Customer Reviews for

Unwind (Unwind Dystology Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(835)

4 Star

(198)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly Good

Imagine life in the future. The Second Civil War, also known as ¿The Heartland War¿ has been fought and eventually resolved by certain constitutional amendments known as ¿The Bill of Life.¿ So while human life may not be touched from conception until the age of thirteen...
Imagine life in the future. The Second Civil War, also known as ¿The Heartland War¿ has been fought and eventually resolved by certain constitutional amendments known as ¿The Bill of Life.¿ So while human life may not be touched from conception until the age of thirteen, a child may be retroactively aborted between the ages of thirteen and eighteen. This process, known as ¿unwinding¿ doesn¿t technically end life, but separates all the body parts to be used for medical transplants. In this futuristic society, unwinding alters the meaning of life. Unwinding is the fate set for three teens that meet by chance. Connor has always been a troublemaker, and his parents have finally had enough. Risa is a ward of the state, and budget cuts have forced Risa into this situation. Lev is the only one of the three who doesn¿t see unwinding as a terrible thing rather, as a tithe, he accepts that being unwound is his purpose in life. In a deadly car crash, these teens escape the fate that awaits them at harvest camps and flee for their lives (although Lev is more of a kidnappee). In this incredible and thought-provoking novel, Neal Shusterman questions what it means to be human and the value of life. Unwind may see like just a unique action novel, but it is so much more. The desperation, danger, and running-for-your-life sequences may thrill the action lover, but the story is more profound than that. It was actually quite difficult for me to read this novel because of the horrible atrocity called unwinding. Half the time, I couldn¿t even believe how inhuman some of the characters were to commit these morally wrong acts. What relieved me, though, was that for every bad thing, there was something good the random acts of kindness strangers performed for the fugitives sometimes brought tears to my eyes. This novel revolves around the controversial topic of the pro-life/pro-choice debate, because it focuses on the sacredness of life. However, Shusterman does not take the topic from a religious or scientific perspective, but bases this book around moral everyone should have: everyone deserves the right to live and not just in the scientific sense that all your body parts are functioning, but living as a whole. All this was channeled into the lives of runaways who were slated to be unwound in this unforgettable story. I can¿t really explain how amazing this novel was you¿ll just have to read it for yourself to understand. Just know that although most of the novel was pretty depressing, the story ends on a hopeful note. Fans of The Host by Stephenie Meyer, the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, and Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer will also enjoy this novel.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Confused

I dont want to buy it and then not like it. Should i buy it?

posted by 10552750 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 835 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Shockingly Good

    Imagine life in the future. The Second Civil War, also known as ¿The Heartland War¿ has been fought and eventually resolved by certain constitutional amendments known as ¿The Bill of Life.¿ So while human life may not be touched from conception until the age of thirteen, a child may be retroactively aborted between the ages of thirteen and eighteen. This process, known as ¿unwinding¿ doesn¿t technically end life, but separates all the body parts to be used for medical transplants. In this futuristic society, unwinding alters the meaning of life. Unwinding is the fate set for three teens that meet by chance. Connor has always been a troublemaker, and his parents have finally had enough. Risa is a ward of the state, and budget cuts have forced Risa into this situation. Lev is the only one of the three who doesn¿t see unwinding as a terrible thing rather, as a tithe, he accepts that being unwound is his purpose in life. In a deadly car crash, these teens escape the fate that awaits them at harvest camps and flee for their lives (although Lev is more of a kidnappee). In this incredible and thought-provoking novel, Neal Shusterman questions what it means to be human and the value of life. Unwind may see like just a unique action novel, but it is so much more. The desperation, danger, and running-for-your-life sequences may thrill the action lover, but the story is more profound than that. It was actually quite difficult for me to read this novel because of the horrible atrocity called unwinding. Half the time, I couldn¿t even believe how inhuman some of the characters were to commit these morally wrong acts. What relieved me, though, was that for every bad thing, there was something good the random acts of kindness strangers performed for the fugitives sometimes brought tears to my eyes. This novel revolves around the controversial topic of the pro-life/pro-choice debate, because it focuses on the sacredness of life. However, Shusterman does not take the topic from a religious or scientific perspective, but bases this book around moral everyone should have: everyone deserves the right to live and not just in the scientific sense that all your body parts are functioning, but living as a whole. All this was channeled into the lives of runaways who were slated to be unwound in this unforgettable story. I can¿t really explain how amazing this novel was you¿ll just have to read it for yourself to understand. Just know that although most of the novel was pretty depressing, the story ends on a hopeful note. Fans of The Host by Stephenie Meyer, the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, and Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer will also enjoy this novel.

    45 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    muhahaha

    some people might find the plot to be a bit disturbing but i really liked how neal shusterman weaved the story together and made it all flow, unlike most nowaday authors who seem to drag forever!! and kind of lose the flow of the story, but in Unwind every single information has a significance and the book is very fast paced, everything happens so much in just 300+ pages... READ IT!

    27 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    This was a great sci-fiction book. I finished it in half a day. would recommend

    23 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Wow!

    I dont think I expected much out of this book when I bought it. Buy it. Right now. This is a book for all ages, and I highly encourage everyone to read it. It's a tale of dispair, anger, and unlikely friends as well as enemies entertwining. It metamorphasizes into an epic journey of strength, courage, and hope. I don't believe I will find a more wonderful and truly touching book in the span of my lifetime.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    An amazing dystopian book about a society that has problem children "unwound" and re-used for spare parts. I was leaning toward four stars for the fist 2/3 of this book, but the last third bumped it up to five without question as all the characters grew to their potential and story lines merged in an unexpected and disturbing way. This book poses but doesn't answer questions like "when does a person have a soul?" and "if every part of you still alive, than are you really dead?" It follows the journey of 3 teens all to be unwound for varying reasons (as well as glimpses into other perspectives) and their struggle to prove they have the right to live. Despite the logic and rational that led to this society and the benefits to be gained from constant available donors, it poses the question "but what if it was you?"

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pick up this Book right NOW

    If you haven't read this book than you should read it already. Don't let the cover scare you either. It was amazing.It takes place after the second civil war, the Heartland war, which ended to conclude that once a child is 13-18 they could be unwound, which doesn't technically kill you but you are taken apart.Connor, Lev, and Risa are three kids who have been signed over to be unwound but brought together by chance they escape Juvey cops and embark on a journey to make sure they don't get unwound. This book has twist and turns that keep you reading and you won't be able to put it down. This book was great.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    Many middle schoolers have been turned on to reading when we used this book in class! They have absolutely loved it, and usually don't want to stop reading when the bell rings :0)

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unwind

    The only thing that could surpass the surprises held within Neal Shusterman's UNWIND, will be those we undoubtedly will find in its sequel, which is in the works! Two generations from now parents will have a way of dealing with unwanted or troublesome teens. The potential reality of being ''unwound'' is starteling. The question is this: Does being unwound mean death or does it mean continued life in another form? Adults will want to take Shusterman's characters home, but kids (appropriate for ages 12 and older) will cheer the choices made by three teens: Conner, Lev and Risa, as they run for their lives.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    This book suprised me. I picked it up because I was in search of

    This book suprised me. I picked it up because I was in search of a book
    similiar to Stephanie Meyer's "The Host", and let me tell you,
    this is much more than I bargained for. If you liked the Hunger Games or
    The Host by Stephanie Meyer, then this is the book for you. Gripping
    details and non stop action will have you awake all night reading. This
    book jumps from character to character so if you don't like that style
    of writing you may because irritated with the story line. Definitely a
    must read!! Five stars!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Onbthe edge of my seat

    Loved everything about this book. The writer is fantastic and I could see the entire book playing out like a movie in my mind!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Loved This Book

    This is a geat book, if you enjoy suspenseful stories. The story follows three main characters who each show a different personality and point of view, the characters stories are intertwined to form this thrilling tale. The story depicts a distorted furturistic society where the three teens much run for their... collective being. This book has everything, suspence, romance, murder, humor, babies, sarcasm, betrayal, and shocking turns. I loved it and you will too.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    AMAZING!!!!!

    This is an amazing story with amazing detail i would recomend to tweens and teens

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    READ THIS BEFORE YOU BUY!!!

    This is the best book I have ever read. EVER! I have read a lot of 'best sellers' like the hunger game trilogy, the twilight saga and every other book that seems good. BUT THIS BOOK IS FAR BETTER THEN ANY OTHER BOOK OUT THERE. Seriously. This book literally blew my mind into pieces! Haha if you have read the book you know what I'm talking about =) I have always found a place in any book where I could stop reading because it was lagging a bit in excitment. BUT IN THIS BOOK? I could not find one spot where I was content with stopping at because this book is full of excitment in every page! I literally read this book in a day (not because it was short but because I just couldn't put the darn book down!) And when I wasn't reading it (which was not very often) I COULDN'T STOP THINKING ABOUT THIS BOOK! And to top it all off, its only four bucks! What a steal! I woould reccomend this to anyone looking for good book to be captivated by! This book is good enough to be UNWOND for =)!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    A gripping dystopian tale for teens

    In a world where abortion has been made illegal, parents can still choose to undo their mistakes once the child is of age to be unwound. Three teens form an unlikely team as they fight for their right to live, rather than be harvested for their organs. This adventure is a chilling tale with action, politics, and a touch of horror done the way only Neil Schisterman can do it.
    I loved it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    On the verge of life or death. Or somewhere in between...

    UNWIND follows the journey of three different teens, all supposed to have life taken from them, or more correctly, be sentenced to life in a divine state. Although most people would like the sound of a 'divine state', these kids know it's more than that. Running from Juvey-Cops and attempting to avoid betrayal led the kids to a 'graveyard'. There, many things connect and a new life is started. Until the betrayal. What happens to the teens from there will have to be found out on your own.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    AMAZING

    Neal Shusterman's best book by FAR! Cant wait for the other 2

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    I really loved this book. It was a refreshing good book with a g

    I really loved this book. It was a refreshing good book with a good story line. I really like how the story turned out. It was so refreshing to find a book that was not about a vampire romance. One you get to like chapter 6 you won't be able to put the book down. The story turned out better than I expected and each time I turned the page I got more engrossed in it. I really loved the twists in the story it got me saying WHAT!! like throughout the whole book. I recommend this book 100%. Don't let the plot of people getting unwinded make you not read the book because it was really good. It should be made into a movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Awesome!

    I read the hard copy of this book and it was amazing. This is one of those books that after you read, you not only want more but your thoughts on a lot of serious subjects are opened.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    You need to buy this book

    Well written, creepy, suspenseful, funny, thought provoking. If you read the Giver or the Shadow children series you need to read this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Lovvved it!!

    Normally i dont write reviews, but this book was so good. It lures you in from the very beginning. I was trying to explain how wrong the story itself was, the whole unwinding thing, to my sister and I ended up saying "Its just as or more twisted than the hunger games." At first I thought this book wasnt going to good, just a hunger games mock, but my friend showed me an amazing fan made video from youtube. It made me have to read the book. But didi anyone else wonder if they ever went back for their letters? Overall highly recommended. Check out the video! This needs to become a movie!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 835 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42