Customer Reviews for

Until the Real Thing Comes Along

Average Rating 3
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    5 Stars

    This by far is my favorite book!! I absolutely loved it!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    You've GOT to read this one!

    I love Elizabeth Berg and this novel certainly lives up to the highest expectations. It's hilarious and real. It will fill your heart while it entertains your brain.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    Disappointing

    Although I love Elizabeth Berg's writing, this was not one of her better efforts. The story and the characters were pretty weak and I found I didn't really care what happened to them in their neurotic little worlds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    so-so

    This book was easy to read, but I found the characters to be a little weak. The story was okay, I expected a little more detail, and things just happend, for me at least, a little too quickly. I wanted Patty to go through a little more than she did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Eh!

    This novel was... okay. The main character truly annoyed me. She has this amazing fantasy life she lives in... and she doesn't even realize it's all in her head. Her constant thoughts of babies are full of whimsy & the fantasy of what it's like to have a child... she's the perfect parent w/ the perfect children in the perfect home. Nice fantasies, but she seems to have no idea that THAT is not reality. She's selfish & superficial. It was nice when Patty & her friend Elaine admitted this... but she still remained selfish. She loves her mother so much, but never shows that she is at all concerned about her strange behavior. Her gay guy Ethan is unrealistic. I kept reading to see if Patty would have some sort of epiphany, but no... she had none. My favorite chapter is the last one... where she seems to be happy for her friends, and herself instead of PO'd, jealous, and living in a fantasy world. It IS a fast read... and an ok story - yet I got nothing from this book... no real feelings of... "Oh, I can relate" to any of the characters. Much of a surface book... I didn't find much depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    Book Revealed Humorous Inner Thoughts

    The reader has the delicious opportunity to share the main character's 'unimportant' inner thoughts... silly little thoughts about everyday things that will make you giggle inside. It was a lot of fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    LOVED IT

    THIS BOOK WAS WRITTEN WELL MAKING IT AN EASY READ. I LOVED THE HUMOR AND STRONG FAMILY TIES EMPHASIZED IN BOOK. MY BOOK GROUP IS PLANNING TO READ WHAT WE KEEP BY BERG. I CAN'T WAIT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2002

    Is there a real thing?

    I especially liked Patty's character because it reminded me of myself- always going for the "nice guy"(who ends up being the wrong guy). She also reminded me of my friends- I want it. I want it now. I can have it regardless if everyone else is wanting the same thing.It reminds me so much of a point I covered in my book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1