Customer Reviews for

Untouchable

Average Rating 3
( 850 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(203)

2 Star

(140)

1 Star

(137)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Powerful Family Issues Come to Life

As I started reading Untouchable, I kept anticipating something to happen, anything. For me, this was a slow moving book, with just enough to happen to where it kept me reading. While Scott O'Connor doesn't put a label on any of the characters, so as the reader, you c...
As I started reading Untouchable, I kept anticipating something to happen, anything. For me, this was a slow moving book, with just enough to happen to where it kept me reading. While Scott O'Connor doesn't put a label on any of the characters, so as the reader, you come to find out what they are experiencing and/or suffering from. Scott O'Connor does a fabulous job painting a picture of what is happening, how the characters are feeling, and the reader is left to decipher what it all means. In a way, this book left me confused, but I don't have any personal experience dealing with the issues that surround this book.

The story is told through Darby and The Kid's point of view, as well as referring back to the past. This book deals with serious mental issues, full of drama, sadness, love, and family. Darby and The Kid must face their own journey of healing with the death of Lucy, the wife of Darby and mom to The Kid.

posted by BeautyBriteReviews on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

The worse book I have ever tried to read. I usually read at least 100 pages before I decide whether I like a book or not and truth be told I haven't come across but two books that I can remember not finishing. I am on page 73 of this book and it is so boring and very ...
The worse book I have ever tried to read. I usually read at least 100 pages before I decide whether I like a book or not and truth be told I haven't come across but two books that I can remember not finishing. I am on page 73 of this book and it is so boring and very depressing. Nothing is happening in the lives of the main characters. A year has pasted and the father and son are continuing to suffer from the unexpected death of the wife/mother. The son can't believe his mother is really dead and has made a pack with God that he will not speak until the mother returns. He writes in a notebook even at school and is picked on, spitt on etc. at school by a couple of bullies. His father works as a "trama" clean-up technician. Ugh! Again this book is very depressing. I have read plenty of other free ebooks which I have enjoyed. Don't know if I can bring myself to finish it - feel like I am just wasting time with this one.

posted by 1214323 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 851 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Powerful Family Issues Come to Life

    As I started reading Untouchable, I kept anticipating something to happen, anything. For me, this was a slow moving book, with just enough to happen to where it kept me reading. While Scott O'Connor doesn't put a label on any of the characters, so as the reader, you come to find out what they are experiencing and/or suffering from. Scott O'Connor does a fabulous job painting a picture of what is happening, how the characters are feeling, and the reader is left to decipher what it all means. In a way, this book left me confused, but I don't have any personal experience dealing with the issues that surround this book.

    The story is told through Darby and The Kid's point of view, as well as referring back to the past. This book deals with serious mental issues, full of drama, sadness, love, and family. Darby and The Kid must face their own journey of healing with the death of Lucy, the wife of Darby and mom to The Kid.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read

    Whitley is eleven, and people simply call him "the Kid." He lives with his father and daily deals with the grief of his mother's death. But, Whitley doesn't really believe she is dead and won't speak, making any relationships difficult to keep moving forward. David Darby is a grieving father who also works cleaning up trauma sites. As he prepares to do the work, David continually reminds himself to picture it cleaned up so that he can make it through. His son needs him. He misses his wife. It has been a year and they continue to grieve separately. Can they put the family back together? What is the complete truth behind Lucy Darby's death? What is Whitley writing in his notebooks, and will it completely take his sanity? Can David save himself and Whitley the way he helps save so many other families?

    This book was an emotional ride and I continually wanted the situations to be fixed. The characters were vivid and realistic; the story seemed to be taken from any neighborhood. I recommend this book and author and think we will see much more from him. Be sure to watch the trailer as well! Thank you to Leyane Jerejian and FSB Media for the copy I read on my Nook.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a profound insightful tale of grief

    One year ago, Lucy Darby suddenly died. Her husband David who is used to working with death as crime cleanup technician cannot understand what happened to his healthy wife. Their school aged "Kid" Whitney also cannot comprehend what occurred to his mother.

    Twelve months since the tragedy happened both still grieve. As he cannot move on, David has no idea how to help his son as he cannot help himself; thus the Kid remains mute since he lost his mother. Whitney only communicates through his notebooks. Meanwhile while David struggles with cleaning away violence, he is on the brink of a break down and perhaps insanity. The Kid, the target of bullies at school, believes when Y2K arrives, he will bring his still alive (in his mind) mother home soon.

    Untouchable is a profound insightful tale of grief that asks what happens when a person fails to move through the Five Stages of Grief as defined by the Kubler-Ross Model but instead becomes locked deeper into one of the first steps. David seems Bipolar as he fluctuates between phases 2 Anger and 4 Depression but never moves into 5 Acceptance and for the most part skips 3 Bargaining. The Kid remains locked inside phase 1 Denial. Both are rapidly mentally and emotionally deteriorating. Not for everyone Scott O'Connor provides a powerful character study of a father and son failing to move on following the death of the loved one who was the family focus as grief is customized.

    Harriet Klausner

    16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Don't bother

    The worse book I have ever tried to read. I usually read at least 100 pages before I decide whether I like a book or not and truth be told I haven't come across but two books that I can remember not finishing. I am on page 73 of this book and it is so boring and very depressing. Nothing is happening in the lives of the main characters. A year has pasted and the father and son are continuing to suffer from the unexpected death of the wife/mother. The son can't believe his mother is really dead and has made a pack with God that he will not speak until the mother returns. He writes in a notebook even at school and is picked on, spitt on etc. at school by a couple of bullies. His father works as a "trama" clean-up technician. Ugh! Again this book is very depressing. I have read plenty of other free ebooks which I have enjoyed. Don't know if I can bring myself to finish it - feel like I am just wasting time with this one.

    14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Beautiful and haunting

    Excellent book...I would have paid full price. Free Fridays ROCK!!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    Intense Read

    DESCRIPTION
    The months leading up to the 1-year anniversary of Lucy's death find her husband Darby and son "The Kid" struggling to come to terms with their loss. Both father and son have unwittingly abandoned each other as they travel down isolated paths of grief. As the 1-year mark approaches, Darby finds his life unraveling and his son slipping further away. Both must face the truth if they have any hope of finding each other again.

    CONCEPT/PLOT - 5 stars
    This was a truly sad but uplifting story. It pulls no punches, it doesn't sugarcoat things. It is real people dealing with real life, real situations that hopefully the majority of us never have to experience. But for those of us who have undergone such experiences, we know the stigma of being a social outcast, a pariah, an Untouchable. The burden that isolates us is also the burden that needs to be shared the most and this theme was a constant throughout the book. O'Connor shares that burden with his readers and asks that we the reader, share it with him. It is an intense read and expertly executed.

    WRITING STYLE/EXECUTION - 5 stars
    There was a lot of detail and back-story in the beginning that I had to have faith would come together somehow in the end, which, for the most part, it did. I was concerned though, that at a third of the way through, I was finding the pace slow, I was still not sure what I was reading, what the story was, and I hadn't connected to any of the characters. Then ALL of that changed. I don't know if that was intentional or not, but suddenly I felt like I was reading a different book. Not that the writing style had changed, but it took a while for things to gel. Once they did, the story really picked up, and I found myself rooting for the characters, feeling angry, sad, and outraged at times. If you like symbolism, this story has it in spades and it was fun to spot all those nice touches. I liked the ending, too. I do tend to gravitate towards realistic fiction, so it worked for me.

    FORMATTING/EDITING - 5 stars
    The formatting and editing was a non-issue for the most part. I read this book on my Kindle and the only complaint I have is that sometimes it seemed to be missing breaks between some character POV shifts and flash-back shifts. I stumbled a couple times on this. I don't know if other versions are like this or not, but if you're reading the Kindle version, you've been forewarned. : )

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    Loved it

    A wonderful literary work i could analyze this book for days. English teachers will have a hay day with this one. It starts off slow stick with it. Believe me a tear jerker.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    A compelling story

    Possibly the darkest book I've ever read. It is the story of a nice young boy who is an outcast at school. He has only one friend and he is a misfit too. The Dad's job puts him direct contact with people who have suffered horrible losses and the Mom is dead. Their behavior is puzzling until bit by bit the author fills us in on how they came to be the way they are. I'm not sure if I can recommend it. Most people read novels to be entertained. Not everyone wants to peer into the depths of the souls of people in pain. I read a lot and honestly, I forget many of the stories. I will never forget this one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Wow...

    To be quite honest, this book rocked me to my core. I was not prepared.

    I spent most of it reeling between joy and sadness. Joy that at least one person gets the reality of this particular brand of cruelty and desperation, and sadness that it's still so universally understood. This isn't simply a bullying story, a story of lost love, or even an underdog story. It's all of them, without shoving it down your throat. It's subtle, and dare I say, ingenious.

    I...just can't fathom how anyone could give this book a bad review, or even a mediocre one! I've read many books, and precious few have moved me to tears. This one, quite literally, brought me close to an emo breakdown. Multiple times.

    One of the most beautifully written, painstakingly crafted,heart-wrenching, sincere pieces of lit I've come across in quite a while.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Difficult to read

    I agree with several previous reviews. I stuck with the book, but it took me a long time to read. Story jumped around, had trouble maintaining my attention. Would not recommend this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Cool book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Excellent

    I got this book expecting it to be more like The Road,post apocolips. Although it was nothing like I expected, I thought it was excellent. I liked the way it went from time to time and from one scene to another. Each part as exciting as the last. Sad? Yes. Compelling and interesting? Yes. A real page turner. A great read..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Fair

    Not enough "meat" story too long with too many back and forth events. No chapters and no stop between continuous events.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Riveting!

    The title "Untouchable" works on so many levels in this book. A bit slow starting, the story unfolds revealing characters dealing with grief each in their own way. Powerful and visceral writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Jumpy

    Very jumpy, I feel sorry for the kid and the characters seemed ok, but the story had a hard time keeping my attention. I am definately glad this was a freebie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Sad story

    I thought this book gave good insight into the wake of the chaos that is wrought lives touched by suicide.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Well written and suspenseful

    I thought this book was well written and developed a complexity in it's characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Good book

    I really liked this one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great book.

    This is a wonderful read. I would recomend this to everyone who needs something new to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Good read

    Like the concept. As a widow with 2 young kids I could relate to so much of this. I look foward to more frim this writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 851 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 43