Customer Reviews for

Untamed (MacKinnon's Rangers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Good series!

    Here is the thing about this series...usually the romance drives my interest, but in these books, I preferred to read about the action, historical details, and the relationship between the men. I got a little frustrated with how innocent and one dimensional the heroine was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Better

    Definitely an improvement over #1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Great read

    This book was amazing!! This series is a must read. I enjoyed the book so much that the only reason I puut it doown is I had to get some sleep. The book won't dissapoint. I actually felt I wwas transported to that time and was standing watching all that was going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome trilogy LOVED THEM ALL! wish they didnt end. Extremely unique plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    AMAZING

    AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THUD

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    After he's captured by the French and threatened with being burned alive by their Abanaki allies, Morgan MacKinnon becomes a spy within their camp, never realizing just how treacherous his conflicting loyalties will be when he falls in love with an innocent yet alluring mademoiselle.

    REVIEW:

    Ms. Clare just can’t seem to help herself! She produces amazing work – each and every time.

    This book is number 2 in the MacKinnon brother’s series and if you haven’t read book one, then getcha booty to the store and get it – quick!

    Morgan is such a doll in this book and with each page I read, he made my heart swoon. Amalie was such a strong and fierce heroine that had my love for her testing boundaries.

    I enjoyed watching these two overcome so many struggles and found while I had to go to work, I wanted to call out sick, just to FINISH IT!

    Ms. Clare has delivered such an amazing piece here and it’s one you will pick up time and time again.

    Five out of five stars for a job well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    A brilliant follow to SURRENDER. Just when you think there is no

    A brilliant follow to SURRENDER. Just when you think there is no possible way for Clare to up the ante, she does, and does it wonderfully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Highly recommend!

    Love this whole series. Pamela as usual write a phenomenal story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Another must read by Pamela Clare!

    Exciting second book in the MacKinnon's Rangers Series! You will not be able to put this book down as you fall in love with Morgan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love a Scottish man

    If you are a Pamela Clare fan then this is a must read. My all-time fave is still Ride the Fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I simply didn't want the story to end!

    Wow! What a wonderful, sweet and romantic story. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Untamed by Pamela Clare

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Dec08<BR/><BR/>Want to know a secret? My least favored romance genre is historic American. Why? I have no idea! I¿ve wondered about it time and again, but still haven¿t been able to figure it out¿they just don¿t `send¿ me. I say this as an explanation for why I was a bit worried about reviewing ¿Untamed¿, but with Pamela Clare as the author, I really should have known better than to be concerned. She managed to make even my least favorite genre exciting and interesting.<BR/><BR/>Amalie is a mixed blood child of a French father and half-blood Abenaki Indian mother. When she was just two her mother¿s died and her father sent her to a convent where she¿s spent the last 16 years. After only a few months with her father at the fort where he served in the French army, he was killed in battle. Now she¿s alone and under pressure to marry but none of the men have caught her eye¿until an injured enemy is brought under her care.<BR/><BR/>Morgan MacKinnon is a warrior forced to fight for the British or hang¿along with all his brothers. So they formed the MacKinnon Rangers and tales of their ferocity in battle have made them feared by their enemies. So when Morgan is injured and captured, he prefers to die rather than chance giving away any secrets that could cause harm to his brothers. Yet, it¿s his nurse with her innocent, yet hungry eyes that somehow has him refusing to give in or give up. Now he¿s caught between the woman he loves and the brothers he won¿t abandon.<BR/><BR/>What a man! What an enduring love. Pamela Clare can pen some of the hottest, non-erotica love scenes I¿ve read. And her characters seem to leap off the page and jump straight into my imagination where I have no problems seeing and recognizing them. Two characters stuck between two impossible choices yet willing to risk it all for love¿now that¿s a romance.<BR/><BR/>It would be easy to categorize this as a simple historical, but it¿s more than that. The author probes into the prejudices and preferences of the times, nationalities, and players involved to provide a peek into stormy time in American history. I also found it fascinating that although it¿s `American¿ history, the main players are French and Scottish! The action is rough and tumble, just like life in those times, and the social mores are reflected in the attitudes of all the players. The story progresses smoothly and draws the reader in until you realize it¿s almost over.<BR/><BR/>I¿m glad I read ¿Untamed¿ by Pamela Clare. This story just cements Clare as an author who apparently can write just about anything and I¿ll find it readable! This is the second book of a trilogy and I¿ll likely end up reading the other two books just to see what happens to the rest of the MacKinnon¿s. So if you like this genre¿don¿t miss this one. And if you¿re not a big fan of American historicals, this one may just prove the exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    GREAT BOOK!!!!

    My god I loved this book!! the characters were so believable and the setting was always right. The intensity between Morgan and Amalie nearly radiated off the book. The romance sceenes left me speechless and the love between them made me wish that love was always like theirs. This is a MUST read book and its great to give as a present for a friend. I hope that everyone else who reads it agrees that it was a masterpiece of lust and carnal emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    must reading for Colonial America romance fans.

    In 1757 Frenchwoman Amalie Chauvenet becomes an orphan due to a daring raid by the notorious British militia MacKinnon's Rangers near Fort Ticonderoga. However, the legendary Morgan MacKinnon is injured in the battle and captured by his enemy, the French and their Indian allies the Abenaki.<BR/><BR/>Amalie who loathes MacKinnon, sight unseen, is shocked when she is assigned to nurse him back to health especially since Brigadier de Bourlamaque plans to allow his Abenaki friends to torture Morgan. Even more stunning to the gentle Frenchwoman is he is far from the brutal berserker she expected; instead he is grateful for her care and remorseful for killing her kin. Morgan is attracted to Amalie, but pretends to switch allegiance from the English to the French. When Amalie realizes he lied, she wants nothing to do with him; instead she is married to him. Before they can figure out what to do next, Morgan and Amalie are on the run with the French, the English, the Indians and his two brothers in pursuit.<BR/><BR/>The second Mackinnon French and Indian war romance (see SURRENDER) is a great tale due to the interweaving of historical tidbits into the story line including the fact that some of the colonists already resented the English military almost two decades before the Revolution. The story line is action-paced but owned by the fleeing lead couple and the historical backdrop that makes this clearly must reading for Colonial America romance fans.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2