Customer Reviews for

Until They Bring the Streetcars Back

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2007

    OUTSTANDING BOOK

    One of the best books I've ever read for school. The only other one I've liked was 'Finding Laura Buggs', I'm not sure which I like more. Very easy to relate to being a teenager, and also living in same area as the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2006

    Great Author

    I gave this a 4 star only because I'm comparing it to 'Blind Your Ponies', another Stanley West novel. He has such a grasp on bringing you into the characters of the novel. I read this in three settings. It is one of those books you can't wait to get home from work to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2006

    AWESOME book

    I was suppose to read it for school too...chapter by chapter...but im half way done with the book in a couple days...WOW awesome book..the ROMANCE is awesome READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    I'm reading more Stanley Gordon West

    I would (and do) recommend this book to anyone. It's fascinating the way that the entire book really depicts the main character, Cal. It reminded me a bit of how Salinger describes a story that really describes Holden Caufield. There is such an intricate story, but everything about it describes Cal's need to help others be okay. Everything that happens has a purpose in the story, and I think a bookclub could really talk this book to death...in a good way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Engaging story, quick read, fun book!

    West puts together a fantastic tale of a young hero attempting to save an unlikely friend from abuse. High school kids will love it for the age of the main characters and the more carefree lifestyle of the 1950s. Older adults will love it for the nostalgia as West brings the reader on a well-described tour of St. Paul and Minneapolis. It's one pitfall is the occasional clunkiness in the storytelling, but that's easily overlooked. All around, it's a feel-good read with just enough suspense and mystery to keep the reader hanging on. A must-read for people who love fiction in a well-crafted historical setting, and my "also recommended" books are good companions for those who want visual aids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    This book is amazing,

    I highly enjoyed reading this book. From the main characters love intrest to his bravery he showed I really felt for him. It left me feeling a little bit changed. I think thats what a great book should do. I would love to see this movie be made into a movie like Stanley Gordon West's other book Amos. It left me wanting more and I think if you have the time you should pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    Kept me wanting more

    This book was so good, i was supposed to read it for school and was assinged certain chapters each day. Instead of that i finished the book within a week. I couldn't put it down! It was so good, it kept you guessing and wanting to keep reading. I highly reccomened it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Read this one!

    This book is really good.Cal Gant is a sick love puppy of a girl named Lola. There are many obticles through out the whole book. Its his senior year and nothing is perfect. Gretchen comes into picture and cal doesnt know what to do. He doesnt tell anyone whats going on with Gretchen until the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    A Very Enjoyable Read

    It's a tale of growing up, it's romance, mystery and thriller, but all in all a look into the life of a high school senior in the '50's. It's hard to put down, and it luckily doesn't follow any convenient formula to reach a conclusion. The characters are interesting, especially Gretchen. It has an important message about self-sacrificing as well. It's a quick read, and I strongly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    Plot Twists and Interesting Characters

    I started this novel, then put it down, thinking I knew where it was going. I went back to the book a year later and found myself more than pleasantly surprised by the plot twists I didn't expect (though some of the story was fairly predictable). Overall, once I got about a third of the way into the novel, I was hooked. A very good read. Only real criticism is that the central character is a bit too good to be true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Great Read.

    I really liked this book. I love the story it tells a really realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Wonderful

    This was a book I had to read for my english class last year. Normally, the books I've gotten for these types of assignments have never caught my intrest, so I felt the same way about this book at first. However, once we began to read it, it really surprised me! I'd recomend it to anyone who would like to read a great mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    Awesome Discussion

    I just love this book! I can't wait to read the other book that is told by Sandy (Finding Laura Buggs)! In my school we read this book and I found it to be the best book that we have ever read!! I Highly recomend this book! ENJOY :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    A "can't put the book down" type of book

    I am sophomore at Billings Central High in Montana. I extremely don't like to read even for enjoyment. This book however was a great book and is one that everyone should read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    Wonderful

    I'm from St Paul and it was easy to find myself at Central High and all the other places in the book. I couldn't put the book down and if you haven't read "Finding Laura Bugs" you will also love it. West uses the same characters in both books so you find yourself in the same school,and it's as if you were with your friends seeing a story from a different angle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    Loved It!

    I just loved this novel. It was well written and it took me back to 1949 - 1950 as if I were in a time machine. It had a Great story line, with a little mystery, and a little romance, plus a moral to the story. It touched my heart. I couldn't put it down. It is a worth while read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2002

    THIS IS AN EXCELLANT BOOK

    At first i didnt like this book- it didnt have enough action or mystery to it. But as i read, it got better and better up until the excellant ending. I had to read this for English. It's not abook i would normally pick out, but im glad i read it! I couldnt put it down as the reading progressed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    West is a mastermind

    I had to read this book for my English II class and I loved it. The first line had my attention. It makes you wonder why was he in jail. The book is full of suspense. It's a book that you won't want to put down once you start reading it. I would highly recommend this book for anyone that loves to read books. It's an easy read book, but highly enjoyable. It's on a teenagers level. Which is why it's so interesting. We teenagers can relate to a lot of what happens in this book. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    Wonderful!

    I absolutely fell in love with this book. I read it for an english class and I finished it in a day and a half. I just couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 1999

    A nice change

    This book was loaned to me, and I was hesitant to read it. However, once I began reading, I was taken back to a time when life and thoughts were the same as today, however, they did not need the language and violence to express it. The message transcends the generations without using the obscenities that seem to dominate the storylines of today, while still being able to bring the reader in through suspense, tragedy, and triumph. If you are a native of Minnesota, you might find some additional interest/appreciation of the story through the authors accuracy of St. Paul, and Minnesota during the Post-War Era. Those of Scandinavian descent will be able to identify people within their own family to the characters in the story. This book represents a time when people still cared about thier neighbors, without losing perspective of their own family values.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2