Customer Reviews for

Untouchable

Average Rating 3
( 850 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(165)

4 Star

(205)

3 Star

(203)

2 Star

(140)

1 Star

(137)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Powerful Family Issues Come to Life

As I started reading Untouchable, I kept anticipating something to happen, anything. For me, this was a slow moving book, with just enough to happen to where it kept me reading. While Scott O'Connor doesn't put a label on any of the characters, so as the reader, you c...
As I started reading Untouchable, I kept anticipating something to happen, anything. For me, this was a slow moving book, with just enough to happen to where it kept me reading. While Scott O'Connor doesn't put a label on any of the characters, so as the reader, you come to find out what they are experiencing and/or suffering from. Scott O'Connor does a fabulous job painting a picture of what is happening, how the characters are feeling, and the reader is left to decipher what it all means. In a way, this book left me confused, but I don't have any personal experience dealing with the issues that surround this book.

The story is told through Darby and The Kid's point of view, as well as referring back to the past. This book deals with serious mental issues, full of drama, sadness, love, and family. Darby and The Kid must face their own journey of healing with the death of Lucy, the wife of Darby and mom to The Kid.

posted by BeautyBriteReviews on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

The worse book I have ever tried to read. I usually read at least 100 pages before I decide whether I like a book or not and truth be told I haven't come across but two books that I can remember not finishing. I am on page 73 of this book and it is so boring and very ...
The worse book I have ever tried to read. I usually read at least 100 pages before I decide whether I like a book or not and truth be told I haven't come across but two books that I can remember not finishing. I am on page 73 of this book and it is so boring and very depressing. Nothing is happening in the lives of the main characters. A year has pasted and the father and son are continuing to suffer from the unexpected death of the wife/mother. The son can't believe his mother is really dead and has made a pack with God that he will not speak until the mother returns. He writes in a notebook even at school and is picked on, spitt on etc. at school by a couple of bullies. His father works as a "trama" clean-up technician. Ugh! Again this book is very depressing. I have read plenty of other free ebooks which I have enjoyed. Don't know if I can bring myself to finish it - feel like I am just wasting time with this one.

posted by 1214323 on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read

    Whitley is eleven, and people simply call him "the Kid." He lives with his father and daily deals with the grief of his mother's death. But, Whitley doesn't really believe she is dead and won't speak, making any relationships difficult to keep moving forward. David Darby is a grieving father who also works cleaning up trauma sites. As he prepares to do the work, David continually reminds himself to picture it cleaned up so that he can make it through. His son needs him. He misses his wife. It has been a year and they continue to grieve separately. Can they put the family back together? What is the complete truth behind Lucy Darby's death? What is Whitley writing in his notebooks, and will it completely take his sanity? Can David save himself and Whitley the way he helps save so many other families?

    This book was an emotional ride and I continually wanted the situations to be fixed. The characters were vivid and realistic; the story seemed to be taken from any neighborhood. I recommend this book and author and think we will see much more from him. Be sure to watch the trailer as well! Thank you to Leyane Jerejian and FSB Media for the copy I read on my Nook.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    A compelling story

    Possibly the darkest book I've ever read. It is the story of a nice young boy who is an outcast at school. He has only one friend and he is a misfit too. The Dad's job puts him direct contact with people who have suffered horrible losses and the Mom is dead. Their behavior is puzzling until bit by bit the author fills us in on how they came to be the way they are. I'm not sure if I can recommend it. Most people read novels to be entertained. Not everyone wants to peer into the depths of the souls of people in pain. I read a lot and honestly, I forget many of the stories. I will never forget this one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Riveting!

    The title "Untouchable" works on so many levels in this book. A bit slow starting, the story unfolds revealing characters dealing with grief each in their own way. Powerful and visceral writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Sad story

    I thought this book gave good insight into the wake of the chaos that is wrought lives touched by suicide.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Well written and suspenseful

    I thought this book was well written and developed a complexity in it's characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Good read

    Like the concept. As a widow with 2 young kids I could relate to so much of this. I look foward to more frim this writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Sucked me in

    Sad story but I had to finish it. 246 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Good book

    Took me acouple of pages to interested in it. But after that i got hooked..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Heartbreaking

    This is a hard book to read but so worth it. My heart ached for the characters and I found myself worrying about them when I wasn't reading. I would have liked a little more to the end, but it was a great nivel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Very good

    Depressing but excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    I was moved by the writing; worthwhile reading

    I can see why not all reviewers liked this book, but I found it to be very well written and emotionally engaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    wonderful story

    enjoyed very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Not for everyone!

    I gave this book 4 stars because it's a well-written, good read. That said, this book is definitely not for the feint of heart. It deals with some really uncomfortable, sometimes dark, material and at times I found myself not wanting to continue reading it because it was just depressing. At the same time, I couldn't stop reading it and I'm really glad I stuck it out to the end. Even though it's titled "Untouchable"...you can't help but be "touched" in some way when you read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Great read -- inner workings of the main characters.

    A family thrown off track by the death of one. The story of what happens to those left behind trying to cope with an uncaring world. The Kid whose secret further alienates him from his world wants to see the beauty in all things. The father, a cleaning technician, sees the last of others and the residue they leave behind. You are never sure whose point of view will eventually win out, the Kid or the father. It is so simple for us to see the problems they are trying to face: we want to yell at both of them, yet, that is the story, too. It's a quiet read so well written and crafted you want to start it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Very different.

    Very different book, but I liked it. Headings for the flashbacks might have made it an easier read, but the author definitely has an unbelievable descriptive ability.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Through the eyes of a child

    This book help you deal with the lost of a love one through a child point of view.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Dark

    The subject matter made this a difficult book to read. I disagree with those who said they couldn't relate to the characters. I felt that The Kid was especially well-developed, and you can really empathize with what he is going through. The book was incrediably depressing, and not the type of book that I will read again, but it was very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Not my taste

    Untouchable is a depressing story about a man and his young son struggling to deal with the death of the son's mom. The son does not speak after his mom's death, is bullied on a daily basis at school, and his only friends are two other outcasts. The father struggles with his own lonely existence. The book is fairly well written and after a long toil the author provides resolution. I gave the book 4 stars for the writing, but my taste in the themes of the book is 3 stars. I would like to have givin 3.5 stars, but that is not an option. This is the type of book where the reader gets more out of it after he finishes reading rather than pleasure while he is reading. If you are looking for an uplifting story with a happy ending, this is not it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Stays with you long after you finish it.

    I read this several months ago and still recall several tragic scenes. Not a story to be easily forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wonderful

    What a wonderful story. I had no idea that the story ended as it would. The wife's story is so sad and interesting. From a non-reader, this book made me keep turing the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 205 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11