Customer Reviews for

Until My Soul Gets It Right (The Bibliophiles: Book Two)

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Until My Soul Gets It Right, has gotten it right! The story tak

    Until My Soul Gets It Right, has gotten it right! The story takes you back to Catherine Elbert’s childhood and upward into her contemporary life, exposing her weaknesses and dreams, causing you to bond with her imperfect soul and root for her complete and utter happiness. Karen Wojcik Berner’s writing flowed beautifully, creating wonderful scenes for the reader. I enjoyed the book from beginning to end and look forward to Karen’s next offering. Well done!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the first book of The Bibliophiles series, A Whisper to

    I loved the first book of The Bibliophiles series, A Whisper to a Scream. I knew the remaining books in the series would each focus on specific members of the book club introduced in the first book, and wondered how that would work. Would the stories be chronological, happening at the same time (which seemed like it would present problems), or something else. It turned out to be something else, at least in the case of Until My Soul Gets It Right.

    If you’ve read the first book, you’ll remember Catherine as the “actress” who, if you reacted to her the same as I did, might have been a bit of an enigma, and who possibly rubbed you the wrong way at times. This book goes back to Catherine’s childhood, and brings her story forward to the present. It changed my opinion of Catherine for the better. It’s a story that anyone should be able to relate who has wanted to escape where they grew up, for whatever reason. Berner has a talent with prose that flows smoothly and puts the reader right where they belong, inside the character’s head. Until My Soul Gets It Right is another winner.

    **Originally written for "Books and Pals" book blog. May have received a free review copy. **

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Until My Soul Gets It Right by Karen Wojcik Berner is the second

    Until My Soul Gets It Right by Karen Wojcik Berner is the second book in the Bibliophiles series which follows the lives of different characters that are part of a suburban Illinois’ book club. In this interesting and engaging story, Karen created an incredibly fascinating character who was briefly introduced in A Whisper to a Scream.

    Catherine Elbert is a member of the Classics Book Club. She grows up on a farm in the Midwest in Wisconsin. Catherine’s life has been one hell of a ride as her brothers picked on her while her mother blames her for every wrong. All she wanted was a way out. When she watched a travel show about Maine, she decided it was the place for her and fled to Portland, Maine and later on moved to San Diego when she into trouble.

    Though part of a series, Until My Soul Gets It Right by Karen Wojcik Berner can be read as a standalone though Catherine was introduced in the earlier book. This will appeal to readers who are not familiar with the series. Karen painstakingly developed her character by capturing every aspect of her life delving deep into her past which makes it clear to the readers why she has problem fitting into her situation. But her dreams and focus take a beating as she learns her lesson.

    Until My Soul Gets It Right is a story that will delight many readers. It is a compelling story that will force readers to look deep inside and search their hearts. If you loved A Whisper to a Scream, this one is not to be missed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Catherine Elbert, dissatisfied with her small Wisconsin farming

    Catherine Elbert, dissatisfied with her small Wisconsin farming town, her family, and her circumscribed life there, leaves after high school for Portland, Maine, to spread her wings and find independence. Her mistakes and deceptions along the way, from Maine to San Diego and back to the Midwest, and her attitudes make her a main character that one may find hard to always like.




    Is this a personality, interesting though she may be, that readers will dislike? Or is she heading in a direction of self-realization? The title of the book may give a hint. A character driven novel, the second in the Bibliophile series, would be excellent for book club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings The second in t

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    The second in the Bibliophile series, this book centers on Catherine from the book club, but the book starts way back in her childhood. The reader meets Catherine as a child and the book follows her story as she moves around trying to find her real self. Catherine had quite the negative childhood and quite the adventures as an adult; it was a ton of fun to follow her on her journey. It almost made me want to uproot and move!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just as Compelling as A Whisper to a Scream

    Until My Soul Gets It Right is just as compelling as the first novel of the Bibliophiles series, A Whisper to a Scream! Karen Wojcik focuses on Catherine Elbert this time around and chronicles the different stages of her life before she joins the Classics Book Club, and after as well. The style of this novel was slightly different as it opened almost immediately in Catherine past. This method of telling her story worked for this character, but it gave Until My Soul Gets It Right a disjointed feel in relation to the series as a whole. I appreciated reading the catalysts behind many of Cat's decisions, but I would've wanted to see more of her life after joining the Classics Book Club, which only came significantly into play during the last several chapters.

    Berner's characters from the first novel, Annie and Sarah, had relatable stories, but Catherine's is one that could catch the attention of a wider audience. After a bittersweet parting from her hometown at a young age, Catherine loses sight of her wants. She has a general idea of how she wants her life to play out, but her travels change her and she struggles to fit in whatever new life she makes. The outcome of Catherine's story is a big difference from that of Annie and Sarah's, and I really appreciate how Berner doesn't allow her stories to follow the exact same pattern. This excellent addition to the series will endear readers to the Bibliophiles indefinitely!

    Originally posted on Lovey Dovey Books
    *Copy provided in exchange for an honest review and blog tour purposes*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1