Customer Reviews for

Unveiled

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    My first Courtney Milan book and the first in her Turner series.

    My first Courtney Milan book and the first in her Turner series. I was inspired to read this because twice in one week tantalizing quotes from the Tumblr blog, quotesfromromancenovels, as well as an excerpt from Sarah Wendell’s non-fiction tribute, Everything I Know About Love I Learned From Romance Novels, mentioned this book. So, of course, I had to read it.

    This was a family story about an inheritance dispute and, as expected, it was emotional and heart-wrenching. At its center, was a passionate and seductive love story. Wealth, power, and love were all at stake for the Dalrymples and the Turners.
    My thoughts:
    Margaret, the name of the heroine, was a jumble of contrasts; a buttoned-up and serious name for a woman filled with deep passions. She lost everything and was left behind by her brothers, scorned by her father, and secretly posing as a servant to spy on Ash. “Maybe it was her eyes, narrowed and steely, fixed on him as if he were the source of all that was wrong in the world. Maybe it was the set of her chin, so unyielding, so fiercely determined, when every face around hers mirrored uncertainty. Whatever it was, something about her resonated deep within him. It reminded him of the cacophony of an orchestra as it tuned its instruments: dissonance, suddenly resolving into harmony.” (p17)
    Ash wasn’t anything like Margaret expected. He was kind, honorable, and unpretentious. “The man who had taken everything from her should have been some hunched creature, prematurely bald, capable of no expression except an insolent sneer. But this man sat his horse with all the ease and grace of an accomplished rider, and she could not make out a single massive, unsightly gem anywhere on his person. Drat.” (p19)
    Ash’s unwavering devotion and love for Margaret. He understood her, cheered for her, supported her. “'…I want you to paint your own canvas. I want you to unveil yourself.'” “You matter. You are important.'” (p56)
    Ash’s complex relationship with his brothers, Mark and Smite, whose stories I assume will follow in this series. He did everything for them, to make up for their miserable childhood. Yet he felt separated from them. “It was as if they were an extension of him, so close to his heart that he could not guess at the topography of their emotions. He could see no secret way into their hearts.” (p174)
    The lovely and devastating note that Margaret left for Ash to find in his study.
    Mark, Ash’s younger brother, and his treatise on chastity was both serious and funny. I hope to read more of Mark in a future story. “’Chastity,’ Ash said dryly, ‘is far more arousing than I had anticipated.’” (p125)
    Margaret’s struggle with defending her brothers amid her growing love for Ash. “She could live without society’s blessing. She could not live with her own condemnation. Betraying Ash’s secret would be like spilling dark paint on the picture of herself that she was only now beginning to comprehend.” (p119)
    The sizzling passion between Ash and Margaret, especially the closet scene. “He was going to set her aflame, coaxing every last desire from her body.” (p105)
    Margaret’s ineffective and selfish brothers, Edmund and Richard. Heaven help a woman with inept and unsupportive brothers. "How had a family that produced such a faint-hearted coward also come up with Margaret?" (p205)
    Gorgeous writing:
    “It was the rumble, not of thunder, but its low, rolling precursor, trembling on the horizon. It was all of that. It was none of that. It was sheer animal instinct, and it reached up and grabbed him by the throat. Her. Her.” (p17)
    "Margaret had always thought a man seduced a woman by making her aware of his charms: his body, his wealth, his kisses. How naive she had been. Ash Turner seduced her with the promise of her own self." (p75)
    ”’The measure of male familiarity is the degree of barbarism to which one reverts in the absence of female companionship.’” (p84)
    “He wanted to be more than her defiance. He wanted to be her strength, her amusement. He wanted to be her lover. He wanted to be her every wicked desire and her safe haven, all at once.” (p127)
    ”’Either it’s an honor to marry a woman, or it’s not to be done at all, not at any cost.’” (p141)
    “But what lit his face when he saw her was more than a smile, more than a grin. It was as if someone had thrown aside the curtains of a sickroom on a glorious morning, to let sunlight spill into every darkened corner.” (p239)
    A gorgeously written love story. I will definitely be reading more Courtney Milan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Liked it

    I enjoyed this book, good characters, especially Ash, good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Good read

    After reading some of the reviews i was prepared not to care for Ash, the hero. But i have to say i was more than pleasantly surprised by hia character. He is the man who truly comes to rescue a damsel in distress. I dont want to give anything away...but I did internally sigh a few times wishing there were real men like that in the world.

    As far as the story goes...it was decent and a little slow moving. I was not riveted, but definitely wanted to finish the novel. The author also educates you in society edicts back then including women's attire and what is expected at social gatherings whether they be balls or fetes.

    This book does have graphic sex scenes, but not the most graphic that i have ever read. It is dedinitely not for junior readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    I enjoy reading books that are page turners to find out how it will end. This book fit this category for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    3/28/12

    Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    A lovely read

    This is a wonderful story that had been beautifully told by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Oh, Brother(s)!

    I don't think my heart has ever beat so hard while reading a romance - and certainly I haven't giggled with delight for quite some time at some of the mishaps that happen between the two main characters! Courtney Milan definitely has another heart-thumping winner with her latest release Unveiled! The great thing about Ms. Milan's romances, I think, is how flawed - and yet how adorably so! - her heroes are - and Ash is certainly cut from the same cloth! I admired his fierce loyalty for his younger brothers and his drive to provide them with everything he believed that they deserved after living an impoverished childhood, even stealing a dukedom through legal channels. He comes across as a powerfully built, fair, charming, and ruthlessly loyal man - but deep down, he is still with insecurities and shameful secrets that he cannot share with anyone, even his brothers. Margaret is a strong woman - another thing I like about Ms. Milan's romances - who certainly has a sturdy backbone to face the intimidating Ash who basically ruined her life. She too has a deep sense of family commitment - and it is this that prevents Ash and Margaret to embrace their passion for each other. She wants to protect her family, and he his - and at the heart of the matter lies the dukedom and who owns it. Unveiled was a romance that had great strength, unwavering loyalty, and exuberant romance at its backbone - and I definitely am itching for its sequel Unclaimed in the fall!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not exactly what it promises

    While this was an entertaining read, I thought it fell a little short of its promise. This was a great story but the secondary characters were almost more compelling than the main characters, I found a number of their reactions at key moments to not be "in character" and much opportunity for the characters to develop seemed to be missed. I sort of felt like I had been promised a bowl of silky creamy mushroom soup and got something made with skim milk and canned mushrooms. The flavors were there, but the body was not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Writer

    This is my first Courtney Milan book, and boy does she know how to put beautiful words on the page. This will definitely not be my last read by her. I was most impressed with the way Milan delivered the blows in the story. She distracts with wonderfully crafted writing and quick dialogue, and then bam! things start coming to a head that you didn't think were going to happen for pages and pages. You don't know when anything is going to happen, and you learn quickly that you will never guess how she's going to do it. You can't block the surprise. My favorite part of story was the vulnerabilities Milan gave the main characters, and how she used them in the story. To watch them at work was something else. Margaret and Ash are so vulnerable to each other it was like watching two young teenagers fall in love through innocent flirtation, and small fits of giggles. All the while you are terrified that at any moment they are going to use those vulnerabilities to strike out at one another. Which you expect, what with all the vengeance, deception, and human determination spinning around the characters. It's a whirlwind. The entire story is laced with a build up that catapults in one direction, but lands in a spectacular other place. And in the end there's a bit of something all of us can take home: Paint your canvas, and never let anyone hold the sheet over it. You must be unveiled. Kudos to the author! -Posey, Everybody Needs A Little Romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging early Victorian romance

    In 1837 the scandal in Somerset rocks the Ton in London and elsewhere as the adult children of the dying duke of Parford turn out to be illegitimate. Instead of an offspring, a distant cousin formerly Mr. Ash Turner found the proof that he now Lord Ash Turner is the legitimate heir. His younger brother Mark begs Ash not to do what he has wrought to the Duke's children Richard, Edmund and Anna Margaret Dalyrmple who have become social pariahs, but they also file a countersuit asking parliament to pass a bill making them the legitimate heirs.

    Parford's shunned daughter Anna Margaret goes undercover to spy on the upstart Ash by pretending to be the dying Duke's Nurse Miss Margaret Lowell. Her brothers want their sister to find proof to support their request for a royal proclamation of legitimacy. Ash and Margaret are attracted to one another from their first meeting. This tears her heart asunder as she falls in love with the kind enemy but wants to remain loyal to her brutish siblings.

    This is an engaging early Victorian romance starring an obstinate lead male who vows vengeance against the Dalyrmple brothers for what they did to his siblings. However, Margaret's emotional predicament makes the historical entertaining as she brings intensity to the storyline. Her brothers are rude and shallow, while Ash's relationships with his family except somewhat with Mark are ignored for the most part. The Dalyrmple efforts to persuade Parliament to act on their behalf are a refreshing concept though if enacted is an abuse of power. Sub-genre readers will enjoy this intriguing nineteenth century tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4