Customer Reviews for

Until There Was You

Average Rating 4
( 247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

great

I've read all Kristan Higgins's books and loved them each of them. Can't wait to read more

posted by bookholiday on October 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing.

I love, love, love every book Kristan Higgins has written and I've read them all twice but this one was a disappointment. I can't quite put my finger on why I didn't love it like I love all her other books but it could be because Posey (the lead female character) was s...
I love, love, love every book Kristan Higgins has written and I've read them all twice but this one was a disappointment. I can't quite put my finger on why I didn't love it like I love all her other books but it could be because Posey (the lead female character) was sad and scrawny and didn't have a very interesting inner monolog like Kristan Higgins' other lead female characters and the male lead character (I swear I literally finished the book 15 minutes ago and I've completely forgotten his name already) was just a neurotic mess who should have worn a sign that said, "I'm gorgeous but boring, don't bother getting to know me because I'm completely forgettable". I feel terrible writing a bad review about one of my favorite author's books but honestly, if I can save someone $7.99 then I've done the right thing. I would encourage readers of contemporary romance to read ALL Ms. Higgins' other books because they are outstanding but don't bother with this one.

posted by Azgirl25 on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I've read all Kristan Higgins's books and loved them each of them. Can't wait to read more

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Romantic Comedy at its Best!

    Kristina Higgins is the master of romantic comedy. Not only does she weave a great tale but she has characters that come alive and leap off the page. You will laugh and cry with them just as often as you want to slap and shake them...just like your own friends and family, right? Higgins newest tale introduces us to Posey and Liam an unlikely couple, even by their own family's standards. He is the town bad boy who just moved back to town with his 16 year old daughter and she is the town's adopted sweetheart. The tale of their bumpy road towards love involves many other characters, from her crazy but lovable family to old lovers, who just can't help get in the way. But what stands most in their way is each other she can't help calling him "God's Gift" and he can't help calling her "Cordelia" (a name she hates!)..with all these obstacles will they ever find the yellow brick road to love? Read Until There Was You to find out, you won't regret it, and you won't be able to put it down.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Truly, truly loved this book!

    I read ALOT of books and Kristan Higgins is, hands down, my favorite author. I laughed out loud at some parts of this book, and literally sobbed at another point. I really identified with the main character in the story. If you like romance novels, with humor, you'll like this one. Really good story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    I loved this book. Kristan Higgins books are the best.

    I have read all of Kristan Higgins books and they just get better. This one was a "laugh out loud" book with very likeable characters. I can't wait till her next book comes out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Another Must Read!!!

    I recently discovered this author and have quickly read all her books. She's got this amazing combination of humor, passion, warmth and familiarity that I totally love. This book has been especially enjoyable because the main character, Cordelia, wasn't the typical love interest. Externally she appeared fraile yet she had grater strength then any of the other characters.

    I cant wait for the next book!!!

    When is Hollywood going to discover these books and make them into movies! This is clearly the next batch of chic flics!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is an entertaining New England romance

    In Bellsford, New Hampshire, Posey Osterhagen fell in love with town bad boy Liam Declan Murphy when they attended high school together. However she was way too thin, as Posey with her boyish figure attracted no male let alone the king of the school.

    Still too skinny though she works at her parents' German restaurant; overall Posey is contented though would not mind a hunk in her life. A widower, his wife Emma was a hometown girl who died from leukemia; Liam is home accompanied by his fifteen year old daughter Nicole. When they meet, she still wants him while he struggles to control panic attacks and his obsessive need to keep Nicole safe. One CPR and a sweet Diamond of a song later have Posey expecting another broken heart.

    This is an entertaining New England romance starring a refreshing lead protagonist whose weight problem enables her to pass off as a high school student and a single dad with emotional problems. The evolving second time around relationship between the pair of thirty southings is fun to follow as he is all she ever wanted but she expects him to leave while he has doubts about being with another adult after Emma's death.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OMG! I LOVED this book!!

    My Review:
    Because I haven 't had this blog that long, you may not realize this, but Kristan Higgins is one of my all-time favorite authors. I discovered her last year and quickly devoured every single one of her backlist books. So, obviously, I have been looking forward to her newest release. This is one of those that I received a couple of months ago, but because I loved the anticipation of it, I didn't read it until right up to release day. I may just have to read it again on release day, because OMG....this book was so worth the wait!! Such an amazingly good book!!!


    Kristan has an amazing writing voice. She writes the most unusual, the most unlikely heroines of all time, but she makes them so real. You fall in love immediately with their quirkiness, with their realistic issues and self-doubts. She pairs them with heroes that are flawed, but so incredible and unlikely that you usually spend the first quarter of the book wondering how these two are ever going to get together. But then the magic of her writing happens and you fall in love...with the characters, with their romance, with their quirks, and with their dogs. OMG, I love Kristan's books...if only she could write faster.


    Are you getting it yet?? I LOVED this book.


    Posey grew up as the scrawny little kid that never quite fit in...not at school and not at home with the family that had adopted her. High school was particularly bad, that is until the popular girl, Emma befriended her. They were never bff's, but Emma was kind to her and gave her advice and helped set her up for a date to the prom. Nevermind that Emma was dating the bad-boy, Liam, that Posey was in love with...that was okay because Emma was nice enough to deserve him. At least that was the case until Liam broke Posey's heart on the night of the prom.


    Now Liam is back in town. Emma died two years ago from leukemia and left Liam as the single father of a teenage girl. Not much has changed for Posey. She is that same scrawny girl, only now in her mid-30's, but she is much more comfortable in her skin ever since that night of self-realization at the prom. Her girl parts still react to Liam, regardless of what her heart says, and as they come to know each other better as adults, they are both more and more drawn to each other.


    Liam is dealing with a lot. He was a bad-boy in high school and totally lived up to that reputation. He now has a teenage daughter with her mother's beauty and he KNOWS what those teenage boys have planned. It's enough to give any single dad heart palpitations. Add to that, he has come back to the town where he bedded or insulted half the female population when he was in high school and they haven't forgotten, even if he has. LOL...there are some funny scenes because of this. OMG, my dh kept asking me what I was reading throughout this book because I had so many laugh-out-loud moments. Kristan has an incredibly funny sense of humor and it shines through once again in this novel.


    There are so many good things to recommend about the writing in this novel, but above and beyond...the best thing about it is the characters within it and the way that they react to one another. Liam, Posey, and Liam's teenage daughter- Nicole...the way that they all interact and react to each other...just some of the best dialogue EVER!!!


    So good! If you don't read any other contemporary novel this year, make sure that this one is on your TO READ list!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Great read :)

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I just love this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great read after all

    When I first started reading this book, I got bored and started reading another book. After a while, I decided to give it another chance and boy was I glad. The book starts out slow, but after a while, it gets better and I couldn't stop reading. Every time I had a break at work or free time at home, I found myself opening this book up again to see what happens next. If you love a cute romance, you won't be disappointed. Thanks Kristan - I always love your books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Loved it

    I seem to have read all of her books... but this one is by far my favorite. I dont write reviews ... but I have to say the way she writes these characters makes me want to meet them. I laughed a little, got a little teary at parts and am now waiting.... patiently, for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    I highly recommend this book.

    Kristan Higgins is one of my favorite writers. I love the way she writes her charectors in a way that makes me feel like I know them. This book is no different. Even though you know how the story will end the ride you take makes it worth the read. If you are a fan of Kristan Higgins you will enjoy this book, and if this is your first time reading one of her books she will quickly become one of your favorites. I can't wait for her next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    GREAT READ

    As usual, Kristan Higgans takes us on a romantic journey with characters we can relate to and love. I really do like that the heroines in her books are real woman and the heroes are flawed but struggling to be better men. Give me a man who washes his hands for 55 seconds over a shooting star any day. Kat

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Another great read

    This was another fun book by Higgins. Posey is a smart, independent heroine and Liam is a complex hero. And they are surrounded by a great group of loving family and friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Score another big hit by Ms. Higgins

    Cordelia Wiilhelmina Osterhagen aka Posey has a family who loves her, although she's adopted, a menagerie of pets, a unique residence and an eclectic occupation, has always been on the petite side, so much that she still shops in the kids section. She wants the dream, the husband the 2.1 kids but it's safe to say she's been unlucky in love. She had her heart broken in high school by the local bad boy and now that bad boy is back in town.
    Liam Declan Murphy found the girl of his dreams, married her, had a daughter and lost her in a tragic way. So now he's back with his daughter to the one place he thinks she will be safe and happy and close to her grandparents. He's not looking for nor is he ready for love, of course that doesn't stop half the women in town most of who he's already known biblically in high school. What he doesn't expect is Poesy Osterhagen filling a certain void in his lonely, unfulfilled life. But is it love that's making his heart pump too fast and his hands to sweat, is it a panic attack.
    What could be better than a big dog, a bad boy and a pixie of a girl and when you put them all together they spell one heck of a romance. And who better to push the start button than Kristan Higgins who's unforgettable love stories are the stuff of legends and this one's no different with this one in a million love story. She brings us a plot straight out of any females worst nightmare of high school life if she happened to be like most of us on the opposing side from the popular girls. She brings it with a narrative that will perfectly instill the mania of the hero, the ecclecticness of the heroine and the goofiness of the dog, yes there's always a dog. She gives us characters that will stand the test of time so much so that you could pick this back up in 20 years and still be wowed, amused and humbled by it. She will make sure that you really know these people so much so that you'd recognize them on the street. Her hero is the ever popular bad boy with a good heart and her heroine is the ever popular good hearted woman, yes they're just Joe and Jane normal, no superhero, no prince or Queen just folks from next door and around the corner, people that you just might bump into at the grocery store. Then she throws in the all American doomed romance and somehow makes it all come out in the end and gives us that all too elusive happy ever after. Be ware of the love scenes, you may need to read them under a fan.
    Get ready for a November must read where hopefully the weather is cool enough to offset the heat of the book.
    Thank you Ms. Higgins once again for a great story, great couple and great romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Live To Read

    This book is perfect for a long drive or a day at the beach. Posey, the main character, will come across as funny, compassionate, sweet, and inquisitive. The reader finds out she is adopted, this has a deep impact on Posey; she is unsure whether or not to contact her birth mother, her thoughts are later complicated by an unexpected discovery. Posey is likely the best part of the novel, she is likable and easy to connect to.


    Posey's life is going mostly as planned...until Liam, the bad boy, returns. Posey feels instant attraction to Liam and can't help but gravitate towards him. Liam is now a father and trying to act responsible to stay a father. Their relationship is rocky at best. The reader will enjoy reading about their relationship and rooting for Posey.


    The characters are fun to get to know, even the secondary characters. The events are fast-paced. The ending is perfect for this novel. This book is recommended to adult readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Fantastic Read!!!!

    Until There Was You captured & pleasantly held me hostage from the first passage.

    What woman doesn't think about running into her first crush and have said meeting make "the guy" green with envy and drool with want? AND, what woman actually has that "dream" meeting flawlessly succeed versus the nightmare that is usually is (hair that puts Medusa to shame, a monstrous zit that popped up unexpectedly overnight, circles under the eyes, and lets not even discuss clothes). Okay, so maybe Posey's second chance meeting with Liam Murphy wasn't quite the nightmare I outlined, but it was pretty close, and nearly as horrifying. So much for making a striking second impression...

    Posey, like every other warm blooded female, always had a thing for Liam Murphy. Sure she saw his bad-boy-turn-God good looks, but she also felt that she saw the person hiding behind the reputation. She was almost positive of it until she overheard him speaking badly of her to a group of guys (one of whom was her prom date). It was then that her illusions of Liam Murphy being different/special shattered, taking her heart along for the ride.

    Fast forward to present day and we find the entire female population abuzz regarding Liam Murphy's return. His wife has recently passed away and he's brought his daughter "home" to finish high school as well as to be closer to her maternal grandparents who, by the way, despise him for ruining their precious daughter. The last thing on Liam's agenda is dating; he's more interested in scaring away any teenage boys hoping to date his daughter! But, when his path keeps crossing with Posey's, he finds that he only has so much will power...

    Until There Was You was told from Posey and Liam's perspectives which offered insight into both characters' insecurities, quirks, and true feelings. Both main characters were endearing in their own way: Posey fighting against her ugly duckling-Anne Frank label, growing into a self-sufficient woman; Liam's bad-boy turn overprotective and neurotic dad who could charm the pants off any woman in a 10-mile radius. I love that Ms. Higgins developed characters with flaws - it truly made them more human and utterly real for me.

    The supporting or secondary characters were fabulous, as well! Each character had his/her own unique brand of personality and wits. The line-up consisted of the beautiful but shallow and selfish cousin, the tomboy-gym teacher best friend, the naive valley girl (who is far from the valley, living on the opposite coast), the quiet but brilliant gay brother, his golden-boy Mr. Perfect husband, and of course Posey's very German & very protective parents who still attend every baseball game, camera in hand...

    The writing in Until There Was You had me feeling as though I was sitting in a coffee shop, chitchatting with my best girlfriend about life in general. The dialog was easy going and animated. The pictures Ms. Higgin's words created were vivid and easily imagined... I loved the personality and the wit that was so casually inserted - from naming the hair salon (Curl Up and Dye) to describing the dancing teens at prom ("They looked more like salmon swimming upstream").

    Would I recommend this read? Absolutely, hands down, without a doubt! It was so refreshing and so much fun to read! Thank you, Ms. Higgins for creating such a fun/sweet/romantic tale!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This was the best Kristin Higgins book yet.

    I laughed. I cried. I giggled. I got angry. The only thing I wasn't interested in doing was putting this book down.

    The biker boy was perfect. Who doesn't love a biker boy? As were the past relationships they gave this book a new dimension that some of her others had been missing.

    Trust me - this is a pre-order kind of book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE Kristan Higgins!

    I absolutely love Kristan Higgins's books and couldn't wait to read her latest, Until There Was You. It took a little bit longer than usual for me to get into the rhythm of this one (a few early scenes seemed a little bit forced, but were soon forgotten in the Higgins novel magic)--but once it really got going I loved it just as much as her previous books. The male point of view used here is different--Kristan usually just gives us the heroine's perspective--but in the end I think it worked well. I'm not sure how she could have really let us see into Liam's psyche otherwise, and it was definitely worth it to know directly from him why he did the things he did both during the events of the novel and in the past. The quirky cast of characters we've come to expect from Higgins is here, and the token pet--this time a Great Dane with a few fickle, ungrateful cats thrown in for good measure--is there too. Once again we have a hero and heroine who seem amazingly real. They make stupid choices. They do dumb things. They have pasts they want to forget but sometimes can't. You cringe when they say something they're going to immediately regret, and you feel their slights and snubs as if they'd happened to you. Kristan makes you want to know them both and has you rooting for them to succeed even while you want to smack them upside the head for being so dense...or hug them when they've had a bad day. Honestly, I don't know how she does it over and over again, but I'm glad she does. Once more she wraps it all up with an amazing ending--it practically had me standing and cheering for both Posey and Liam. Write faster, Kristan, please! I need more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Excellent!

    Excellent!! Yet, another romantic comedy by Kristan Higgins that I loved. UNTIL THERE WAS YOU. I laughed, I cried, and swooned and at the very end I caught myself saying out loud, "awwwe". So sweet! Perfect ending! I highly recommend anything written by this author!

    S.A.K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    10 stars

    I loved this book. LovedLiam and Cordelia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7