Customer Reviews for

Until Proven Guilty (J. P. Beaumont Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 921 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(253)

4 Star

(331)

3 Star

(214)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Must Read!

This is the first Beaumont story and a great one at that! I have read all the Beaumont and Brady stories and Jance has created great characters and stories in books that can be read over and over again. I love this book because it's the story of Beaumont and Anne Corl...
This is the first Beaumont story and a great one at that! I have read all the Beaumont and Brady stories and Jance has created great characters and stories in books that can be read over and over again. I love this book because it's the story of Beaumont and Anne Corley. She remains a presence through all the Beaumont stories, so this book is a must read to really understand the back story that persists through the series. This book originally came out in the mid-80s, so I also loved the crime solving using the technology that existed back then. Reading the story now, it really makes you see how far technology has come. Overall, great read and one anyone should try!

posted by Avid_ReaderLL on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Must read to continue series.

This book was well written but wasn't as suspenseful as I thought it would have been. I do have to commend J.A. Jance on the plot, I was not expecting that twist. If you want to read the whole series for J.P. Beaumont you must start with this book since it is his debut....
This book was well written but wasn't as suspenseful as I thought it would have been. I do have to commend J.A. Jance on the plot, I was not expecting that twist. If you want to read the whole series for J.P. Beaumont you must start with this book since it is his debut.

posted by JSAP on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Must Read!

    This is the first Beaumont story and a great one at that! I have read all the Beaumont and Brady stories and Jance has created great characters and stories in books that can be read over and over again. I love this book because it's the story of Beaumont and Anne Corley. She remains a presence through all the Beaumont stories, so this book is a must read to really understand the back story that persists through the series. This book originally came out in the mid-80s, so I also loved the crime solving using the technology that existed back then. Reading the story now, it really makes you see how far technology has come. Overall, great read and one anyone should try!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2002

    Great J. P. Beaumont story!!

    I'm a new reader of the J. A. Jance books, but so far, I've been very pleased. This book definitely kept you guessing and I definitely recommend it to those who like a puzzle!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    this book is one of the best I have read. It's very suspenseful and hard to put down.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    A little slow at first, but halfway thru it picks up and is excellent.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Could not put this book down due to the mystery of each characher......I love good "who done it's"..good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Great Read

    J.P. Beaumont is a likable character. Great mystery series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Excellent read

    This the 15th book by this author I've read so obviously I would recommend it highly. ENJOY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Until proven guilty

    Read her books in order -they make sense- these 20 books are the best books to read -she is the best author i have read - i recommand to read all of them !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Must read

    Two thumbs up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Love it

    This is a great book but i also like all the crime investigation stuff. If that's what you're into i strongly recomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    exciting story

    Ms. Jance's J.P. Beaumont mysteries start with this one and every one of them had me reading the last 8-10 pages as fast as I could, not believing what was happening. At the end my heart was pounding and I was stunned. Beau is a great character and i highly recommend all. Read in order for best understanding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

     For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chron

     For a more in depth review, please visit my blog, Chorley Chronicals! 




    This was my first J.A. Jance novel, and I absolutely plan to continue the series. It's not often that I read books where the main character is a male, but it certainly was a welcomed change. I enjoyed the testosterone of the story and hearing about a love-type story coming from a male's perspective!




    J.P. Beaumont is one hell of a main character and I thoroughly enjoyed the plot of the book. It was not like any other plot that I've ever read, and it kept me interested and entertained, and certainly kept me guessing clear to the end, as I was holding my hand over my gaping open mouth in awe! Very well done Ms. Jance!!




    I am interested to see where the series goes for J.P. Beaumont, and although I haven't bumped the series up to the top of my favorite list, I will continue reading the series, at least for now! Overall, I enjoyed the twists and turns of the story, and was certainly shocked at the outcome, so I was quite impressed with the writing of J.A. Jance. I am glad that I stumbled upon this book at the library, because it was honestly just a chance meeting, one that I wouldn't regret for a moment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Very Enjoyable

    I enjoy her work and the series. I have read this series before and loved it. I am rereading it just because. I love the charachters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Chris to justin

    is this the new camp

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Sonic65101

    Here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Briana

    Hums.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Chels

    Uhhh okay x3 I'm really confuzzled.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Justin

    Dont know

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Never guessed the killer

    I would recommend this book to anyone who knows how ro read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Excellent

    This is a real page turner! Interesting, suspenseful and satisfying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13