Customer Reviews for

Untold Story

Average Rating 2.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book- I highly recommend it.

When I read "Untold Story", I thought that it was a good book. I like the idea of a mystery and suspence novel. I didn't like that fact that she never went back to the palace. I thought that it would have made a better ending. This review is my opinion alone. I suggest ...
When I read "Untold Story", I thought that it was a good book. I like the idea of a mystery and suspence novel. I didn't like that fact that she never went back to the palace. I thought that it would have made a better ending. This review is my opinion alone. I suggest that anyone who wants to read it, do it. If not, then that is your decision.

posted by BrookeC1028 on July 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

A similar plot was already written years ago

Maybe 2 or 3 years after Diana's death a similar book was written where Diana survives the crash and hides out having a secret life. The story was just as dumb then as this one is now.

posted by my9cats on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    A similar plot was already written years ago

    Maybe 2 or 3 years after Diana's death a similar book was written where Diana survives the crash and hides out having a secret life. The story was just as dumb then as this one is now.

    24 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Great Book- I highly recommend it.

    When I read "Untold Story", I thought that it was a good book. I like the idea of a mystery and suspence novel. I didn't like that fact that she never went back to the palace. I thought that it would have made a better ending. This review is my opinion alone. I suggest that anyone who wants to read it, do it. If not, then that is your decision.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    MONICA ALI WROTE THIS?

    BOTTOM LINE: NO MATTER WHAT, DIANA WOULD HAVE NEVER,EVER LEFT HER BOYS. PERIOD-THE END.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Waste of Money

    Don't even think about buying this. Totally boring. Sorry I wasted my money.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Awful awful book

    I read hundreds of books a year and not all were grear. This book, however, is almost impossible to read. The author uses such odd syntax that it is just hard to follow. I have read half so far and I can't bring myself to read the rest. I wish I had read a sample before preordering. I am so disappointed. I thought this was about Princess Diana. It is not. It is apparently about a random princess who drowned. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this book. I wish I could get my money back.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Total waste of money

    Dreadful! Unrealistic setting and characters. Has Ali even been to the USA? So many errors. Surprised this was even accepted for publication.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Blah

    Great idea...the concept was there but this story was just underwhelming...borderline boring to me and could have been so good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    I can't believe Monica Ali wrote this.

    I can't believe Monica Ali wrote this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    tarnished the fairy tale finish

    i was intrigued by the idea of "what if she lived?", as a mother i cannot agree with what she did in order to gain anonimity. i do not believe Diana could ever be so cruel and selfish to her boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Boring and slow

    This book was very slow. I couldn't get more than half way through before giving up. Too many other good things our there to read that are much more engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    This actually got published?

    I have read every Diana book on the market so i had to read this - SO SORRY i did incredibly far fetched difficult to get through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Oh Brother!!!

    I've always been a Diana fan & decided to read this book just for the heck of it. The story line is far fetched & I kept telling myself that it's only fiction. If Diana was still alive, she NEVER EVER would've left her boys no matter what. They were the love of her life. Didn't want to finish this book, but went back a few times just to be done with it. To me the writing was repetitive & full of fluff. Sorry that I wasted my time & money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    awful

    I just can't bring myself to finish this book. It's poorly executed. I wish I believed the reviews I had read before my purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Didnt like

    This book was okay in the begining but the more you got into the story the worse it got.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Boring

    I find this book extremely hard to get through i literally fall asleep reading it. The plot is not very convincing at all either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    Interesting

    I liked this book. For Diana lovers, u will love that there is more to her story. Fir everyone else, just a quick, entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So disappointing.

    I just found the book very unrealistic and boring. I skimmed through the last few chapters to finish quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Loved this book!

    Monica Ali takes a critical look at Princess Diana's complex personal history and unmatched media appeal to present a story about the unexpected survival of a very strong but troubled woman. Diana's life had turned into a perfect storm of psychological longing, isolation, media hype and constant scrutiny that could not be salvaged - not for all the money in the world. One of the most problematic issues standing as an impenetrable barrier to any possible theories of how Diana might have faked her own death would be how she could possibly leave her sons. This question is satisfied both logically and emotionally. In my opinion the author did a very good job of mixing the elements that make a good read and for me that includes a solid writing ability. There are a few passages that I had to sort out, but American English is not quite the same as the Queen's. Sometimes it is nice to have to stretch one's brain just a bit to get the full meaning. This story is one of courage that can convince many of us that no matter how full or empty we think ourselves to be, there is more, much more that we can learn, feel and experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Wouldn't buy...

    I finished this book because I paid for it but I wouldn't suggest this to others. I had to really set my mind to this because it jumped all over the place and didn't provide enough insight to all of the characters. Personally I didn't like the ending either. My recommendation: DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4