BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Untamed (MacKinnon's Rangers Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Good series!

    Here is the thing about this series...usually the romance drives my interest, but in these books, I preferred to read about the action, historical details, and the relationship between the men. I got a little frustrated with how innocent and one dimensional the heroine was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Better

    Definitely an improvement over #1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love a Scottish man

    If you are a Pamela Clare fan then this is a must read. My all-time fave is still Ride the Fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Untamed by Pamela Clare

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Dec08<BR/><BR/>Want to know a secret? My least favored romance genre is historic American. Why? I have no idea! I¿ve wondered about it time and again, but still haven¿t been able to figure it out¿they just don¿t `send¿ me. I say this as an explanation for why I was a bit worried about reviewing ¿Untamed¿, but with Pamela Clare as the author, I really should have known better than to be concerned. She managed to make even my least favorite genre exciting and interesting.<BR/><BR/>Amalie is a mixed blood child of a French father and half-blood Abenaki Indian mother. When she was just two her mother¿s died and her father sent her to a convent where she¿s spent the last 16 years. After only a few months with her father at the fort where he served in the French army, he was killed in battle. Now she¿s alone and under pressure to marry but none of the men have caught her eye¿until an injured enemy is brought under her care.<BR/><BR/>Morgan MacKinnon is a warrior forced to fight for the British or hang¿along with all his brothers. So they formed the MacKinnon Rangers and tales of their ferocity in battle have made them feared by their enemies. So when Morgan is injured and captured, he prefers to die rather than chance giving away any secrets that could cause harm to his brothers. Yet, it¿s his nurse with her innocent, yet hungry eyes that somehow has him refusing to give in or give up. Now he¿s caught between the woman he loves and the brothers he won¿t abandon.<BR/><BR/>What a man! What an enduring love. Pamela Clare can pen some of the hottest, non-erotica love scenes I¿ve read. And her characters seem to leap off the page and jump straight into my imagination where I have no problems seeing and recognizing them. Two characters stuck between two impossible choices yet willing to risk it all for love¿now that¿s a romance.<BR/><BR/>It would be easy to categorize this as a simple historical, but it¿s more than that. The author probes into the prejudices and preferences of the times, nationalities, and players involved to provide a peek into stormy time in American history. I also found it fascinating that although it¿s `American¿ history, the main players are French and Scottish! The action is rough and tumble, just like life in those times, and the social mores are reflected in the attitudes of all the players. The story progresses smoothly and draws the reader in until you realize it¿s almost over.<BR/><BR/>I¿m glad I read ¿Untamed¿ by Pamela Clare. This story just cements Clare as an author who apparently can write just about anything and I¿ll find it readable! This is the second book of a trilogy and I¿ll likely end up reading the other two books just to see what happens to the rest of the MacKinnon¿s. So if you like this genre¿don¿t miss this one. And if you¿re not a big fan of American historicals, this one may just prove the exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1