--so it will be interesting to see what the author does with the books that take place after that time. I will definitely be looking for more books in the series.

posted by beckymmoe on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unspectacular

This book was simply OK, it was missing the intensity of the others that I read first. She's improved a lot in the four years since she wrote this book. If this is your first Suzanne Brockman book, don't be discouraged the ones that come after are significantly better.

posted by Anonymous on December 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    Wow, just wow. The first in Brockmann's Troubleshooter series, The Unsung Hero was a fantastic read. It had it all--action, drama, romance, human relationships, history--and was a whole lot of fun to read. If I'd had the time to read this all in one sitting, I'd have loved to; as it was, when I wasn't reading this book I was thinking about it and figuring out how soon I could finish what I HAD to do to get back to it. I loved all the characters--they were well written, believable people who you'd want to know in real life. The main characters are Lt. Tom Paoletti and pediatrician Kelly Ashton, but the secondary ones--Kelly's father Charles and Tom's uncle Joe, World War II veterans; Tom's niece Mallory and her geeky friend David; and the makeshift members of Tom's thrown-together anti-terrorist team--are just as solidly written. The main storyline: Tom, on convalescent leave from the Navy, has thirty days to prove he's healthy enough to keep his leadership position, but believes he sees a presumed-dead terrorist on his first day back in his uncle's small New England town. Suffering from headaches and dizziness, he is torn between his fear that it's all in his head and his need to act on his instincts. This book had me laughing and crying--multiple times--and really caring what happened to each and every one of them. The storylines were all well-crafted, and came together nicely in the end. This series was begun before 9/11--significant both because it follows a Navy SEAL special ops unit and its terrorist theme--so it will be interesting to see what the author does with the books that take place after that time. I will definitely be looking for more books in the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    good series

    The one thing I would suggest to anyone wanting to read this series is write character names down. She refers to them as their first name, last name & call sign. Once you get further into the series it can be "Wait, who is that?". To be honest, I quit reading the series at the end of book #10. I wasn't sure how deep she would go into the homosexual love scene. I have been told that if you want to skip book #11 and go to #12 that you wouldn't realy miss anything character wise.
    I read the "Tall, Dark & Dangerous series first and LOVED them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable Beach Read

    After reading several wretched novels on a romance book recommendation list, this contemporary novel of "romantic suspense" set in the Boston area was a relief. The novel features some of the usual overwriting found in the romance genre about the gorgeousness of the lead characters, but not quite as incessant as in most. Likable leading characters at that: both over 30 for once and both career professionals--Tom Paoletti, a Navy SEAL officer, and Kelly Ashton, a divorced doctor. There were even memorable and appealing supporting players! I liked the secondary geek-love romance between Mallory, Tom's niece, and David, an artist even more--it's what raises this book to a four star for me. (And David *gasp* is Asian--I can't tell you how rare it is in the romance genre to have a romantic protagonist to be anything but Caucasian.) And behold a real plot along thriller lines. I did have some style issues, and I wouldn't call the novel a keeper: not a prose style to savor or quotable lines, and it never elicited tears or laughter or a gasp of surprise. But it was entertaining--a good beach/airplane read. This is the first of a series and since some have told me the novels get much better, I intend to try the next one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    Unspectacular

    This book was simply OK, it was missing the intensity of the others that I read first. She's improved a lot in the four years since she wrote this book. If this is your first Suzanne Brockman book, don't be discouraged the ones that come after are significantly better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Another Fan- Excellent

    This story was very romantic and very hard to put down!!! I recommend it to all Romance Readers!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining romantic suspense

    Navy SEAL Lieutenant Tom Paolitti is injured during a rescue mission, which leads to a hospital stay. When Tom learns that Rear Admiral Turner plans to eliminate his troubleshooting team, he loudly complains. The doctors claim that his outrageous behavior is a normal reaction to the head injury he suffered. Thus, he is sent home for 30-days of convalescent leave. <P>At Logan Airport, Tom spots a person with the mannerisms of international terrorist The Merchant. He calls it in even as the brass wonders if he is being paranoid due to the recent trauma. Tom stays with his Uncle Joe while next door is Dr. Kelly Ashton who is temporarily residing with her dying father. For fifteen years, Tom has carried the torch for Kelly. As they reacquaint themselves, Tom and Kelly fall in love. However, can a Navy SEAL find lasting happiness with a pediatrician especially when he keeps seeing a terrorist who, if it is him, apparently is targeting the VIPs at the upcoming WW II anniversary celebration. <P>THE UNSUNG HERO is an entertaining romantic suspense novel that centers on various relationships. The story line is enjoyable because the different types of relationships ring genuine even that between Tom and The Merchant. The intrigue elements provide additional excitement, but Suzanne Brockmann's tale works because of the interplay between several members of the cast. <P>Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    I actually tripped across the third book in this series first. After reading the third and fourth books I bought them all! I love her mix of history, military, and current events. The characters and story lines flow seamlessly. The Troubleshooter series is a Must Read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Powerful

    What a powerful story. Wonderful writing. Keeps you enthralled through all the different segments. Loved all the characters except Brandon. What a twit. Will definetly resd more of her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Absolute Must Read

    I am reading these books in order. The flashbacks to WWII are amazing. We must never forget that part of our History!!! The characters are addicting can't wait to see what happens next!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    So Good!

    This book had me laughing, sighing, crying and all things in-between! Love Suzanne Brockman's books. Don't miss this one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Venus triumphs over Mars

    The strengths of this author include her ability to advance the linked the story lines of three disparate couples, without losing the momentum created by her plot. Her deft characterizations coax the reader into accepting both male and female protagonists with a range of ethnicities, ages, occupations, and socio-economic backgrounds. The attraction comes as much from the content of their character as the carnal appeal of toned abs. Brockmann manages to credibly ratchet up the tension and suspense elements of her story while remaining true to the beating heart of romance - omnia vincit amor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Absolutely a great read

    Really gets the series off to an exciting start. Found the whole series to be excellent and will reread this many times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Super Seals!

    Suzanne Brockmann does it again! Tom is a great character himself, but when you put the sexy seal with his highschool crush...wow the sparks fly. Then the side stories with Toms Uncle and Kelly's Dad pull at the heart strings. Suzanne makes you believe in that one special love. A great first book for a great new series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Start of a Wonderful Series

    This is the first book in Brockmann's Troubleshooter Series. Unsung Hero is Tom's story, which is the best place to start because Tom is the leader of the eclectic group of men and women that... save the world, to put it simply. They later form the Troubleshooters, but for now they're SEALs.
    --
    I'm not going to put a synopsis because the "Details" tab explains the story line perfectly. What it doesn't mention is that Brockmann tells her stories in the perspective of three different couples. The first couple is Tom and Kelly; the second is Tom's niece and her new friend; the third is Tom's uncle and Kelly's dad.
    --
    Brockmann has an amazing ability to make you love all of these characters. Her gift is in the way she creates characters that are believable. They have fears, they have ambition; and because of that they stick with you.
    --
    The WWII segment of this book was informative without making it feel like a history lesson. (FYI: The first stories include flashbacks from WWII, from the perspective of one or more of the characters).
    --
    I hope this review makes sense. This is a great book and a great series. If you remember anything from this review, I hope it's that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good book

    I really recommend this book!!! It was great! And I love how there is two love stories going on, a teenager love story and an adult love story!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Tear Jerker.

    Tom an Kelly are romantic.Great start to the trouble shooters series.
    Hope she continues with the series. It would be ashame to end it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    not my favorite by her ....

    Tom and kelly's romance did not do it for me. This is not one of Brockman's best. TOm was a great guy but kelly came of emotionally cold. Not my favorite heroine. I liked the side story with David and Mel.But the other story about uncle Joe and charles could have been shorter, there was too much going on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Terrific!!!

    This book was so terrific. I couldn't put it down. I love romance novels but often I am disappointed by the lack of an exciting plot, lack of action, or lack of well developed characters. This book has it all and has none of the ridiculous silliness that goes with so many romance novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    5 Stars! Okay, this book is a suspenseful romance right? WRONG,

    5 Stars!
    Okay, this book is a suspenseful romance right? WRONG, well it is but it's so much more than that. Yes, it has some steamy scences that will make you blush but it also has a beautiful story of two best friends being in love with th same woman. In the story, we have three main sets of characters. First is obviously the main couple, Kelly and Tom. Next we have David and Mallory. Finally, there is Joe, Charles, and Cybele. Each of these sets have their own story and they really seem to jive well with each other. Spoilers may be included.....brace yourselves. Tom and Kelly have known each other since their teenage years. They both care madly about each other but aren't sure where to take it from there. David and Mallory have just bumped into each other through pure coincidence. I LOVE how Mallory falls for David instead of Brandon. Brandon is the typical hot guy with muscles for days and has girls falling for him everywhere. David is the camera/computer guy with average looks and a big heart. So I'm super happy she saw that looks don't mean everything. Lastly, we have Joe/Charles/Cybele they met under war times. Cybele protected Joe and Charles and in turn they both fell for her. It just so happens, Joe and Charles are the best of friends. Their story was the most beautiful to me, don't get me wrong I loved the passion with Tom and Kelly but as far as a sweet, beautiful love story I have to go with Cybele's bunch. I won't spoil (or have I already?) too much about each relationship and the story but the ending definitely brought tears to my eyes. I think this is a series of Suzanne's so I hope we hear more from Tom and Kelly in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a beginning to a great 16 book series that ties all the

    This is a beginning to a great 16 book series that ties all the characters and storylines into the complete series. I found this book to be a little on the common side, but once you start to get into the series and get to know the team the action and the romance really picks up.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7