Customer Reviews for

The Unthinkable: Who Survives When Disaster Strikes - and Why

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2008

    Best Book I've Ever Read

    This book WILL save your life. It is by far the best and most intriguing book I have ever read. People believe they know how they would react in an emergency situation. HA! After this book, you will mentally practice what you will do in case of a disaster, and therefore, SAVE YOUR LIFE. Everyone on the planet should read this book. It's fantastic. I just bought a second copy to mail to my brother.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Unthinkable

    It truly is a must read for everyone, so that people can understand and practice what they would do if disaster happens to them. It explains various responses to disaster situations, and why they occur. It explained my own behavior in certain stressful times, that I couldn't understand at the time they happened. It is very timely, including 911 and the Virginia Tech massacre as examples. PLEASE READ!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Great book for anyone in the Disaster Biz...

    As a professional disaster planner, I found this to be a great book. It includes first hand accounts of actions taken during emergencies, then explains how and why those actions have come about through our evolution. She talks with responders, psychologists, neurologists and every day folks and makes it all readable and interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    good read

    This is the better of the psychology survival books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    Unthinkable is Unthinkable

    Worth your time reading this fantastic book..............you will not be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Would like to buy a copy for everyone I love

    I would love to make this required reading before you can graduate from high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Well-researched and mandatory reading for anyone who has been in a potentially dangerous crisis situation (fires, plane crashes, panicked crowds, etc.) and for anyone who wants to know how to stay alive during one.

    I heard Amanda Ripley on NPR and, having evacuated from a building as a child during a fire in which five people died and, of course, watching the horror of people jumping off the WTC on 9/11, I was motivated to get the book.

    Ripley covers both WTC bombings from the point of view of an employee who survived both; a terrible fire in a private club in a young waiter saved many people, but in which many people died; a pilgrimage to the Hajj, which has several times been the scene of crowd-related deaths; and a plane which crashed into the Potomac River. She weaves these personal stories around past conventional thinking about crowd control and new research about how people actually behave, with clear instructions on how to change that behavior to stay alive. Case in point: More often than not, when people are aware that a fire has broken out, rather than immediately evacuate, they linger to pick up personal items, thinking they have some time, when in fact, seconds count. This seems obvious, but in a crisis, we tend to react the opposite way we should.

    In the case of the Hajj pilgrimages, the stampedes were finally averted by better time and crowd management, but for the longest time, those in charge wrote off the deaths as "God's will" in spite of one man (a non-Muslim) who studied the Hajj crowd issue and repeatedly brought solutions to their attention.

    Even for those haven't been in similar situations, it's worth reading, just to have the information stored in the back of the brain, because you may need that info in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Unthinkable

    A double purpose book. I bought 3 more copies to give to my adult children. Useful advice not only for possible disaster scenarios but
    also a clearer understanding of how the human brain works and how to
    short circuit possible dangerous "freezing" or denial time and shorten your reaction time. Applicable to better and more effective decision making in daily life also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    bedside book

    Its a great interesting topic, fun and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Insightful Research Combined with Impactful Human Stories

    Ripley has taken the tragic human stories of recent disasters out of the headline news and put them into a framework that combines detailed research with useful strategies for survival. I found it impactful on both a business as well as a day to day living basis. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2