Customer Reviews for

Untraceable

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    An enjoyable thrill ride. A must read!

    I have to admit, it is not very often I read a book that isn't fantasy or paranormal. Most stories than don't have some sort of supernatural entity do not interest me. This book definitely is the exception and I really enjoyed it. Grace is brave in ways I could only dream of being. She's a gutsy person and an extremely likable character. While out in the woods looking for clues she meets super cute Mo. It wasn't long before I was wanting to see a relationship between them unfold. The descriptions given to us makes Grace's world very easy to picture. It made me want to grab a fishing pole (to bad I don't actually fish) and run out into the wilderness and enjoy all it's glory. The story is fast paced and the way it all tied together in the end was a whirl wind ride I never saw coming. Shelli is a terrific writer. What makes me like the story so much is that it made me feel real emotions. I really cared about Grace and those surrounding her. Untraceable is a wilderness thriller in every sense and I recommend you read this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    I love

    I have only one thing to say.............. MOVIE...movie.......movie ........MOVIE please make a movie

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Unexpected and Awesome!

    I was super happy when I had the chance to review an early copy of this book (which releases today, btw).

    UNTRACEABLE by S. R. Johannes (Coleman and Stott, November 295, 2011)


    You guys may know S. R. Johannes as the fabulous Shelli Johannes who runs the marketing blog MARKET MY WORDS. I was psyched when I found out Shelli was publishing her book and was one of the first to sign up to read it.

    So what is UNTRACEABLE all about? Let's see. It's a story about family. It's a story about adventure. It's got some definite romantic elements (and a love triangle that has a nice, fresh feel to it). It's got layers of deception I never even kind of saw coming. And it's got adventure.

    The main character, Grace, does a pretty good job getting herself in all kinds of trouble, but we're going to cut the girl some slack. Her dad has been missing for three months, and everyone, even her mom, presumes he is dead. But Grace never gives up, and this drives her actions forward for the bulk of the story.

    UNTRACEABLE is not a fantasy. It deals with real life issues like troubled families, cruelty to animals, and friendships that may be more. What did I love about it? First, the setting above all else. Shelli does an amazing job painting the picture of the Smokey Mountains. I felt like I was running through the woods with her, climbing the hills she climbed and watching the stars at night. Second, the romance, especially with one of the guys, Mo. He was caring yet carried his own secrets. And finally, I loved that Shelli left us nice hope for the sequel. I, for one, am looking forward to this!

    Highly recommended for those who enjoy YA adventure with depth and great character development!

    Source of book: From author by request

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Courtesy of Letters Inside Out

    I had been eyeing Untraceable for awhile. Look at the cover, it¿s lovely in a subtle sort of way. When the author emailed me about reviewing it, I immediately jumped on the chance and managed to fit it in right away.

    Grace¿s father has been missing for other 3 months and she¿s convinced he¿s still alive, despite everyone around her saying he isn¿t. She knows that he knows the mountains so well that something is obviously wrong. To the point of obsession and at the risk of alienating everyone around her, she keeps looking for him.

    Grace is such a strong-willed character, I hope to think that in the same situations I would be as determined to believe that my loved one was still alive out there somewhere. And then there is Mo ¿ hot with an English/Australian accent. YUM. There is a bit of mystery surrounding him and that adds to make it even more fun.

    The entire premise had me fascinated, but horrified. As more and more is discovered though about just what is happening in the Smokies, I found myself gasping during the intense scenes. And there are some pretty intense scenes. Untraceable covers some issues that I am planning on looking into further as an animal lover and I¿m sure it¿ll stick with me for a long time to come.

    I need the second book immediately. The ending has a bit of a cliffhanger that has me really curious to see where Johannes takes the series.

    I received my copy from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    Action, Suspense, & a Bit of Romance

    I’m not sure of the category of Untraceable by S.R. Johannes. Probably young adult since the protagonist, Grace, is a teenager. But you don’t have to be a teen to enjoy the book. I did and I’m a few years past nineteen.

    Grace’s dad has been missing for so long, everyone assumes he’s dead – everyone except Grace. He disappeared into the vast forest filled with cliffs and bears and other dangers. But Grace feels inside that he’s alive. He was a Forest Ranger and he taught her everything she knows. And she knows a lot. She sets out to find him, looking for even the smallest clue, like a tossed Cheetos bag. Her mother hardly notices Grace because she’s so distraught and has to continue to work to provide for them. As the days pass and the authorities dismiss her, she ventures farther into the wilderness and deeper into her obsession.

    Untraceable is fast paced with action, suspense, even a bit of romance. Another thing I liked is learning more about survival in the wilderness. Each chapter is headed with a Survival Skill, and as Grace searches for her dad, we go along with her and learn from her actions.

    The ending will surprise you. It ties everything together while leaving a few things unanswered. This is the first book in the Grace series, after all.

    I give Untraceable a rating of Hel-of-a-Story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Alright, so to be honest this book does start out slow. I was wo

    Alright, so to be honest this book does start out slow. I was worried for a time that due to this being more realistic fiction that I was going to turn out not really liking it. Turns out I actually LOVE IT.


    Once the story moves into some of the deeper mystery and betrayal things really pick up, plus add in a fine English boy and I am sold. Like any YA book, for me the characters are what make or break the book so let me give you a run down on a few of them.


    Grace- Oh Grace. Unfortunately I found Grace to grates on my nerves. She is not the worse main character I have encountered but many of her choices leave me yelling at her for her stupidity. However I had the lucky chance to talk to Johannes about Grace and her actions and I came away from that discussion with the realization that Grace's panic choices are reflections of Johannes' own experiences. Being trapped in a survival situation is not something most of us encounter and although I believe we all want to say we would be clear headed and logical with our choices most of us would be just like Grace. I believe that because we see in Grace's actions is what we fear our own will be and that is why she rubs some of us in the wrong way. We as people do not want to be reminded about our own faults and short-comings. This has given me more respect for Grace and I do hope as the series progresses Grace will mature into the heroine with less unwise choices and more experience to guide her.


    Mo- I abso-bloody-lutely love him. Any boy who says posh, loves rocks, and knows how to shoot a gun is a boy for me! Although Mo makes some choices that upset Grace I believe everything he does is for the love of Justice and his own father, what Grace lacks in intelligent decisions I believe Mo makes up for. Though his plan may have been risky it was more put together and I do believe that it was one of the major factors in victory for the characters. (I also happen to know that there is an e-short from Mo's point of view can be found in the In His Eyes anthology and will soon be released as an e-short of its own, so you know where I'll be ;) )


    Tommy- The Grandfather I never had but wish I did, who also kind of reminds me of my Marine friend (who has been like a father to me). So I guess it is not surprising that I loved this character to pieces. A character with a strong heart who is not perfect but is there to save the day just in time. Without Tommy I do not know what Grace would have done or what this book would have been.

    Wyn- And I have to give a little shout-out to the poor ex-boyfriend for all he did and was. Although I was rooting for Mo and Grace, Wyn truly had a good heart and was lovable. I hope that in the next book we will be seeing a bit more of Wyn and hearing more about his life and struggles rather than just the happy face he puts on.

    This book had me crying, yelling, and wanting more. If a book can cause that much emotion, it deserves five stars in my book.

    Last note, this book does contain some violence and animal abuse so it is not for everyone. (Such as my mother) But on that note the violence and abuse of animals IS the point of Johannes' novels. She wants you to get mad and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. I was lucky enough to talk with her about this and likely you all will be seeing a blog post by her soon about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Like No Other Nature/Thriller Book I Have Read

    I was really surprised at how good this book was- it exceeded my expectations! S. R. Johannes writes so well, and pulls the reader into the thick plot along with the subplots that surround Grace's life. It is different than anything I have ever read. It is so refreshing to read a book that I can easily relate to the main character Grace, and her love for nature. I would definetly have to say that I feel I have found a hidden gem of a book.
    Untracable is clean-cut, with a thrilling plot, complex characters, and is definetly worth your time and money. I can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Entrancing Thriller

    This book was a satisfying read and held so much more than I expected!
    While Grace (Main Character) was your average strong female lead, her first-person perspective allowed the reader clear insight into how her mind worked. I could feel her determination to save her father and her pain over her crumbling world. Mo (Romantic Interest) was very ... well, romantic but he seemed to fall for Grace a little fast. And there was one instance at the end, due to a plot twist, that I didn't think was consistent with his character. However, throughout the rest of the book there was very good chemistry between him and Grace.
    Characters: 4.3 Stars
    The starting premise is simple, Grace wants to find her missing dad or reach closure about the situation. But as she uncovers more and more clues, whole new dimensions of the mystery are unveiled. Dashing from one scene to the next, Grace barely manages to stay ahead. The climax was entrancing and the ending poignant! Untraceable will flow easily into the sequel.
    Plot: 5 Stars
    S. R. Johannes' touch was subtle but strong. Somehow action-packed moments managed to convey a quiet thoughtfulness as well as painting a vivid picture of Grace's demons. As Grace tried to untangle her confused life, steady themes emerged and suddenly the title, Untraceable, held enormous importance.
    Style: 5 Stars

    Rating: 4.8

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jump into a world filled with mystery, suspense, and a touch of romance in S.R. Johannes ┬┐Untraceable┬┐.

    A father¿s love for his children is a strong bond, but what about a daughter¿s love for her father?
    Grace is one kick butt heroine and she has learned everything she knows about the forest from her father. Her skills in wilderness survival and tracking will be tested when her father comes up missing. How far will she go in order to save the one she loves?

    Grace is one of my favorite heroines she doesn¿t give up easily and I admire that. Her journey to save her father is full of some intense scenes and lots of action and mystery surrounding his disappearance. This story will linger in your mind long after it is over.

    Along the way Grace meets a handsome and mysterious boy named Mo deepening the mystery. She increasingly intrigued by him, but as the secrets get more dangerous and she realizes she might be in over her head. It¿s going to take everything she has for Grace to have any hope of saving not only her father, but everything she holds dear.

    Jump into a world filled with mystery, suspense, and a touch of romance in S.R. Johannes ¿Untraceable¿.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    You go, girl!

    This YA book has it all. Strong, likable female main character? Check. A believable love triangle? Check. Contrasting, but cute love interests? Check. Adventure? Check. Suspense? Check! Check! Check!
    Grace is determined to find out what happened to her missing father. Her survival skills are put to use and then some when she searches for him amongst the wilderness and dangerous men. Two boys are vying for her attention. The safe hometown guy and the mysterious guy in the woods-interesting contrast between the two. Grace isn't a femme fatale, she is a kick butt teen who can handle being on her own (with touches of fragility) and be appealing to teen boys. The best part of this book was the suspense. It was a page turner until the final paragraph!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    A must read!

    Sixteen year old Grace is the daughter of a local wild life officer who taught her all the survival skills she would ever need, despite her tendency to trip over branches. What her father hadn't bargained for was how badly she would need those skills once he went missing.

    Grace isn't the kind of girl to give up easily. Even when he is officially presumed dead, and everyone including the local sheriff, her mother and the town shrink, are telling her to move on with her life, something tells Grace that they're wrong.

    The only person who will help her is Wyn, her childhood friend and recent ex-boyfriend. He's not exactly at home in the woods and so his support is of the moral kind.

    Then there's Mo, the mysterious boy who rescues Grace from a dangerous encounter in the woods. He likes her and willingly helps her look for her father and track down bear poachers. But who is he, really? Can he be trusted?

    Untraceable starts off with a comfortable pace, drawing us into the life of the town and the characters within, building tension with every chapter. And don't think you will be able to stop reading at the end of one. SR is the queen of chapter cliff hangers!

    And oh, the ending! You'll have to read it to decide what you think.

    I highly recommend Untraceable giving it a strong 4.5 stars out of 5. This is a book that has stayed with me long after I finished reading it, and I'm definitely looking forward to the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2015

    Escape into the Smokies in this enthralling mystery! A superb hi

    Escape into the Smokies in this enthralling mystery!
    A superb high action, fast paced story about Grace, a teenager in the Smokies searching to discover what happened to her forest ranger father when he disappeared more than three months ago. Everyone else seems to have given up on him but she knows about tracking, wildlife and survival from going out with her dad from a young age, so she is using these skills now in her endeavour to find out what happened to him. She’s a feisty, independent young lady who inadvertently puts herself and others into danger by her actions. 

    Grace is rescued by the English stranger, Mo, from a potentially life threatening situation and her feeling for him and her ex-boyfriend add the love triangle romance element to this fantastic suspense. It is well written, enthralling and includes conspiracies, lies, murder and mystery in a roller coaster ride to the very end. A highly entertaining book I have no hesitation in highly recommending to teens, young adults and adults alike - simply stupendous! I’ll certainly be looking out for further books in this series and others by this author.

    Thanks to the author, publishers and NetGalley, too, for letting me read this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Young Adult. I loved this book. The romance isn't wishy-washy an

    Young Adult. I loved this book. The romance isn't wishy-washy and I wasn't bored to death by countless pages of staring into each other's eyes and sloppy kisses. The main character does activities like swimming, fishing, and hiking with her two dudes (the ex and the newbie).

    I requested a free copy of this book in exchange for a review because I love reading Appalachian literature and was pleasantly surprised to find that the story also employs the Eastern Band of Cherokee (Tsalagiyi Detsadanilvgi) and the Qualla Boundary. I enjoyed the author's use of Cherokee (Tsalagi) language and parables scattered through the story.

    I also love how the author is trying to bring attention to animal poaching, particularly of the black bear, and I wish her the best in this endeavor! I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    A YA book that can cross the age barrier without any issues. 5

    A YA book that can cross the age barrier without any issues. 5 Star Worthy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    No one can convince Grace that her father, a forest ranger missing for over three months in the wilds of the Smokie Mountains is never coming back. With determination more fierce than a Momma Bear protecting her cubs, she doggedly searches for some clue to the whereabouts of her missing father. Grace is obsessed, but every clue she finds is discounted and time is running out on her hope. More comfortable in the woods, than in town, trained to survive by her father, she stumbles upon a heinous operation that kills, maims and brutalizes bears for profit. As she digs deeper, she discovers that the people she knew, the town she knew and even her own father were not as they seemed. Lies, deceit and evil surround her until she doesn't know who she can really trust. Is anyone as they seem? Will she ever learn the truth of her father's fate? if she does, will it bring closure?

    Untraceable is by far,one of the best Young Adult Mystery/thrillers that I have ever read! Author S. R. Johannes has created a dark story that not only raises awareness to the hidden black market that is endangering the lives of the black bear, as greed trumps the preservation of life for this majestic animal, but does so in a fast-paced and intriguing manner with vivid details and brilliant plot and character development all around. Grace's character is determined, smart and daring, as well as independent and emotionally strong, a wonderful role model for the YA crowd! I found myself glued to each word, yet never expecting where the story would end up!

    A review copy was provided by NetGalley and All Night Reads in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This story follows the life of Grace after her father goes missi

    This story follows the life of Grace after her father goes missing and then reported dead even when nobody finds his
    body. Grace is sure that her father isn’t dead, he’s just waiting for someone to find and rescue him. As Grace searches
    for her lost father she comes upon secrets that destroy many of the relationships that she has built up over the years
    and some that have just started.

    I loved this book. I loved how strong Grace is in her unwillingness to give up on somebody she loves. I love all the twists
    and turns that this book takes and the outcomes. This is a definite must read for anybody who likes suspense, romance,
    mysteries, and realistic fiction.

    I love how the author set up the plot and the point of view in the story. It was very easy to connect with the characters and
    get into the story. This is one of those books that you stay up all night reading just so you can get to the ending and see
    who is the bad guy. The author succeeded in making this book interesting and bringing a new theme into the book reading
    world. The plot was exceptional! You could tell that it was well thought out and the author put a lot of work into the book.

    I really hope that there will be a second book that starts a whole new adventure with these characters. They are just the
    perfect combo of strong and weak that allows you to sympathize and cheer for throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Love this book. I was enthralled with this story, the characters

    Love this book. I was enthralled with this story, the characters an emotions. Can't wait for #3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Great read!

    Not quite what I was expecting when I purchased it but what a great read! Kept me interested through the entire story and couldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    WOW

    This book was an exceptional read. Filled with shocking twists and turns that make me want to scream, it draws emotion from the reader. You laugh, cry, and become just as frustrated with the turn of events just like Grace Wells. I believe my life would be complete if a movie were made......... please?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Pretty good

    Very interesting book. The plot caught and held my attention. Will look for more books in this series and by this author. Very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2