Customer Reviews for

The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Understand & Attain Enlightenment

THE UNTETHERED SOUL is truly exceptional for its ability to simultaneously explain the nature of enlightenment while also providing simple, practical tools for attaining that exalted state. It lives up to its subtitle: "The Journey Beyond Yourself" by demonstrating how ...
THE UNTETHERED SOUL is truly exceptional for its ability to simultaneously explain the nature of enlightenment while also providing simple, practical tools for attaining that exalted state. It lives up to its subtitle: "The Journey Beyond Yourself" by demonstrating how we are able to transcend worldly troubles by changing the way we view our lives. Just as we might notice that problems cannot be solved at the same level where they were created, there is great advantage in rising above the inner chatter and emotional storms to a peaceful, blissful state of mind we've all experienced... that can become our new core identity.

The big idea here is that by identifying ourselves as being observers who watch thoughts and feelings flowing through, we can keep our hearts open to love even (and especially) during times of crisis. This simple sounding concept of separating the part of us who thinks and feels and acts from the part of ourself who sees ourselves thinking and feeling and acting becomes extraordinarily liberating. The proof of the efficacy of this concept is immediately verifiable by readers willing to roll up their sleeves and start feeling the burn of releasing energies from the past, by taking this book as a workbook, and not merely an intellectual sourcebook.

At its core, THE UNTETHERED SOUL is a book about the energies of emotion. Readers are encouraged to recognize and appreciate the expansive experience of feeling love and joy, as well as the restrictive sensations we feel when guarding ourselves from potential pain or suffering. Just as a good athletic coach might guide us to start noting the difference between "good pain" and "bad pain" in order to achieve best athletic results, Singer teaches the value of recognizing the "good pain" that accompanies emotional release and the greatest resulting state of true spiritual happiness, joy and well-being.

Here is a book that has the power to completely transform your life to be free of stress, fear, and melodrama. This book is highly recommended for spiritual seekers everywhere, as well as those seeking emotional clarity in order to transcend the common human condition of pain of suffering. This is a book you will read and find yourself thinking about for years to come, hoping everyone else in your life will read it, too!

posted by CynthiaSueLarson on July 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Too repetitive and no negative

This is another one of those books that could have had it's point made in half the number of pages. It is painfully repetitive from page to page and chapter to chapter. The presentation of the material reads like one of those people who keeps repeating the same thin...
This is another one of those books that could have had it's point made in half the number of pages. It is painfully repetitive from page to page and chapter to chapter. The presentation of the material reads like one of those people who keeps repeating the same thing over and over just saying it in a different way. Some of the lines literally repeat. The wording sometimes feels like he's talking in circles and trying to write in a more sophisticated manner than he needs to and just doesn't come across as making sense. Some of the information I agree with however, most of it is just about the negative aspects in that he constantly describes scenarios of what is happening when you do or don't do something and never really gives any positive suggestion as to what to do about it or how. I was very disappointed overall in having spent money on the book.

posted by Stormylee on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Understand & Attain Enlightenment

    THE UNTETHERED SOUL is truly exceptional for its ability to simultaneously explain the nature of enlightenment while also providing simple, practical tools for attaining that exalted state. It lives up to its subtitle: "The Journey Beyond Yourself" by demonstrating how we are able to transcend worldly troubles by changing the way we view our lives. Just as we might notice that problems cannot be solved at the same level where they were created, there is great advantage in rising above the inner chatter and emotional storms to a peaceful, blissful state of mind we've all experienced... that can become our new core identity.

    The big idea here is that by identifying ourselves as being observers who watch thoughts and feelings flowing through, we can keep our hearts open to love even (and especially) during times of crisis. This simple sounding concept of separating the part of us who thinks and feels and acts from the part of ourself who sees ourselves thinking and feeling and acting becomes extraordinarily liberating. The proof of the efficacy of this concept is immediately verifiable by readers willing to roll up their sleeves and start feeling the burn of releasing energies from the past, by taking this book as a workbook, and not merely an intellectual sourcebook.

    At its core, THE UNTETHERED SOUL is a book about the energies of emotion. Readers are encouraged to recognize and appreciate the expansive experience of feeling love and joy, as well as the restrictive sensations we feel when guarding ourselves from potential pain or suffering. Just as a good athletic coach might guide us to start noting the difference between "good pain" and "bad pain" in order to achieve best athletic results, Singer teaches the value of recognizing the "good pain" that accompanies emotional release and the greatest resulting state of true spiritual happiness, joy and well-being.

    Here is a book that has the power to completely transform your life to be free of stress, fear, and melodrama. This book is highly recommended for spiritual seekers everywhere, as well as those seeking emotional clarity in order to transcend the common human condition of pain of suffering. This is a book you will read and find yourself thinking about for years to come, hoping everyone else in your life will read it, too!

    32 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    A Game Changer (in a very good way)

    Instead of reading this book.. you might find the book is reading you. It helps you realize that "mind chatter" is not as serious as one might have thought. This book will help bring you out of your head and into the wonderful experience of the beauty of life and all that it has to offer. Awesome!

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Probably the most helpful book I've ever read!

    The Untethered Soul not only embraces the concepts of letting go and living guilt free, but gives simple steps on how to achieve these concepts and others. This book has set me on a higher plain of existence. Thank you Michael A. Singer!!!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    Best book ever read

    This book is incredible. I have read it many times and will continue to throughout my life. I never thought my eyes and my heart could be so open. I have gone from a stressful, fearful, confused life to one that now is calm and loving and patient. I never thought I could ever be so free. I have learned so much about myself while reading this book. I suggest everyone read this book. It is truly amazing.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Clear your head!

    This book is wonderful for those of us who have "roommates" in our heads. You'll keep saying "OMG, that's me, I do that!" Love it!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    On my 3rd reading of this life changing book. It pulls together

    On my 3rd reading of this life changing book. It pulls together all that I've studied before in a truly magical way. So far my life has been rocketing forward since I implemented this method a few weeks ago. So grateful to Oprah for letting everyone know about this book and incredibly grateful to Michael Singer for changing the world with these writings!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Untethered Soul is the most unique and helpful book I have ever read on the experience of being human. Michael Singer writes with wisdom, humor, and deep but relaxed insight into what it takes to be truly free internally. I have been reading books for that purpose for many years, and am particularly drawn to this one. Singer describes consciousness with tremendous clarity and simplicity in a way that I have not seen before. He also shares very down-to-earth practices that truly do feel as though they nurture my soul. This book is a huge gift in my life. I highly recommend it.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended is the book we all should read.

    I loved it was a simple and clear way of cleaning up the path to seening ourself for the first time. I am buying a copy for each of my friends. The untethered Soul is now in the list of favorite books.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Peace of Mind

    We have heard that phrase "peace of mind" our entire lives, yet this book shows us how to truly have that peace. I found this book to be inspiring, insightful and give me a calm i don't think i had ever noticed before in myself. i highly recommend this book for everyone.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    A must read!

    This book is for anyone that wants to learn how to stop the mind chatter and finally tune into your own "being-ness". Easy read with many new ways of looking at life and self.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    A Must Read

    Singer has such a wonderful gift for explaining a complex subject(s) in an easy to understand way. If you are on a quest for a more peaceful, yet purposeful life, this is the book you must read. I love it so much I have it in both paper and ebook format so I'm never without it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Awesome

    This book helped to become a better person and change the negative thoughts in your mind

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    I have read a lot of books lately on this subject but when read

    I have read a lot of books lately on this subject but when read this one - it all became clear. I thought I was reading about me! At the end when the author says that you can choose to be happy I made a chose for the first time and it has been so easy to keep. It seemed like simple advice but so true. This book should be read by everyone!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Too repetitive and no negative

    This is another one of those books that could have had it's point made in half the number of pages. It is painfully repetitive from page to page and chapter to chapter. The presentation of the material reads like one of those people who keeps repeating the same thing over and over just saying it in a different way. Some of the lines literally repeat. The wording sometimes feels like he's talking in circles and trying to write in a more sophisticated manner than he needs to and just doesn't come across as making sense. Some of the information I agree with however, most of it is just about the negative aspects in that he constantly describes scenarios of what is happening when you do or don't do something and never really gives any positive suggestion as to what to do about it or how. I was very disappointed overall in having spent money on the book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    What a lovely and inspiring read. The first time I picked it up

    What a lovely and inspiring read. The first time I picked it up I was unable to get into it, but have now realized I simply was not ready for the wisdom about to be shared. The second time I picked it up, I barely put it down. When you find yourself lost on a spiritual journey to happiness and fulfillment, there are many books that may seem interesting, but become a jumbled mess when you begin reading. This book breaks it down in simple terms that allow you to fully comprehend each lesson that is illustrated. I have found so many of the stories and illustrations have stuck with me and I am able to share and explain with others. Definitely recommend. It will change the dream you are currently living in and allow you to feel the beauty constantly surrounding you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL!

    I highly recommend this book! It is a beautifully simple way to understand and apply very complex but necessary changes in our own self awareness. It is incredibly empowering!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    A friend gave me this book during a very trying time in my life.

    A friend gave me this book during a very trying time in my life. It changed me forever. I hope to repay my friend by spreading the word to others about this book. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Almost everything I wanted to learn in one book! Thank you Micha

    Almost everything I wanted to learn in one book!
    Thank you Michael Singer your work has been a blessing.
    DKS

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Love this book

    Life changing! And if you ever get a chance watch the Michael Singer Interview with Oparh on Super Soul Sunday. It is the reason I picked up this audio book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    I just finished this book. I enjoyed the book very much. Yes, th

    I just finished this book. I enjoyed the book very much. Yes, there is some repetitiveness, but not everyone reads and learns the same. I would recommend this book for anyone going through trying times. I am losing my job; book helped me readjust my focus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6