Customer Reviews for

The Unwanted

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    First John Saul ever!

    When I was 14 I hated to read, but I had to pick up a John Saul book cause the cover dragged me to it. After reading it my parents can't (don't) take me away from reading books. The only author that I don't figure out how they write is John Saul. Normally after one or two books by the same person I notice they write the same. John Saul never writes the same and keeps everything intersting.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    MONKEY SHINES MEETS CARRIE MEETS SECOND CHILD

    This is one of John Woodruff Saul's best books. That his novels hit so close to reality they must sometimes be put down is what is so enjoyable about them. THE UNWANTED is like his book SECOND CHILD in that a teenaged girl must live with her father and his new family on the opposite, or east coast, after the death of her mother. The title describes the girl's feelings about being unwanted by her new family and her father's cessation of visits when she lived in California with her mother. It also describes the neighbor's boy and her friend, Eric, who lives with a passive mother and his abusive father. The girl discovers, through the town's eccentric, that she has an ability to see events through animals and an ability to connect with them. It is like MONKEY SHINES in that the animals pick up on her friends, enemies, resentments...in short, they are kind to her friends and attack her enemies without any conscious command from her. The scene where she helps ruin the big dance is reminiscient of CARRIE a

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    To: kenzie from: nova

    I wanna chat how old are you?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Kenzie

    Anybody wanna chat?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Good for halloweentime

    It was pretty good...got a little boring in the middle. The last couple chapter make it worth reading,however...especially the last ten pages or so. A nice twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Super scary

    Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Cats and Birds

    Pros: a good read and well written. Cons: A bit long and drawn out. It didnt really get interesting til near the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Action packed from start to finish! Good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    wow dark magic

    This was a good read, tense. A bit slow in some few areas, but definately recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Unwanted Vs. Black Creek Crossing

    I am a fan of John Saul, and his books are suspenseful & fun, but I couldn't help myself comparing this book to his other novel 'Black Creek Crossing.' The whole idea about a girl and a boy pretty much practicing 'witchcraft' and the cat who does strange things and helps murder people for their owners approval. Although some of the ideas and happenings were different it was also much like the other novel. Ill say if you are a John Saul fan you should pick this one up, especially if you have read the other one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    Interesting read!

    I enjoyed this book. It got a little drawn out about 3/4 through. But overall it was a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2005

    A gnarly book

    This book is awsome, and it was a fun read. I liked the relationship between Cassie and her animals, and also Cassie. The suspense and action in the book was very enjoying, and made me want to read more and more. This book was rad and I liked it alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    very good

    i havent yet finished the book i am on the last few pages but i love it i cant put it down. It is one of my favorite books so far and i look forward to reading others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    Scary

    This book is cool. Really cool. It's suspenceful! It's scary! It's dramatic! John Saul's books are so well-written, that I can't help but begin to relate and sympathize with the characters, no matter what their personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    amazing

    i have read the book and it's wonderful. i actually found it in the streets about to get domped away in the garbage and i picked it up not knowing what type of book it was, i just read the back cover and it seemed very good. i started to read it and it was good from the start because it talked about how cassie's mom died that was the interesting part cause i didn't know what she was going to do next. it's a very good book and i would probably say that it's alittle scary but not that much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2000

    Never forget this book at home!

    I must say this is one of the best Saul books I have read. I could not put it down. I got the book for my bus rides to and from work. I found my self reading it at lunch and sneaking reading it while noone was looking at work. Just as I was towards the end of the book I forgot it. The whole day at work was awefull... All I could think about was Cassie and Eric, and what was going to happen next. This is a must read! And I'm telling you don't ever forget it at home!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2