Customer Reviews for

Untouchable

Average Rating 3
( 852 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(206)

3 Star

(203)

2 Star

(140)

1 Star

(138)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Powerful Family Issues Come to Life

As I started reading Untouchable, I kept anticipating something to happen, anything. For me, this was a slow moving book, with just enough to happen to where it kept me reading. While Scott O'Connor doesn't put a label on any of the characters, so as the reader, you c...
As I started reading Untouchable, I kept anticipating something to happen, anything. For me, this was a slow moving book, with just enough to happen to where it kept me reading. While Scott O'Connor doesn't put a label on any of the characters, so as the reader, you come to find out what they are experiencing and/or suffering from. Scott O'Connor does a fabulous job painting a picture of what is happening, how the characters are feeling, and the reader is left to decipher what it all means. In a way, this book left me confused, but I don't have any personal experience dealing with the issues that surround this book.

The story is told through Darby and The Kid's point of view, as well as referring back to the past. This book deals with serious mental issues, full of drama, sadness, love, and family. Darby and The Kid must face their own journey of healing with the death of Lucy, the wife of Darby and mom to The Kid.

posted by BeautyBriteReviews on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

The worse book I have ever tried to read. I usually read at least 100 pages before I decide whether I like a book or not and truth be told I haven't come across but two books that I can remember not finishing. I am on page 73 of this book and it is so boring and very ...
The worse book I have ever tried to read. I usually read at least 100 pages before I decide whether I like a book or not and truth be told I haven't come across but two books that I can remember not finishing. I am on page 73 of this book and it is so boring and very depressing. Nothing is happening in the lives of the main characters. A year has pasted and the father and son are continuing to suffer from the unexpected death of the wife/mother. The son can't believe his mother is really dead and has made a pack with God that he will not speak until the mother returns. He writes in a notebook even at school and is picked on, spitt on etc. at school by a couple of bullies. His father works as a "trama" clean-up technician. Ugh! Again this book is very depressing. I have read plenty of other free ebooks which I have enjoyed. Don't know if I can bring myself to finish it - feel like I am just wasting time with this one.

posted by 1214323 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Jumpy

    Very jumpy, I feel sorry for the kid and the characters seemed ok, but the story had a hard time keeping my attention. I am definately glad this was a freebie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Very slow moving, boring, and dark, leaving you feeling depresse

    Very slow moving, boring, and dark, leaving you feeling depressed. I almost quit reading it but I kept thinking that maybe it would get better. It didn't. Don't wast your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Letdown

    I felt like throughout the book i was waiting and waiting for the big breakthrough. And when it happenned it felt empty. So much detail in every other part of the book, but really lacking in the emotional part. Makes it hard to connect to the characters as much as i wanted to. And i really wanted to. So disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Remote characters/jumpy plot

    This is a very difficult book to get through. While the story is an interesting one, the way the author winds and repeats and jumps around, it's hard to get a grasp of his characters. To his credit, the plot is tied up at the end, but it's so much work to get there, the book feels much longer than its scant 231 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Depressing

    Felt completely depressed reading this jumbled story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Lousy

    Flow of the story jumps all over the place. Tried to stick w/ it and finish the book, but had to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    A struggle to read

    Rather than a book, this tale would have been a fine short story. Unfortunately the venues for short stories have virtually disappeared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    A really hard read

    I didnt really like this book untik the end. Im glad i didnt pay for it bc it would have been a waste. It was strange and didnt really have a plot. It dragged out which made it take forever to read. Very interesting ending though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Good...But Hard to Follow

    The story line of this book was good...the author just went round and round to many times...hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    A Tedious Read

    Reading it felt like swimming through a pool of jello. At least it
    (somewhat) came together at the end. I had this feeling that the story may have been autobiographical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not my kind of book

    Dark, disturbing & depressing but I think that is what the author intended. A father and son greaving in different ways over the loss of their wife and mother respectively. I didn't really enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Depressing

    Didnt like how it jumped aroundand it was very sad. I think some pages might be missing...i know the last page is so that was pretty disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Thought this one was a pass

    I didn't really care for this book. It seemed to lag and bounce around too much, I wouldn't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Not What I Expected

    The title isn't very well suited to the book, because I was expecting something more about the untouchable caste. I don't think the characters quite qualify for that description even when moved into the setting of the United States.

    Despite that, the book was interesting. Still, I don't think I would have picked this up if it hadn't been free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    Depressing and strange

    I stuck with this all the way to the end, but couldn't wait to finish it and move on to another book. Some of it was interesting, but it became stranger and more repetitive as it went on. My least favorite "Free Friday" selection so far - glad I didn't pay for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Not my favorite

    The story line to this book was just ok. It took a really really long time to develop. The time line jumped back and forth a lot with no warning and it took awhile sometimes to realize it had jumped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    Too dark for me.

    I wouldn't recommend it. It was too dark a story for me. It was hard for me to keep turning the pages and not put it down. All the turmoil of the story was resolved in two pages at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    AN INTERESTING READ

    This isn't my usual read (I prefer mysteries.), but I always try the free e-books because some of them are pretty good. I found that this story caught my attention, even though it moved pretty slowly. The characters were a bit unusual for me, but I think I understand what the author was trying to say. The ending, however, was pretty predictable. I like this author's style of writing enough to want to read another of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Unique

    Halfway through I realize I'm not into it. I keep waiting for something to happen. Its a deep book written about grief of a recently widowed husband and son. I like more shallow reads. To deep about grief and dysfunction of life for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Not recommended

    Utterly depressing and disjointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7