Customer Reviews for

Until I Die

Average Rating 4.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Last year I was greatly surprised by Die For Me (Revenants #1).


Last year I was greatly surprised by Die For Me (Revenants #1). The story was so original and well written, and the characters were so real and lovable that I immediately placed the book among my favorite releases of the year. This time, Until I Die (Revenants #2) abso...

Last year I was greatly surprised by Die For Me (Revenants #1). The story was so original and well written, and the characters were so real and lovable that I immediately placed the book among my favorite releases of the year. This time, Until I Die (Revenants #2) absolutely blew my mind, and also, it smashed my soul to a million pieces (Oh my God! what an ending!).

The story picks-up soon after the ending of Die For Me. Kate and Vincent are a lovely couple, but of course they have this big problem going on due to Vincent's compulsion to die for humans. This obviously complicates Kate and Vincent's relationship. So, Vincent starts an experiment that will help him to avoid his desire to die, but unfortunately this experiment also has its risks (which I wont give away). In the other hand, Kate researches another way to help Vincent to fight his revenant nature and help him to stay alive long enough until... until the day Kate grows old and dies.

The second installment of this invigorating paranormal romance absolutely stole my heart. If I loved Revenants before, now I love them even more! Amy Plum's marvelous story telling kept me turning pages with no stop. I love how mature and realistic Kate's character is. Specially the way she handles her presence into the paranormal world she is now part of. In addition, Vincent is as captivating as always yet, he is not the typical and perfect fictional knight in shining armor. Vincent, regardless being a supernatural being himself, feels really human and real to the reader. That is what makes Vincent so alluring. He is believable.

I love so many things about Until I Die and I could talk about the plot, the fascinating Parisian setting, the well developed characters and the enthralling Revenant concept forever. Yet, I obviously prefer you to experience this spellbinding love story by yourself. I 100% recommend it!

With a heart-wrenching ending that yet sparks with hope, Until I Die will make you feel hundreds of emotions at the same time. Amy Plum has definitely played one of her greatest cards and I cannot wait to know how she will conclude this enthralling story (and one of my favorites!) in If I Should Die, the third and last book of this fabulous trilogy. Here I have another long torture to bear until If I Should Die hits the shelves.

posted by 14740536 on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unhappy with the ending

Couldnt wait to read the second book but found the ending unsettling.....

posted by 4879169 on May 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    I trully enjoyed this book! I especially liked the fact that the

    I trully enjoyed this book! I especially liked the fact that the characters were believable, not whiney like a lot of young adult books can be. The characters were mature, but not too mature that you wouldn"t believe their age. I so look forward to the final book of this trilogy! I can't believe I have to wait a year for it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Until I Die picked up the story a month after Die For Me ends. L

    Until I Die picked up the story a month after Die For Me ends. Luckily, I'd read book 1 recently so I was ready to continue the tale. There were some great side characters in this series. Again, I loved Kate's sister Georgia. She was so fun and spunky, always good for a laugh. Ambrose and Charlotte are great friends to have around, and Jules was great again. I'm interested to see where his feelings for Kate will lead since he is completely loyal to his friend Vincent.

    This 2nd book in the series was a bit slower than book 1 for me, not really in a bad way. The romance was already established so all the intensity of finding love wasn't really there since it was found already. I liked how mature Kate and Vincent were in their relationship. They do a good job talking through their feelings which made for a healthy relationship that I think will last.

    I have to say that I didn't like how intimate their relationship was getting. They're not married, end of story. My personal belief is a man and woman should be married before they are sexually intimate so I don't enjoy reading books where the main characters are too sexually intimate before marriage. They didn't have sex, but I was thinking they would. These scenes weren't often though.

    I loved the ending of this book! I know many of you might not agree, but it was just so exciting. I have high hopes for the way things will turn out. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Content Ratings:
    Sexual: not constantly throughout the book, but when there's a scene it's moderate/heavy
    Language: moderate
    Violence: mild/moderate

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2015

    this 2nd book answered a lot of questions about the revenants. i

    this 2nd book answered a lot of questions about the revenants. i must say that I did fell in love with Jules in this book which is a good sign since I tend to always be loyal to the lead guy. it proves how awesome Ms. Amy Plum is. i love it <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was every bit as great as the last one. It's a world t

    This book was every bit as great as the last one. It's a world that completely draws me in. There were moments where the plot was a tad slow, but then there were other moments that more than made up for it. This is a fiction that I would love to be real!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    I really loved the first book in the series and was eager to rea

    I really loved the first book in the series and was eager to read the second. I wasn't dissappointed. It's just as amazing as the first one. The cliffhanger is heartbreaking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    I very much liked Until I Die. Unfortunately, like with most ser

    I very much liked Until I Die. Unfortunately, like with most series, the follow-up cannot be measured with the original, but I nevertheless enjoyed the continuation of Vincent and Kate's storylines.
    I will definitely remember it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book more (if that's possible) than the first one.

    I love this book more (if that's possible) than the first one. The only real thing I can say without word vomit or giving away the plot is: "I cried." Deep from the soul this can't be happening tears. These characters are awesomely engrossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    At the beginning I thought "not another Twilight story"

    At the beginning I thought "not another Twilight story", then, after reading the first chapters I knew I was wrong to jump to that conclusion. Die for Me’s concept is original.The setting of Die for Me was something I really loved about this novel. Reading a paranormal book (yes, I love this genre) that is not set in a typical location like the US is extremely refreshing. Although Paris is a familiar city, it's not a place most people have the chance to actually experience. A few years ago, I went on a trip to Paris with my best friend and it's lovely to go on another  one.... on a virtual trip while reading these books. Kate is not the typical damsel in distress., so extra points for  this plot. I, myself, am an aspiring writer and my stories are also based on the paranormal folklore like reincarnation and of course, true love. I thought this book was very unique. Amy Plum took the idea of zombies and created her own twist on the mythology. I 'm currently reading Until I die and I really like the different relationships between lovers, family and friends. This book is not about finding your soul mate, but also, about friendship and moving forward. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    amazing book.. I want more!!!

    amazing book.. I want more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Second book in the series and it doesn't disappoint. We get more

    Second book in the series and it doesn't disappoint. We get more character development, additional characters, more history and of course action. This book perfectly sets up the drama for the third in the series but as a stand alone novel is equal to the first. There some sneaky little twists and turns and even though you think you see them all coming, you will be surprised. The depth of the characters is really what makes the book stand out compared to other YA novels. There is an obvious maturity and wisdom in the characters and yet you continue to see them grow and learn. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    I really enjoyed Until I Die, and though it was a very good midd

    I really enjoyed Until I Die, and though it was a very good middle book. I usually find middle books to be slightly disappointing as you there are less suprises. That said this book did not disappoint. A thouroghly good read by an incredible author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Comparing Die For Me series to Twilight doesn't do the series ju

    Comparing Die For Me series to Twilight doesn't do the series justice.
    DFM is so much better. The stage was set in DFM, now in the second installment you will be blown away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Sequels are so much harder than the first book or the last book.

    Sequels are so much harder than the first book or the last book. The middle can get muddled between an author's usually definite beginning and definite end, but I think Plum did a good job getting us through it. I like that Kate and Jules had some more time together, which makes me think there's an actual grounds for the whole love triangle thing. It's not needed, but I do like Jules so more power to him. The ending was compltely brutal, especially as I was in the midst of a celebration for knowing all along who the traitor was. Well played, Amy Plum. Well played.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Great book...definitely check out this series!

    As the second book in the series, Until I Die, picked right up from where book 1, Die for Me, left off. Suspense, romance, intrigue and a deepening plot not to mention a shocking twist at the end! Can't wait til May for book 3! Gotta know what happens next! Definitely check out this series if you haven't yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    This book was just as good as the first one with wonderful twist

    This book was just as good as the first one with wonderful twists. I'm dying (not literally) for the next book to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Until I Die was a million times better than Die For Me, and I re

    Until I Die was a million times better than Die For Me, and I really liked Die For Me. Amy Plum somehow managed to make Vincent and Kate’s story even better than it already was. However, I will warn you now, the ending will rip out your soul, tear your heart in two, and leave you dying for the final installment in the series. My one complaint; is that I knew who the bad guy was immediately, even if the rest of the characters didn’t.

    Until I Die provides the reader with a lot of insight into the Revenants history. The reader will learn exactly why they behave the way they do. The reader learns that they don’t save people simply because they are noble, but that there are benefits attached.

    This book really brings to light the immortal/mortal issue that Vincent and Kate are facing in their relationship. It finally dawns on them, that in the end Kate will die and Vincent will be left alone. It is also becoming more and more difficult for Vincent to resist his urge to die in the place of others. This leads both Kate and Vincent to do some secretive and dangerous things in order to help Vincent move past this. These secretive and dangerous things are pretty much the driving force of the novel. The results of these actions prove that Kate and Vincent work much better as a team and should not keep secrets from one another. All of the events could have been avoided had they confided in one another.

    Vincent and Kate are still an incredibly sweet couple and their relationship is very mature. The author does not dwell on lust filled moments between the two to show their love, but rather in simply their conversations, actions, and the things they do for one another. This makes their relationship much deeper and even more romantic.

    The character in this book that stood out the most (aside from Vincent and Kate) was Ambrose. I just found him to be incredibly sweet and he was the perfect “big brother” to Kate. Charlotte was sorely missed in this novel and I really hope she returns in the next book.

    Speaking of the next book, here is where I rant about the terrible cliffhanger ending and how I have a theory for the next book (If you are interested in that theory, click here, but only if you have read Until I Die). The cliffhanger really is terrible, but in a good way. The author mixes tons of despair, with just a little bit of hope.

    Overall, Until I Die is fabulous. The setting and love story is simply beautiful and I am impatiently awaiting the final installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    I added "Die for Me" to my to read list because it had

    I added "Die for Me" to my to read list because it had an amazingly cute cover and the description sounded good as well, it turned out to be very well written and the characters were very well developed, I was positively surprised and happy.

    Reading "Until I die" was different, I personally enjoyed the second part of the book twice as much as I loved the first part. It just felt more intense and emotional for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    okay

    there were a few things in this book I didn't like but for the most part I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Official book rating: 3.65 stars Overall, this book was a good

    Official book rating: 3.65 stars

    Overall, this book was a good read for me, but there were many things that made this book less enjoyable for me. (Beware of spoilers)

    What could be fixed:
    The slow beginning could and should be fixed. Usually it takes me very little time to read a book, but this book took me maybe 5 days to read. Believe me, that's a long time. The villain was figured out for me right when (s)he was introduced. What ticked me off the most was that no one noticed. NO ONE. If they stood up in front of all the revenants in a revenant meeting and yelled, "Hey! I'm the cause for all of the troubles!" Everyone but one or two people would be skeptical about that. (After re-reading that last sentence, wouldn't that make her a good villain?)Honestly, Kate was really stupid in Die For Me, but in Until I Die, that level of stupidity went down... sometimes. Maybe it's because I've read so many YA books everything is predictable now and all the heroines sound the same, maybe I'm just a psychic and am really picky, but this is all my honest opinion.

    What was good:
    After the real plot started going, I really liked the book. The characters were easy to relate to and the ending where(SPOILER)that one person died knocked my socks off. The cliffhanger was great too, but I feel as if the ending was incomplete, if that makes any sense. I swear, if Vincent dies once (like actually die, not that volant thing), I'm so on team Jules for good, even if he is brought back to life. THE DEAD SHOULD STAY DEAD... UNLESS THEY'RE A REVENANT AND THEY GO THROUGH THAT REVENANT 'PROBLEM' ONCE A MONTH. (That sounds suspiciously like something that women go through...) Wait, it was once a month wasn't it?

    I do recommend this book, but if you dislike slow beginnings, stupid heroines and a shocking cliffhanger, this book is not for you.

    -Stephanie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Amy Plum's first novel, Die for Me, swept me away to the streets

    Amy Plum's first novel, Die for Me, swept me away to the streets of Paris for beautiful romance, and Until I Die did exactly the same thing. After anticipating this book for a year, it was wonderful to be back in the City of Love with Kate, Vincent, and the other revenants.

    Kate and Vincent have already faced obstacles to being together, but it seems that the trials aren't over. As a revenant, Vincent has the urge to die to save others, but Kate cannot bear the thought of watching him die repeatedly. Because of this, both Kate and Vincent are searching for ways that they can be together without Vincent denying his nature or Kate reliving her nightmares. Yet even while they are on this quest, they still face threats from numa. Suddenly it seems that the revenants may be in more trouble than they ever imagined. With guidance from two new revenants, Kate must work quickly if she will have any hope of helping the revenants she now calls family.

    My favorite things from Die for Me were the romance and the setting, and I loved both of these in this book as well. Everything about Paris was once again incredibly vivid, bringing the city to life, and Vincent was as swoon-worthy as before. I also loved all of the art, cinema, and history references sprinkled throughout the book. Aside from the culture, however, there was a fast pace with constant action, not to mention the characters we already know and love. Jules and Ambrose were just as funny and good-hearted as always, and we learn more about John Baptiste and Gaspard. In addition, there are two new revenants introduced here, Violette and Arthur. Violette became a good friend to Kate, and it was nice to see Kate have someone other than her sister to confide in. Until I Die has even more mystery and intrigue than the previous book, and it made for a very compelling story - during the last 100 pages especially it was impossible to put the book down.

    As for Vincent and Kate's relationship, I appreciated that it wasn't all sunshine and roses. Even though there was no love triangle introduced (thank goodness!), they still had troubles and issues to work through. And after everything that happened in this book - especially the ending - I cannot wait to see what happens in the final installment of the trilogy.

    Once again Amy Plum has crafted a dazzling tale complete with everything you could want in a paranormal romance book. I will be impatiently awaiting the third book, If I Should Die!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2