Customer Reviews for

Unveiling Islam: An Insider's Look at Muslim Life and Beliefs

Average Rating 3
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A must read.

Mohammed was a great military man. He was able to take what the Nestorians taught (a heretical form of Christianity that was exiled into Persia) and add to the story to create Islam. Since there are different sects of Islam there (of course) are differing opinions as to...
Mohammed was a great military man. He was able to take what the Nestorians taught (a heretical form of Christianity that was exiled into Persia) and add to the story to create Islam. Since there are different sects of Islam there (of course) are differing opinions as to the peacefulness of the religion itself. However, this book shows that there is a major difference in the fundamentals of Christianity and Islam. Islam's foundation is violent, whereas Christianity's is not.

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

An Extremely Biased book

When I first started thinking about reverting to Islam, I read this book thinking that I would get a better feel for Islam. I must say I was sorely disappointed. It is written by two brothers who converted to Christianity. They are arguing against a religion that the...
When I first started thinking about reverting to Islam, I read this book thinking that I would get a better feel for Islam. I must say I was sorely disappointed. It is written by two brothers who converted to Christianity. They are arguing against a religion that they don't believe in and yet trying to make it seem like they are a part of Islam. Don't be fooled. This is not a book to explain Islam.

posted by Anonymous on April 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    A must read.

    Mohammed was a great military man. He was able to take what the Nestorians taught (a heretical form of Christianity that was exiled into Persia) and add to the story to create Islam. Since there are different sects of Islam there (of course) are differing opinions as to the peacefulness of the religion itself. However, this book shows that there is a major difference in the fundamentals of Christianity and Islam. Islam's foundation is violent, whereas Christianity's is not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    Highly recommended to anyone, Christian or Muslim, to learn what is really being taught in the Quran (Koran).

    Excellent, well documented, eye-opening truth we aren't being taught; exposed by those who have lived it and left Islam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2006

    A real eye opener!

    This book is a must read - especially for those thinking about becoming Muslim - or those who believe it it a 'religion of peace'. You must know the truth before it is too late!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    Being half irish and arabic this book was accurate

    It amazed me first of all how real this book spoke out. Yes, islam can be a very nice place if you had some things changed.Some of the people there are peaceful and very nice. However, when i went there to visit they attacked me becuase of my beliefs. They told me i shouldnt be able to wear shoes that made noise,have a boyfriend,or go to school. A man told me whats the point if all you are here for is to be used sexually for your husband? That kind of attitude is whats shocking... I am giong to travel agian to each middle east country and writing a book about it. who knows maybe my voice will come out soon in a book! Christina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Unify the World - Excellent book

    Excellent book. One of the best I have read in the last 10 years. I was born and raised as a Muslim in Turkey. My parents are secular Muslim. Many scholars have been assassinated since they have revealed the dark and ugly side of Islam in Turkey. Our door was marked with paint since we refused to give ¿iane¿ (donation). Because most of these donations are conveyed to imams (clergy)but not the poor. This book is an excellent source to show the lacking spirituality to the religion of Islam. Caner brothers gently revealed the military expansion of Islam forcefull, brutal and unspiritual nature. As a matter of fact, Sufism, which is considered un-Islam, was simply a response to the brutality and the growing materialism in Islamic world. For many Muslims the sharia failed to satisfy their deepest spiritual longings and desires. Perhaps, this is why many Muslims have been choosing Christianity. Today orthodox Muslims are assassinating young and intellectual scholars whom writes against Islam. World does not here this. The very strength of Islam, in its reliance on a simple creed (inanc) and the five pillars (fundamental principle) of practice, proved to be the very weakness of Islam. This book so romantically explains this. God shake, can anyone explain me how is the Hajj (the fifth pillar of Islam which obligates you to pilgrimage to Mecca during the month of Dhu al-Qadah at least once in a lifetime, for a Muslim the hajj is the ultimate act of worship'.) related to well being. How does it relate to morality? Could the motivation for the Fifth Pillar be wealth that would bring lots of it to Mohammed and his friends? Just to keep in mind that he was a businessman rather than a clergy (I¿m sorry I cannot say a prophet) and he married a rich widow! I strongly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    Every non-Muslim should read this book!

    Of the several books I have read about Islam, this is BY FAR the best. Written by former Muslims, now Christians, the Caner brothers are sensitive to both Islamic and Judeo-Christian faiths. All statements are well documented with Koranic, Hadithic, or Biblical references. Concise writing and superb organization reflect the authors' academic backgrounds. Every non-Muslim should read this outstanding book as a start for comparing Islamic and Judeo-Christian faiths. I rate this book 5-PLUS STARS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2003

    VERY IMPORTANT BOOK

    This extrememly important book presents a factual account of Islam. Thoroughly researched and well-documented, the authors' writing style is easy to read. This timely book is a must for everyone in this day and age. I will highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2002

    A Must Read For Our Time!

    After September 11 2001, this book could not be more appropriate or more timely. Many in the West are seeking an understanding of a religion that could so mercilessly and indiscriminately slaughter so many innocent people at a given moment in time. The religion is Islam. Islam, as the authors of this book declare, is often obscured by a veil of unfamiliar beliefs, customs and practices. The book `Unveiling Islam' is a very sympathetic yet uncompromising presentation of the entire scope and field of Islam, including it's practices, ethics and beliefs. Not least, it deals with in detail the primary differences between Christianity and Islam. Ergun Mehmet Caner and Emir Fethi Caner, were both raised as Sunni Muslims by a leader in a Mosque and have lived the Muslim life to the full. This crucial book by the Caner brothers, both esteemed and learned Professors in their own right, is a phenomenal work. The work shows extensive research and knowledge and is articulate and authoritative, with a deep understanding and comprehension of Islamic politics, theology, beliefs and mindset. This vivid analysis of Islam is by two former devout Muslims who are now Born Again Christians. The authors openly reveal that at this moment for the sake of the Gospel of Jesus Christ, men, women and children are being bullwhipped into submission, tortured, imprisoned, beaten, battered and broken. Homes are being burnt and families are being executed. Conversion from Islam to Christianity and faith in Jesus Christ often means being disowned, disinherited, expulsion, arrest and even death. The authors insist and expose that if you believe that persecution, torture and murder for belief and faith in Jesus Christ are things of the past, then you are sadly, badly mistaken. The authors dismiss the claim so popular today that `all religions are the same' and the Muslims and Christians worship the same God. They state that either Islam is correct in the assumption that "there is only one God, Allah, and Muhammad is his prophet" or that Christianity is correct when Jesus Himself says, "I am the Way, the Truth and the Life, no-one comes to the Father except through Me." They cannot both be correct and both Gods cannot be the same. Muslims overtly declaring that `Allah has no son' and Christianity declaring that `Jesus is the Son of God'. This book is not a diatribe filled with hostility against Islam. There is no hostility here at all. No hatred, only sadness and love and a desire to share the Truth that the authors have found. It is a genuine, honest attempt to portray Islam as it is and from a Christian perspective, by two learned Muslims who have been there and trodden both paths. The authors state that the events of September 11 2001, were regretfully only a very sad validation of Islam to those familiar with the Qur'an and the Hadith, and those familiar with the protocols of Jihad and the beliefs surrounding the worldwide expansion of Islam & the beliefs surrounding an Islamic martyr's eternity. There is so much detail here that it is not possible to cover it all in a review. Read it for yourself. We all owe it to ourselves to be aware of the entire context of what we face in the `war against terrorism' and those who sadly fight against the West in the name of Islam. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    Finally!!! Truth About Islam

    These two professors have written a wonderful, well researched, and scholarly book about Islam, simply to present truth. Reared as Muslims by a devoted Islamic father, they present keen insight into the history and beliefs of Islam. Doing the unthinkable as Muslims, they found a personal loving God through faith in Jesus Christ. Their story is absolutely amazing, and their objective is to teach Christians how to win the hearts of Muslims through the love of Christ. A Muslim who abandons Islam is despised, hated, and rejected by other Muslims. While the Christian faith welcomes open questions, examination, investigation and scrutiny of it's teachings, those practices can get you killed in the Islamic religion. Unquestioned devotion and acceptance of Islamic teaching is the model for Muslim followers, and the suppression of free minded inquiry into the Muslim faith is exactly why this book will be denounced by Islamic devotees. Truth and freedom always come with a high cost, and the authors of this book have clearly shown a willingness to pay the price. I hope our nation's leaders will read this work, and what an amazing, up-to-date book for these times!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    sometimes the truth hurts

    While some others might say that this book is a twist of Islamic teachings, there is plenty of evidence to the contrary. Throughout the book the authors reference where they are getting their information and allow the skeptic to simply look it up for themself. What more needs to be said? This book puts in plain terms exactly what the true teachings of Islam are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1