Customer Reviews for

Untamed (Medieval Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

This was my first book by Elizabeth Lowell. I was so awed by her writing style. The characters and scenes were described in a way that you could see in your minds eye exactly what it looked like. The action scenes were so precisely but not over written that I could lite...
This was my first book by Elizabeth Lowell. I was so awed by her writing style. The characters and scenes were described in a way that you could see in your minds eye exactly what it looked like. The action scenes were so precisely but not over written that I could literally hear in my mind the swords connecting with shields! This was an amazing series, I have read it over and over again, never tiring of the story, characters and the era! Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful!

posted by 5245966 on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful tale of a time long past

If you like a good story of knights and lords you can't go wrong with this book. Lowell colors a picture of the harsh realities that existed for common folk, lords, and those with special gifts. There are battles of the sward and the heart that are to be won.

posted by GtzLstNRding on June 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Couldn't put it down!

    This was my first book by Elizabeth Lowell. I was so awed by her writing style. The characters and scenes were described in a way that you could see in your minds eye exactly what it looked like. The action scenes were so precisely but not over written that I could literally hear in my mind the swords connecting with shields! This was an amazing series, I have read it over and over again, never tiring of the story, characters and the era! Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful tale of a time long past

    If you like a good story of knights and lords you can't go wrong with this book. Lowell colors a picture of the harsh realities that existed for common folk, lords, and those with special gifts. There are battles of the sward and the heart that are to be won.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    Untamed

    I highly recommend this book as a well written romance book. It's not predictable like most romance cliches. Dominic and Meg both share a love for falcons. Dominic is attracted to Meg the moment that he sees her. They are forced to get married, but something tests their relationship. Their relationship has a lot tension and chemistry building among them that is reflected throughout the book. It's about trust, faith, loyalty, and love. It's about how human beings can gravely affect one another.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Fantastic. A great weekend read with satisfying ending

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    incredible!!!

    I read all 3 books and I was spellbound. Ms. Lowell is a fantastic writer. She takes us into a journey where you wish you didn't have to return. But, she needs to write a book about Eric.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Great story

    The book maintained a steady pace and held my interest. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    7.99

    Why is it under $5 or less yet its 7.99

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Good Read!

    I have now read the three books in this series. I enjoyed them. I will tell my friends about this series. I will also look for other books by Elizabeth Lowell.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Could've Been So Much More

    Just finished reading this book. I started reading it because it was recommended as an historical novel of the romance brand. I enjoy those kinds of novels and I enjoy learning about the period history. However, this novel lacked in that area. The first few chapters were of knights and ladies and I found it intrigueing. But as the novel wore on it was more about the knight / hero of the novel trying to get into the pants of his wife / heroine from an arranged marriage. At points, it errupted into an erotic novel filled with elusive references to sex and body parts. I grew weary of the "little falcon" reference and the "sheathed sword" (or any other reference to sword as a sex tool) throughout. The plot was interesting enough what with knights and lords and ladies and one point of treachery towards the very end and under another author it could have been so much more than 300 pages of boring sexetaphs it spanned. I understand this novel is the first of a "medievel" series by this author. I doubt I'd be interested in any more dribble of this nature.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    not worth the read

    the author use to much flowery word on this book that will challenge your vocabulary skills and yet I feel that it is to amateurish because of the lack of content on the story. I keep waiting for the story to get better but instead it get stretch with none sense stuff and the ending was rush and predictable.

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2004

    Just As Good the Third Time

    One of EL's best books. A story that will capture your heart and pull you back to the past. A fantasy that will leave you satisfied and yet desiring more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Loved it!

    I love this book and I LOVE the series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I really like this author and this series was well written. I looked forward to each book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Just one seduction scene after another!

    Just one seduction scene after another. It bothered me that the heroine wore bells like a slave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    beautiful llove story

    Loved the charactors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    Lady Margaret has been commanded by the King, to marry the enemy

    Lady Margaret has been commanded by the King, to marry the enemy, Dominic, a Norman knight and a powerful warrior who is well known throughout the country. Margaret is a witch of sorts, a healer, and her curse is that she will only bear a heir if she and her husband are in love, a powerful and unyielding love. Her father and childhood friend on intent on making sure that there is no match between Meg and the Norman, whom they view as the enemy. However Meg's first priority is the people she is in charge to care for. So she marries Dominic, knowing she would face the wrath of her family.But Meg knows her duty. Dominic, has fought through many battles and wars, and has suffered torture, and now he desires one thing above all else, a son, a heir. Little does he know how much he is going to have to prove himself to get his heir. Meg is his wife, and he would never force her, but when he hears of her beliefs and that he will never get a heir without her loving him, he sets out to seduce her. Dominic doesn't realize that he will discover a beautiful love with his stunning wife and a happiness he could only dream of...

    Untamed is the first in the medieval series by Elizabeth Lowell. For years I had heard so many great things about this author, And after recently reading the third in this series, I was really excited to read Dominic's and Meg's story. The story starts out with Meg meeting Dominic, but Dominic thinking she is a servant and not his future bride. There is a bit of a spark that flies between them, but then Dominic soon finds out she is his bride. Meg, is apprehensive, and afraid in the beginning of Dominic. She doesn't know what to expect from him. Dominic, is intent on wooing his bride, since he could never force her to go to his bed with him. He wants her to come to him willingly. Then he becomes jealous when he learns that she may have had a affair with her distant cousin, and cages her within the keep and keeps a watchful eye on her. There is quite a bit of mistrust and misunderstandings that happen, but as the plot thickens, you see how this couple comes together when it really counts.

    This story is mostly about this couple learning to trust in each other, and the love that is right in front of them, if they will only reach out to grab it. There is a bit of a suspenseful portion to the plot, that tends to put you at the edge of your seat. Untamed is a thrilling story set in Medieval England, and I enjoyed how this author weaved culture and misconceptions of these two warring people. As you read Untamed, you see that this author does her research quite well. I am a bit of a history buff, so its always fun to learn new facts about different time periods, especially this time period. There is also a bit of a magic/paranormal element involved in the story. Not overly much at all, more like a light feathery touch into the story that adds a certain flair to the plot. I enjoyed seeing these two together. Both are very stubborn and strong willed, so chances are they are going to clash. However I felt like even though their relationship is rocky in the beginning, the rough edges start to smooth out as you get deeper into the story.

    The characters I loved, and I didn't have many issues with either one of them. I felt like Dominic is your typical Alpha male type, however, he does fit the Tortured male hero type as well. He has suffered from great torture recently, and you see how learning to love changes him, but in a much more sexier way. The heroine is a healer, and will do everything she can to protect her people. She isn't afraid to stand up to Dominic, but she also knows which battles to fight as well. You see how they learn to compromise and slowly start to trust in each other, even though they didn't trust each other at all in the beginning.

    Overall a jewel of a romance, one that will sweep you off your feet and into the magical time of the medieval time period. After reading this, Elizabeth Lowell is moving up my list of favorite historical romance authors. Its rare to see a author blend history, culture, passion, suspense, and romance into a gem of a read. Untamed will stir up passion, emotion, danger into a magically written story that will take you back through time. ENCHANTING!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Fantastic Reading !!!

    This was a very intriguing and entertaining story ! The characters were all brought forth with so much volume you can picture yourself right there. There is never a dull part and when you think you know what will happen next , it changes to something even more exciting. Can't wait for this author's next medieval story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great start to the series

    I like that she carries the characters over into the other books. I like to seem them mature and still have flare. Not that many medieval romance books out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Wonderful story!

    This is a geat read, once I started I could not stop reading. The story is full of intriege which kept me turning the pages. The story of a hardened warrior and a Druid healer; Norman and Saxon; Knights and Ladies. The author captures the stuggles of the people during a savage and untamed time in history and brings it alive in technicolor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Zayda

    Shure. If u can handle me boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10