Customer Reviews for

Untamed (House of Night Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2741 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1902)

4 Star

(575)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Untamed

This is the fourth book in the House of Night series and was by far the best book of the series. It is the only book in the series so far that I have felt comfortable saying I really liked it and enjoyed the story.
With the murders of the teachers in the third book thi...
This is the fourth book in the House of Night series and was by far the best book of the series. It is the only book in the series so far that I have felt comfortable saying I really liked it and enjoyed the story.
With the murders of the teachers in the third book things are beginning to come to a head in this book. Zoey is out of boyfriends, so to speak, so of course she is absolutely enchanted by the new kid in school, Stark. With Stevie Rae somewhat her normal self, she takes a back seat in this story but still plays a few big parts as a new type of vampire. The mythos developed in this story around the evil Neferet was engaging and very interesting. Neferet is here in all her evil glory; and man is she evil.
Zoey without boyfriends is awesome because Zoey is actually focused on the actual plot and this makes for a way more interesting book than the last one was. So, for everyone who hung on with the series despite the barely okay third book, you are rewarded in this book.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A book to kill time... but not very interesting

As both a romance and supernatural book... it falls flat compared to others. I've read some really good romance/supernatural books but this one.. it seems like a unrealistic book. Although its told in Zoey's point of view of things the other characters dont seem to have...
As both a romance and supernatural book... it falls flat compared to others. I've read some really good romance/supernatural books but this one.. it seems like a unrealistic book. Although its told in Zoey's point of view of things the other characters dont seem to have any real personality. I enjoy reading about Aphrodite because she is the only character with some real spark to her. I dilike how Zoey's freinds basically are her servants. I was happy that her freinds actually showed a realistic reaction to Zoey leaving them out of the loop but its like besides them following her every whim, the twins always just make sexual comments and fight with Aphrodite, Jack and Damien are gay although Jack is far to shy and Damien's uses big words. It just seems like the book is following some unknown plot that can basically be discribed as "Nefert= bad and plotting"+ "something awful/epic is going to happen" Theses books, if editted correctly and having pointless parts cut and characters dropped spoiler alert for characters *cough cough STARK/LOREN/JACK (since his only real use is during ceremonies)* it could be a 5 star one or two volume book rather then a drawn out +5 volume book.
In short Zoey is a over-glamorized Mary Sue with a ludicrous love life, leading an unrealistic life, with overly obediant/ and frequently not included in whats going on in the story, freinds.

I would recommend not reading this book if you are a true vampire lover. If you want original books I suggest Anne Rice books, Kim Harrison, Rachel Caine's Morganville Vampire Series, Charlaine Harris or if your just looking for a book you'll never want to put down I suggest Lucas by Kevin.

posted by 535014 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2765 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 139
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Untamed

    This is the fourth book in the House of Night series and was by far the best book of the series. It is the only book in the series so far that I have felt comfortable saying I really liked it and enjoyed the story.
    With the murders of the teachers in the third book things are beginning to come to a head in this book. Zoey is out of boyfriends, so to speak, so of course she is absolutely enchanted by the new kid in school, Stark. With Stevie Rae somewhat her normal self, she takes a back seat in this story but still plays a few big parts as a new type of vampire. The mythos developed in this story around the evil Neferet was engaging and very interesting. Neferet is here in all her evil glory; and man is she evil.
    Zoey without boyfriends is awesome because Zoey is actually focused on the actual plot and this makes for a way more interesting book than the last one was. So, for everyone who hung on with the series despite the barely okay third book, you are rewarded in this book.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A book to kill time... but not very interesting

    As both a romance and supernatural book... it falls flat compared to others. I've read some really good romance/supernatural books but this one.. it seems like a unrealistic book. Although its told in Zoey's point of view of things the other characters dont seem to have any real personality. I enjoy reading about Aphrodite because she is the only character with some real spark to her. I dilike how Zoey's freinds basically are her servants. I was happy that her freinds actually showed a realistic reaction to Zoey leaving them out of the loop but its like besides them following her every whim, the twins always just make sexual comments and fight with Aphrodite, Jack and Damien are gay although Jack is far to shy and Damien's uses big words. It just seems like the book is following some unknown plot that can basically be discribed as "Nefert= bad and plotting"+ "something awful/epic is going to happen" Theses books, if editted correctly and having pointless parts cut and characters dropped spoiler alert for characters *cough cough STARK/LOREN/JACK (since his only real use is during ceremonies)* it could be a 5 star one or two volume book rather then a drawn out +5 volume book.
    In short Zoey is a over-glamorized Mary Sue with a ludicrous love life, leading an unrealistic life, with overly obediant/ and frequently not included in whats going on in the story, freinds.

    I would recommend not reading this book if you are a true vampire lover. If you want original books I suggest Anne Rice books, Kim Harrison, Rachel Caine's Morganville Vampire Series, Charlaine Harris or if your just looking for a book you'll never want to put down I suggest Lucas by Kevin.

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    I am14

    I am 14 this series is ok for me rite?????

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Best books since the hunger games!

    This book is sexy, mysterious, and will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very last word. Highly recommend!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    awesome can't wait for the next!!

    really great book.. first 3 are the best this one is a good start to the fifth book! definetly read this series if you liked twilght. it's a very good book!! cant wait to see her new tatoos!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and Dark

    I purchased this book.

    Do not read this book without having book five ready to dive into immediately after.

    By this point the series is literary crack, unputadownable (to use a phrase I hate, but it fits). Zoey Redbird is a chosen of the night goddess Nyx, which means she has powers and will someday become a vampyre. Her friends are all gifted as well, beyond just being marked to become vampyres.

    Zoey's circle is still recovering from last book's plot of I'm-lying-to-you-to-protect-you, but after a vision from Aphrodite it's clear that Zoey needs to start leaning on them again, even if evil High Priestess Neferet's mind reading powers might risk them all in the process.

    Newly thrown into the mix are Stark, a vampire Bullseye, who can hit his target every time, even if he doesn't know what his target is, and Zoey's Grandmother, pulled into an active role when she finally puts a name and face to the big mysterious evil they are facing. But Stark dies in Zoey's arms, much like Stevie Rae died in the second book only to be reborn as a red-marked fledgeling. Sure that the same is true of Stark, Zoe hatches a plan to intervene and steal Stark from Neferet's influence.

    But something is watching her from the shadows, something that's angry and growing power and Zoe must find a way to stop it and stop Neferet while protecting her friends and family as well.

    I am absolutely as hooked on this series as I was on Buffy. It's smart, snarky, dark and absolutely engaging. I made the mistake of not having book five sitting ready when I hit the end and it's a shame, since the Casts have hit a stride born of past world building and past set up launching the characters into fast, readable whirlwind adventures. The House of Night series is poised to become my favorite YA world out there. In short, I humbly await more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2010

    Can't say enough good things

    The series is great. After 4 books, I'm still just as enthralled as ever. It easily sucks you in and holds on to you for the entire book and leaves you wanting more!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    O.M.G. You have got to read this book!

    What can I say about this book....It is totally amazing! I actually finished this book in 1 day, I could not put the book down. I was so intrigued and totally held captive by all the events that have happened, I can't even explain it. Zoey and her friends are truely gifted people. Even though they were going through rough times (because Zoey didn't tell them about everything that has been happening; ande they no longer trusted Zoey), they must come together to battle the dark forces. In order to make this thing work, Zoey must tell her friends everything and be willing to put it all on the line. This has to be the best book in the series so far! There is so much to take in, and so much emtions that you go through; you will be smiling, crying, cheering on people, etc.....This book is totally AWESOME! This is a MUST read! I am absolutely hooked on this series. I will be starting the next book right away. I can not wait!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    UNTAMED-GREAT

    I have enjoyed reading "The House of Night" series. I received the four books for Christmas and finished them in no time. The books are about a human-turned fledgling vampyre named Zoey Redbird who goes to a school called The House of Night where those like herself go to learn what they need to know before they become full-fledged vampyres, if they get that far. Some make it, some don't.
    Zoey makes a lot of friends (and enemies), and I'm especially fond of her best friend Stevie Rae who has such a wonderful personality. As for her other friends, Damien and the Twins, well, they are, to me, quite boring.If anything were to happen to them I don't think I'd really care much. (I nearly died inside when I thought Stevie Rae was gone.) That says a lot.
    As for the main character herself, she is not my favorite. Usually I like the main characters but Zoey tends to get into a lot of situations concerning boys and it's a bit annoying (I believe it was the third book that involved a lot of that). She started off with her human boyfriend Heath. Then got herself a vampyre-fledgling boyfriend, Eric. Then there's the vampyre Poet teacher Loren. And WHAT was with that Stark business? She didn't even KNOW the guy. I'm just thankful the books involve more than Zoey's boyfriend business, otherwise I wouldn't like these books very much.
    There's always something new happening. The story never gets boring, which is excellent--- except when it involves Zoey's boyfriend woes.
    Overall, I love this series and I can't wait for the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps on getting better

    this i thought was the best one out of the prevouis one i'm really looking forward to see what happens in the next one really orginal there type of vampyres are in the story is differnt from anything that i have ever read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    loved it and can't wait for the next one

    I loved this book. It was just as fun to read as the last three and it was well worth the wait...I love the character of Zoey and group of misfit friends. This is a very creative series and I like the mystical aspect to the story. I can not wait for March

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Shelbs

    Okay ... these books are like the best!!! I'm now on tempted and im only 11!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Great BOOK!! Great Series!!!

    Okay. I have to say that this series are so good, that I can't wait to get all of the other books. Very good book, I love this series. I love all of the characters. The story is great. Thanks to the Cast Family. No one will regret on reading these books. But I will sugest start from the very first one. Its a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An Awesome Book!!!

    I read the whole series but this was by far the best book in it. The character Zoey gets into situations you won't believe! It keeps you on edge and keeps you wanting to read more. And somehow I felt like I can relate to her. She tries to keep her personal life going, but has bigger problems going on in the world. Definetly a series you should read and start anticipating the 4th book!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Put Down

    The House of Night series is definitely the most intriguing series I've read right next to the Twilight series. This is perhaps the greatest installment of the whole series, with thrilling adventures. The dialogue is very realistic, unlike the plot. It's amazing how it is so well planned out and refreshes your memory of the previous books. A majority of books I have read have not done this, leaving me clueless in who was who. The building up for each of the main characters were vividly described, leaving me breathless and having "book - lust" for the next book. It took me a surprising three days to read, which is very fast at my pace. Like I've stated previously, it's very interesting and leaves its readers craving even more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL SERIES

    This series is great for anyone who enjoys a little fantasy romance. It is the Twilight Series with an EDGE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book series is great!

    Once again Zoey Redbird leads us into the exciting and dangerous world of vampyres. She faces the betrayal of her closest friends and mentor. She must prepare her self to face the perils that are to come.

    Zoey Redbird isn't doing very well in her social relationships. She's gone from having three boyfriends to none. Her friends are mad at her and her mentor Nefret has shown her true colors. Not to mention the fact that the only person she has to talk to is the snobbiest girl at school. She has to find a way to make up with her friends before it's to late or worse.

    This book is an exciting thriller that I would recommend to any young adult reader. Once you pick this book up you want to put it down. It will keep you on the edge of your seat and possibly hidden in your room until you finish it. I have absolutely fallen in love with this series. I have grown an attachment to the characters and the school.

    I would definitely recommend reading this book. This book is chilling, romantic, depressing, exciting, and it will leave you wanting more. Zoey is different and she shares a lot of the imperfections that we all do. During the story she's still learning who she really is and that's what gives the real connection between her and the readers.

    I would recommend this book to young adults. This book is really geared for teenagers so I'm not sure that older readers could really get into it. Although this book is great it is definitely has its flaws and so I would rate it with four and a half stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It grows on you

    At first i wasn't into this series at all. I'm not sure why i even kept reading it. I wasn't into the mixture of Vampire blood lust and Witchy magic, but by the time you get to the third book you are hooked. I cant wait for the next one to come out! Great characters except for the twins, cant stand them. Easy to read, fully entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Series

    Untamed, the fourth installment of the House of Night series was magnificent! It was a real page turner, as were all the books in the series. I was really impressed at how well the story is coming together and I can't wait on the 5th (Hunted) to come out in March. Read these if you haven't already. They are amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I ¿ this series of books!!!

    HOLY CRAP this book is totally awesome!!!!!!! i loved it!!!<BR/>i cant wait till the next book comes out!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2765 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 139