BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Untamed (House of Night Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2746 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1903)

4 Star

(579)

3 Star

(178)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Untamed

This is the fourth book in the House of Night series and was by far the best book of the series. It is the only book in the series so far that I have felt comfortable saying I really liked it and enjoyed the story.
With the murders of the teachers in the third book thi...
This is the fourth book in the House of Night series and was by far the best book of the series. It is the only book in the series so far that I have felt comfortable saying I really liked it and enjoyed the story.
With the murders of the teachers in the third book things are beginning to come to a head in this book. Zoey is out of boyfriends, so to speak, so of course she is absolutely enchanted by the new kid in school, Stark. With Stevie Rae somewhat her normal self, she takes a back seat in this story but still plays a few big parts as a new type of vampire. The mythos developed in this story around the evil Neferet was engaging and very interesting. Neferet is here in all her evil glory; and man is she evil.
Zoey without boyfriends is awesome because Zoey is actually focused on the actual plot and this makes for a way more interesting book than the last one was. So, for everyone who hung on with the series despite the barely okay third book, you are rewarded in this book.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on September 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

A book to kill time... but not very interesting

As both a romance and supernatural book... it falls flat compared to others. I've read some really good romance/supernatural books but this one.. it seems like a unrealistic book. Although its told in Zoey's point of view of things the other characters dont seem to have...
As both a romance and supernatural book... it falls flat compared to others. I've read some really good romance/supernatural books but this one.. it seems like a unrealistic book. Although its told in Zoey's point of view of things the other characters dont seem to have any real personality. I enjoy reading about Aphrodite because she is the only character with some real spark to her. I dilike how Zoey's freinds basically are her servants. I was happy that her freinds actually showed a realistic reaction to Zoey leaving them out of the loop but its like besides them following her every whim, the twins always just make sexual comments and fight with Aphrodite, Jack and Damien are gay although Jack is far to shy and Damien's uses big words. It just seems like the book is following some unknown plot that can basically be discribed as "Nefert= bad and plotting"+ "something awful/epic is going to happen" Theses books, if editted correctly and having pointless parts cut and characters dropped spoiler alert for characters *cough cough STARK/LOREN/JACK (since his only real use is during ceremonies)* it could be a 5 star one or two volume book rather then a drawn out +5 volume book.
In short Zoey is a over-glamorized Mary Sue with a ludicrous love life, leading an unrealistic life, with overly obediant/ and frequently not included in whats going on in the story, freinds.

I would recommend not reading this book if you are a true vampire lover. If you want original books I suggest Anne Rice books, Kim Harrison, Rachel Caine's Morganville Vampire Series, Charlaine Harris or if your just looking for a book you'll never want to put down I suggest Lucas by Kevin.

posted by 535014 on May 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    ......

    This book took me FOREVER to get into. Thak gosh i getit from the library. I just finished it tonight after trying to read rhis dang book 6 times! What happened to the good romance that it had before Erik found her cheating with Blake??! IT was okay i guess. Its weird to have have a gay couple in there (not in an offensive way. I have no problems with same gender couples) there wasnt enough action in it. Zoey isntthe same anymore, why does she have to be in love wih 4 guys at the same time??! ( It was understandable with Jacob Edward and Bella) it wasnt right for Zoey,she absolutely loved Erik, butsheruined it by being with Blake. Thwn Heath i do understamd becsuse they were Imprinted with eachother. The omg what happened to sweet ol Neferet huh?? People would understand this if they read the book. She used to be SO nice. I dont want to say anything else...... but this series is going down hill.
    ?
    I still prefer Twilight way more than this (im reading all the books a secondtime! Im on Breaking Dawn!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Re to Amazing Read

    Wanna chat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Wow

    This series might be good, but Zoey is stupid... i'm not kidding

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Hmm...frustrating

    Ok... just started reading this book. If another "love" boy is thrown into the mix I might die of frustration. Whats wrong with Erik? Kind of over her booming love life. Butttt.....I really want to find out what happens. My curiosity is the only thing that keeps me turning the pages. I feel like I'm stuck in an 'okay' series. PLEASE GET BETTER AND STICK WITH ONE LOVE INTEREST.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    Great story poorly executed

    I am addicted to this series but l must warn you it is really repetative and written like the author thinks everyone who reads it is retatarded. You could skip entire books and not miss a thing because the author re-hashes every detail in EVERY SINGLE BOOK (so far it's 4/4 & I don't seethat changing any time soon). It is too bad because this series had so much potential but turned out to be more like a bad rip of Harry Potter but instead of wizards we get wiccan vampires. But I am trapped reading it because it really is a cool story...even if it IS really predictable, repetative, and obvious with the occasional actual twist thrown in - which seems to me at this point to the author stringing readers along through hundreds of pages of fluff. Bottom like: stop here and save yourself from this addictive but poorly written series. Unless you really, REALLY don't mind reading about Damiens gayness, Zoeys specialness (and boy craziness), the Twins similarity, or glowy tattoos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    amazing

    the book was very thrilling it kept me reading. I love this series of the House of Night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    exciting

    This being the 4th book in the series it's getting better and better... you can't wait to find out what is happening and what's next on the list of things to take place. This is a great book and I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Untamed Review

    Untamed was a great book. Like all the House of Night books, this one brought suspense, romance, and unforgettable memories. I enjoy The house of Night series a lot. I can reread them and still be into them. Although I did like it, Untamed was probably my least favorite one. I wanted more scenes between Eric and Zoey. I really enjoy them as a pair until Tempted. I wanted Eric to be in this book more because the connection between him and Zoey keeps you reading. I also love Aphrodite. She brings the humor into the story. Although she can be a brat, she always has something to say that I laugh at. I like how Zoey and her are starting to realize they need each other to get through what they are going through. Them being friends makes the book that much better. The character of Neferet really bugs me. I understand that she is the evil one in the book but I feel like slapping her. =] She gets on my nerves. Overall, the book was good to read. I never get sick of The HOuse of Night Series. Whenever I need a book to just pick up because I feel like it, this series is the first on I always go to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's no Twilight!

    Ok, so this series was suggested to me after reading Twilight. No comparison. Definitely for the younger crowd, and a little too out there for me. But hey, if you are looking for an easy, fluffy, darker vampire book, try it. You might like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book

    I loved this book. I can not wait for the next one. It is a very easy read. Untamed keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting to see what Zoey will do next. If you like the first 3 books this one will not dissapoint you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    book 4

    Im not the biggest fan of this series. People made it out to be way better than what it was. Dont get me wrong it wasnt bad but wasnt great either. Its pretty predictable. I still wanna read hunted when it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Gook story, bad language

    This is a good story line. I would have really liked these books except for their bad language and some other nastys that I would rather not mention. If you are not comfortable with these things like me then you should stay away from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9