Customer Reviews for

Until I Say Good-Bye: My Year of Living with Joy

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

what an inspiration susan was to me. i am honored to have read

what an inspiration susan was to me. i am honored to have read her story and we never look at my own disability the same ay again. such a beautiful lady with a remarkable joy and zest for life. may her family be blessed.

posted by katefmVA on March 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I wanted to love it...

Tragic story, admirable intent that didn't translate very impressively to the page. Not a terribly compelling read. Not great storytelling, or even dramatic events. Other than the tragedy of a life struck down so early, it isn't remarkable enough to invest the time i...
Tragic story, admirable intent that didn't translate very impressively to the page. Not a terribly compelling read. Not great storytelling, or even dramatic events. Other than the tragedy of a life struck down so early, it isn't remarkable enough to invest the time in. I wasn't engaged enough in the family, friends or people to even continue. I wish them all well, but have so many other books to read. I didn't even finish it.

posted by kath8899 on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    what an inspiration susan was to me. i am honored to have read

    what an inspiration susan was to me. i am honored to have read her story and we never look at my own disability
    the same ay again. such a beautiful lady with a remarkable joy and zest for life. may her family be blessed.


    24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    This book is a love letter to her friends and family a garden of

    This book is a love letter to her friends and family a garden of memories .it will show you how one amazing woman did what all us mothers only wished we could do it we  knew we'd be leaving our children sooner than planned .read the book I promise it will enrich your life .you will laugh you will cry but most of all you WILL NOT put it down til you are done  !! 

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Make room on your shelf of favorites

    Diagnosed with Lou Gehrig's disease in June 2011, Susan Spencer-Wendel had every excuse in the world to fold, but instead she reached for her ace in the hole and had the courage to play it. A veteran journalist from the Palm Beach Post, Spencer-Wendel believed in her own talent as a writer and storyteller, and with it she realized the extraordinary potential in the cards she had been dealt. The result is Until I Say Good-Bye, a memoir that entertains, provokes thought, and makes you thankful for each breath you draw. If you are expecting a tearjerker chick book, your expectations will be blown to smithereens. This is a book for everyone who thinks life is worth contemplating and enjoying, everyone who likes to laugh, and everyone who loves gorgeous writing. Make room on your shelf of favorites.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Extremely well written I could not put it down

    For anyone who has ALS or knows someone who has ALS this is a truly remarkable journey of a well known journalist who has ALS and the way she deals with this horrific disease. My husband has ALS and this book was very inspiring. I give it 5 stars.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    I wanted to love it...

    Tragic story, admirable intent that didn't translate very impressively to the page. Not a terribly compelling read. Not great storytelling, or even dramatic events. Other than the tragedy of a life struck down so early, it isn't remarkable enough to invest the time in. I wasn't engaged enough in the family, friends or people to even continue. I wish them all well, but have so many other books to read. I didn't even finish it.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Such courage

    I can't wait to read this book. I watched my grandma who i was extremely close to suffer from this disease. It amazes me the strength the author had to write this story with just her thumb working all written on her iphone. She done more with her thumb than most people do with their whole body. Very inspiring

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    A book you won't be able to put down

    I read about this book in Guidepost Magazine and watched the video. This is one of the bravest woman and her family as she experiences her Bucket list after the diagnosis of ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease) I plan to purchase copies for several friends. It isn't sad, but truly a heroic adventure.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    I was very interested in learning more about Susan's story as my

    I was very interested in learning more about Susan's story as my Mother in law was recently diagnosed with ALS.  I found myself relating to many of her daily struggles and concerns.  This book is inspiring! Her attitude and outlook on life positive, even though her outcome certain.  This book will make you appreciate your good health- remind you that tomorrow is not promised and hopefully change your attitude on life.  Best wishes to Susan and her family!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A heartbreaking yet heart warming story. A great read! Truly ins

    A heartbreaking yet heart warming story. A great read! Truly inspirational.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I haven't read the book yet, but my five stars are to offset the

    I haven't read the book yet, but my five stars are to offset the one star from the lovesick puppy who used this area as a personal chatroom. I reported the post and hope you will too.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Everyone Should Read This Book~!!!

    Absolutely one of the BEST books I have ever read in my 60 years! It is sad, certainly, but moreso, uplifting & inspirational! Living with a chroinic disease, nothing like the author's, has made me depressed at times. No pill or therapist is better than this book; it should be required reading for doctors, therapists, all with chronic illness. I have a different outlook on my life and shall read this one again! I bought the hardcover for a friend who is not into e-books & sent it to her; I wish I could give a copy to every person I know so their lives would be viewed differently. Ms. Spencer-Wendel & her family are in my preayers now, for peace & comfort. I loved this book!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This is a great book. Susan Spencer-Wendell writes in a way that does not make you feel sad as you read it. Excellent read on ALS.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Special story, special book, special woman

    Spencer-Wendel, when faced with a difficult and terminal illness, took her life to new heights with great spirit.

    She shares her story with honesty, humor, and great generosity.

    I could not put it down and remained so touched by her and her stories ever since.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Great book

    Really enjoyed reading this book and could not put it down as I really got into it. What an inspiring story!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    One of the best books I have read in a long time. Thank you Sus

    One of the best books I have read in a long time. Thank you Susan for sharing your intimate story with the world. How blessed your family is to have this piece of you always. This book will help many in their own life struggles. My own Mother has Parkinson's and this book has helped me understand a little more her thoughts and fears.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    .

    Serendipity

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    I would not recommend this book

    I did not enjoy this book. I felt that Susan was bossy and rude to her friends and family. My whole book club was very excited to read this book and no one in my book club really enjoyed the book. The person that was most excited about reading the book could not even finish the book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    I am a mom - i just survived cancer......

    I couldn't go on reading this...... I'm. Not as strong as I thought. The very idea of taking my 14 year old , Sami,wedding dress shopping because i KNEW I would not be there for her wedding broke my heart. This is the first book I have EVER started that I walked away from unfinished. I. Sure its about strength and the human condition. Probably very good..... maybe even life changing..... but I couldn't finish.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Don't judge a book by its cover!

    The title sounds good but i dont know if i should get it!

    3 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Until I say goodby

    Wonderful story! A non-fictional acount of a womans fight with ALS . Her year of givng to her family and to herself. I did not want to put it down! Anyone who is going through, or, caring for someone with this disease should read this book. Ii

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5