Customer Reviews for

Until Proven Guilty (J. P. Beaumont Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 921 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(253)

4 Star

(331)

3 Star

(214)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Must Read!

This is the first Beaumont story and a great one at that! I have read all the Beaumont and Brady stories and Jance has created great characters and stories in books that can be read over and over again. I love this book because it's the story of Beaumont and Anne Corl...
This is the first Beaumont story and a great one at that! I have read all the Beaumont and Brady stories and Jance has created great characters and stories in books that can be read over and over again. I love this book because it's the story of Beaumont and Anne Corley. She remains a presence through all the Beaumont stories, so this book is a must read to really understand the back story that persists through the series. This book originally came out in the mid-80s, so I also loved the crime solving using the technology that existed back then. Reading the story now, it really makes you see how far technology has come. Overall, great read and one anyone should try!

posted by Avid_ReaderLL on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Must read to continue series.

This book was well written but wasn't as suspenseful as I thought it would have been. I do have to commend J.A. Jance on the plot, I was not expecting that twist. If you want to read the whole series for J.P. Beaumont you must start with this book since it is his debut....
This book was well written but wasn't as suspenseful as I thought it would have been. I do have to commend J.A. Jance on the plot, I was not expecting that twist. If you want to read the whole series for J.P. Beaumont you must start with this book since it is his debut.

posted by JSAP on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Guilty

    ...of buying a really bad book!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    The worst mystery novel I've ever actually finished. The improb

    The worst mystery novel I've ever actually finished. The improbability of the guilty party (considering some "fruit of the poison tree" evidence that, while it wasn't admissible in court *was known to the main character*) completely fails to make any sense at all. I won't bother with any further books from this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Unbelievable - time wasted

    I tried to read this story, but couldn't finish it. The story was so shallow. Part of the storyline was detectives interviewing family members of a murdered girl. The interviews take place at the girl's home. The main character, a detective, interviews a little boy. They are alone, sitting together on a bed in one of the bedrooms. There is NO WAY that a detective would put himself in this type of situation!

    This was the final straw for me in trying to read such a poorly written narrative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    I do enjoy this author but am i the only one that thinks 8.99 is a bit much for ebooks that are 200 pages or less?

    Too much money for a short story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Plot left a sour taste...

    Not to give the plot away, but I would have thought the main character being a detective would have had more intelligence. Let's just say he was all to quick to be satisfied with flimsy answers to his questions and only saw what he wanted to see. A detective worth their salt questions people's motives and goes where the evidence leads him. One good thing was that the writing style of this author was great and moved along at a good pace. It's too bad the plot was lacking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Filthy Language,etc.

    As most dirty books this starts out clean but the language and sexual discriptions get continually worse. If you want a clean read this isn't it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    disappointing

    The story line was good but poorly executed. The characters were shallow and the writing elementary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    worst book ever

    terrible character development, stupid plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Sooo bad!

    Can't believe I finished it. So predictable and dialog lacked depth. Romance plot so unbelievable. Very cheesy. Only good thing was the character Peters. Won't be reading this author again,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Very juvenile

    When I purchased this book, I was not expecting it to be such light reading. Not only is it very short, the page count is deceiving because there id double spacing between paragraphs--and there are a heck of a lot of paragraphs, many of them only a single line long. Given that the author has chosen to include a lot of "background" that adds nothing to the story, I would put the true page coubt of this book at about 80, which makes its purchase price way too high. This book reads like a very good effort by a high school student, or it was written by an adult for a young teen audience. Neither the story line nor the characters are believable. All in all, this book was boring and the double spacing distracting on my e-reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    Alex

    You

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Judr

    Crack in the middle, you already know the who don it,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3