Customer Reviews for

Until Proven Guilty (J. P. Beaumont Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 921 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(254)

4 Star

(330)

3 Star

(214)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Must Read!

This is the first Beaumont story and a great one at that! I have read all the Beaumont and Brady stories and Jance has created great characters and stories in books that can be read over and over again. I love this book because it's the story of Beaumont and Anne Corl...
This is the first Beaumont story and a great one at that! I have read all the Beaumont and Brady stories and Jance has created great characters and stories in books that can be read over and over again. I love this book because it's the story of Beaumont and Anne Corley. She remains a presence through all the Beaumont stories, so this book is a must read to really understand the back story that persists through the series. This book originally came out in the mid-80s, so I also loved the crime solving using the technology that existed back then. Reading the story now, it really makes you see how far technology has come. Overall, great read and one anyone should try!

posted by Avid_ReaderLL on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Must read to continue series.

This book was well written but wasn't as suspenseful as I thought it would have been. I do have to commend J.A. Jance on the plot, I was not expecting that twist. If you want to read the whole series for J.P. Beaumont you must start with this book since it is his debut....
This book was well written but wasn't as suspenseful as I thought it would have been. I do have to commend J.A. Jance on the plot, I was not expecting that twist. If you want to read the whole series for J.P. Beaumont you must start with this book since it is his debut.

posted by JSAP on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Great Book

    I just got done reading this book and it was another I just could not put down.If you are into those cnt put a book down readers then this is the book for you.It is a suspense -romance-fiction all in one and I am most definatly going to check out other books by this GREAT author.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    This is the first book I have read by this author. I had several preconceived notions based on the plot description, but was pleasantly surprised to find the none of them were correct. The plot moved fairly quickly with reasonable character development. I will likely read more by this author, both in this series and others.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good book

    this book was full of surprising twist and turns

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Recommend

    It was really good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Pretty good

    I think that the plot is interesting and a little hard to follow but overall a really good murder mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Decent story line. Each plot came together and made sense. Enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Suspenseful!

    This was a fast read with enough twists to keep you guessing until the very end. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys detective dramas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Good easy read

    This was a quick easy read. Grabbed my attention from the first page & kept me hooked - before I knew it I was done with it & wanting more'
    It usually takes me a week or two to finish a book & I read this in less than two days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Quick read!

    Not my typical novel... But an interesting, twisting story... I would consider this a good "beach novel". I would continue the series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Great Book!

    I love finding new authors who know how to tell a good story, and this is one of those authors. I look forward to reading more books in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Azwoman

    Exciting to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good, quick read

    Breezy, enjoyable page-turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Very Good

    This book kept my interest from the very first page when the murder is discovered. Fast paced and does not drag at all. I had trouble putting the book down. Looking forward to reading more in the series and by JA Jance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Definitely a good read!

    Great read. Fast paced and i didn't expect the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well written

    It's a well written book that is paced fairly fast. It's not overly complicated, but thoroughly enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Starting the series

    Good start! Now I am hooked to continue the series. To the rater that made the comment about page count. What does it matter? The DTB version is not 200 pages so don't worry about the ebook page count. Not a reason to rate the book low.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Very Interesting Story

    It ended much more differently than I expected, but was very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    An odd style of writing and hard to get into at first, but toward the middle it became irresistable and i couldnt put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Good

    Enjoyed this book. Kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Good read

    I really like this author. Never dissapoints me. The book was very well written, full of unpredictable twists. Recommended highly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17