BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Unwanted: A Memoir of Childhood

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Amazing!

    I could not put this book down. His life in communist Vietnam was horrible. Yet he and his family perservered. I am glad he was able to finally get to the US and is successful. Would love a book from him about how he found living in America and the success he has had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Amazing book of survival. One that alot of Americans can not ev

    Amazing book of survival. One that alot of Americans can not even imagine. Make me realise how truely lucky we are to live in the USA vs a communist/socialist state. Thank you for telling your story. I am glad you and your family survived. Can your next book be about the trial and tribulations transitioning to the USA? I would read it in a heart beat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    A Must-Read

    Awesome book, hard to put down. Definitely a recommended read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    Great read!

    I really love reading this book. The way he describe everything just makes you feel like you're standing there watching it unfold right before your eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    At the top of my list

    I read this book at least a year ago and it remains at the top of my list. I recommend it to anyone that reads. My teenage kids have all read it and written book reports on it. I would catch myself crying in response to the tragedy's that Kien witnessed and endured. I think I read it in a day and once I was done I wanted to pick it up and read it again. Please read, I promise you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Revealing!

    The author gives a revealing account of life soon after the Vietnamese communist take-over in 1975. If I hadn't heard simmilar accounts from my own brother, a former lieutenant in the south Vietnamese army at the time, I would not have believed the stories as told by the author. This recount also lets immigrants like us appreciate our adopted country, the great USA, even more. Vitally important privileges like clean water, plentiful food, safe shelter, safe passable roads, a lawful and tolerant society, and a strong national Constitution are often taken for granted. That is the luxury of being an American.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I have read

    I travel quite a lot and am always looking for a good book. This book was over the top. It grabbed me from the beginning through the touching story of a child living through the struggle and suffering of the Vietnam war. This was recommended from my high schoool son and I have passed it on to friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    Wonderful and Emmotional

    I loved this memoir and am surprised that the author remembers everything in such detail. I guess this is why this is such a powerful memoir. It is hard to imagine what it was like to grow up in Vietnam after the war, especially for people born two decades after the war's end. Although he does not exclusively concetrate on the war, it is still apparent throughout the book that the war and its outcome are what determined significant events in his life and his family's life. And the obstacles his family faced not only from corrupt officials but from their own family members who were unsupportive and jealous of their former position of wealth. He also gave a glimpse into the life of Amero-Asian children who were abandoned by their parents after the war and the stigma they faced from other Vietnamese. I recommend this book to anyone wondering what it was like to grow up in Vietnam after the end of the Vietnam War and how it was to grow up ostracized because of an ethnic association with the enemy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Most amazing. . . .

    My heart goes out to Dr Nguyen and his family. More than 24 hrs after reading this book, I cannot get it off my mind as it has made an indelible mark. Although I was tired beyond belief when I sat down to start the book, I could not put it down until I had finished it -- about 6 hrs later. 'Unwanted: A Memoir' has got to be one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. I am in absolute awe of the author and the story of his life. This incredibly descriptive book takes the reader to the point of being able to see/smell in your mind's eye. Few books truly have the ability to accomplish this task. Dr Nguyen's ability to convey his life events and emotions 'matter of factly' without pandering sentimentality are outstanding. The story speaks very loudly enough for itself. I am so very proud of him and his accomplishments and wish him well with all of his endeavors. Amazing, absolutely amazing. I will be recommending this book to everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Mesmerizing Tale

    When I first decided to read this book, I was doing it only for credit in my accelerated english class, thinking it wouldn't take that long to read. (We are required to read two classic fictions and one nonfiction per semester in my english class.) I started this book on a Monday morning and finished it that same day. This story made me cry, which says something because I'm not a very emotional person. The story of Kien is mesmerizing and it opened my eyes to see that not everyone grows up in an ideal way. People should read this book, if not for a class then for their own personal gain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2004

    one of the best

    This book was truely one of the best I have ever read. Compelling story that really touched me and made me appreciate all that I have in life...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    A MUST READ!

    I am a big fan of biographies of everyday people. This book was great. It shows the strength and courage of the common man in times of immense trails.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    Things I never antticipated

    I am an american chinese. With parents who endured many things such as Kien. I've always heard the story's of what they had gone through. My parents are chinese but were born in Cambodia and raised in Vietnam. The story's they told me were very intriging. But reading this book let me understand from another perspective since it wasn't from someone I knew. I realize what my parents faced to to give themselves and their children a better future. Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Insight into another's world

    Wonderful book. To learn what another had to endure through no fault of his own and how he conquered these feats was so well told. Gives us all some insight. I truly enjoyed reading this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Interesting, but somewhat distorted view!

    The story of a mixed Vietnamese, who feels like an outsider among his own people. The reason, that he is treated like a second class citizen, is not so much because of the prejudice against him, an Amerasian child, but more because of the prejudice against his mother. From Kien's own descriptions, she seems like a person who advances in life, not on her own hard work, but by mating and marrying into wealth. Her kind represents the downfall of the old Vietnamese morale, which is heavily influenced by Confucius' teachings. One of the beliefs is that even in life's worst circumstances, keep your integrity at all cost because it is the only thing that matters. Most intellectuals in Vietnam at that time resents the fact that many young Vietnamese women would abandon the old teaching, degrade themselves by selling to the American GI's. The author's view is somewhat bound by his own fustrations of his life's station due to his mother's status. His own behaviors never did rise above the people that he thought of as treating him unfairly. Kim, his romance interest and the only person treated him more than an equal, was taken advantage of and used by him. His situation is sad, but I think his own actions bring about some of the treatments he got. I am glad that he was given a second chance to start his life over in the U.S. and made something of himself. I hope that he will move on beyond his grippling inferiority complex and learn to be kind to the people around him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    What a story!

    WOW..This is such a poignant and compelling story. It was a very moving memoir indeed. I could not put it down..finished in two days. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2002

    This book reminds you to appreciate what you have...

    This book is amazing in the fact that by reading just a few chapters makes you realize that life is very short and that those of us living in America are very fortunate. I don't think I have really understood how bad it is for children who were half American, half Vietnamese. My parents (who are Vietnamese) used to tell me, but reading a first-hand account makes it more concrete. The story will hopefully inspire you in the same way it did me. The guy went through a lot of tough times and was still able to come out a nice guy who made a good living for himself (a dentist in NYC).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2002

    Moving

    I could never write words to do this book justice. It was truly a moving story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    outstanding

    i could not put the book down. interesting to hear from a young person's perspective. really went through a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    Unbelieveable

    After reading this book, I learned to appreciate more about life and not to take things for granted. I felt more fortunate then others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2