Customer Reviews for

Unwind (Unwind Dystology Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(836)

4 Star

(198)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly Good

Imagine life in the future. The Second Civil War, also known as ¿The Heartland War¿ has been fought and eventually resolved by certain constitutional amendments known as ¿The Bill of Life.¿ So while human life may not be touched from conception until the age of thirteen...
Imagine life in the future. The Second Civil War, also known as ¿The Heartland War¿ has been fought and eventually resolved by certain constitutional amendments known as ¿The Bill of Life.¿ So while human life may not be touched from conception until the age of thirteen, a child may be retroactively aborted between the ages of thirteen and eighteen. This process, known as ¿unwinding¿ doesn¿t technically end life, but separates all the body parts to be used for medical transplants. In this futuristic society, unwinding alters the meaning of life. Unwinding is the fate set for three teens that meet by chance. Connor has always been a troublemaker, and his parents have finally had enough. Risa is a ward of the state, and budget cuts have forced Risa into this situation. Lev is the only one of the three who doesn¿t see unwinding as a terrible thing rather, as a tithe, he accepts that being unwound is his purpose in life. In a deadly car crash, these teens escape the fate that awaits them at harvest camps and flee for their lives (although Lev is more of a kidnappee). In this incredible and thought-provoking novel, Neal Shusterman questions what it means to be human and the value of life. Unwind may see like just a unique action novel, but it is so much more. The desperation, danger, and running-for-your-life sequences may thrill the action lover, but the story is more profound than that. It was actually quite difficult for me to read this novel because of the horrible atrocity called unwinding. Half the time, I couldn¿t even believe how inhuman some of the characters were to commit these morally wrong acts. What relieved me, though, was that for every bad thing, there was something good the random acts of kindness strangers performed for the fugitives sometimes brought tears to my eyes. This novel revolves around the controversial topic of the pro-life/pro-choice debate, because it focuses on the sacredness of life. However, Shusterman does not take the topic from a religious or scientific perspective, but bases this book around moral everyone should have: everyone deserves the right to live and not just in the scientific sense that all your body parts are functioning, but living as a whole. All this was channeled into the lives of runaways who were slated to be unwound in this unforgettable story. I can¿t really explain how amazing this novel was you¿ll just have to read it for yourself to understand. Just know that although most of the novel was pretty depressing, the story ends on a hopeful note. Fans of The Host by Stephenie Meyer, the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, and Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer will also enjoy this novel.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Confused

I dont want to buy it and then not like it. Should i buy it?

posted by 10552750 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 198 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Unwind is about three kids who are all supposed to be

    Unwind is about three kids who are all supposed to be unwound and try to escape. They eventually cross paths and team up. One of the kids, Lev, was born to be unwound and is okay with it. But the other two weren't born to be unwound and they aren't okay with it. That made Lev mad so he left them and tried to get them caught. Conner and Risa who are the other two unwinds escape and end up with some old lady and a few other unwinds. They are sent away to many different places for unwinds until they get to their permanent location. They stay here with hundreds of other unwinds for a while. The master of this unwind camp was accused of having unwinds parts on his body and many unwinds start to rebel. During this, Conner is accusing one of the big and strong unwinds of killing four other unwinds. This upset Roland, who was the one that Conner was accusing. The admiral, who was the leader of the unwind graveyard, had a heart attack during the riot. Then Conner and Risa and Roland have to get him to a hospital. That's when Roland turns in Conner and Risa for being run away unwinds. This also backfires on Roland because he too gets sent to the harvest camp along with Conner and Risa. At the harvest camp Roland gets unwound. Risa joins the band, so that delays her time of being unwound. Conner is about to get unwound when a bunch of clappers come and try to blow up the building. That saves Conner and Risa. They both escape, but are in bad condition. It ended up that Lev was one of the clappers who tried to save the place. Conner and Risa both go to the hospital and Conner gets the arm of an unwind... which happens to be Roland's.
    I liked how this book had an edge to it. It always had something new going on so it never got boring. I didn't like how much it went back and forth between characters, because it would get confusing. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is willing to read about action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Good

    Reead it in class but never got past chapter 67 i got bored of it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Hmmm...

    Interesting and frightening premise. I was not sure at first what i thought of the whole idea of how a society could allow "unwinding" to occur...but there are too many examples throughout history that provide evidence that atrocitites do occur.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Wow!

    I have to say I wasnt necessarily "grabbed" but my interest.was kept, until the last 100 pages. Then I was HOOKED! Great sci-fi book. Loved the plot and twisted details. Must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    :D

    I love this book. Its so good the ending is great! :):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Loved.

    I really enjoyed this book a lot! While the idea is a little disturbing it turns into a beauriful ending. Stick with it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Readable!

    This book definately gave a lot of perspective and was an enlightening read. So many twists!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Good read

    The beginning was very slow and i was going to stop reading, BUT it got extremely good and suspenseful towards the end!! Highly recommend this book!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Niiiice

    It was pretty good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Great read

    Loved it couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    It was a great book! I got lost at some parts, but it was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Wow!

    Unwind totally blew my mind. Really makes you think about the politics surrounding abortion and what the whole debate over the issue could lead to. I hope our world never becomes this...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    wow

    I love books that make you think in these twisted 'what if' futures. This book will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    very good

    This book was a book club selection. It was a somewhat disturbing book about unwanted children being unwound by their parents. If they can make it on their own until they are 18 they are free. Imaginative story that seems impossible but it is something that could come about someday. The characters were very interesting. I liked this book even though I did not think I would. I thought the subject matter would be depressing and unbelievable. It is not light hearted fun reading but worth it. Give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Different read

    If you are looking for a different type of read- this is for you. Gets the mind going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love it!

    The plot is amazing with so many twists and turns! The only flaw is the ending doesn't really give closurel but other than that it's perfect. I redommend it to people who like action with a bit of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Super book

    I loved this book... until the end. I didnt like how it ended. I thought Connor amd Risa should have gone back to Sonia to do something with their letters they wrote. I hope Neal Shusterman is writing a sequel. Otherwise, I will be mad!
    If you did like this book, check out The Schwa Was Here, also by Neal Shusterman. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Thrilling Suspensful Creepy Book!

    This book had me hooked on until the book was
    over. It was very exciting and I loved it!
    Espeacially with what happened at the end.
    I recommend it.
    To suspensful, horror readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Intriguing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Awesome

    This book was pretty amazing! I really liked this plot and the characters. It was an unexpected story and really different from any other story that I have read. It's disturbing and grabs you right from the start. Totally reccomend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 198 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10