Customer Reviews for

Unwind (Unwind Dystology Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(877)

4 Star

(201)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly Good

Imagine life in the future. The Second Civil War, also known as ¿The Heartland War¿ has been fought and eventually resolved by certain constitutional amendments known as ¿The Bill of Life.¿ So while human life may not be touched from conception until the age of thirteen...
Imagine life in the future. The Second Civil War, also known as ¿The Heartland War¿ has been fought and eventually resolved by certain constitutional amendments known as ¿The Bill of Life.¿ So while human life may not be touched from conception until the age of thirteen, a child may be retroactively aborted between the ages of thirteen and eighteen. This process, known as ¿unwinding¿ doesn¿t technically end life, but separates all the body parts to be used for medical transplants. In this futuristic society, unwinding alters the meaning of life. Unwinding is the fate set for three teens that meet by chance. Connor has always been a troublemaker, and his parents have finally had enough. Risa is a ward of the state, and budget cuts have forced Risa into this situation. Lev is the only one of the three who doesn¿t see unwinding as a terrible thing rather, as a tithe, he accepts that being unwound is his purpose in life. In a deadly car crash, these teens escape the fate that awaits them at harvest camps and flee for their lives (although Lev is more of a kidnappee). In this incredible and thought-provoking novel, Neal Shusterman questions what it means to be human and the value of life. Unwind may see like just a unique action novel, but it is so much more. The desperation, danger, and running-for-your-life sequences may thrill the action lover, but the story is more profound than that. It was actually quite difficult for me to read this novel because of the horrible atrocity called unwinding. Half the time, I couldn¿t even believe how inhuman some of the characters were to commit these morally wrong acts. What relieved me, though, was that for every bad thing, there was something good the random acts of kindness strangers performed for the fugitives sometimes brought tears to my eyes. This novel revolves around the controversial topic of the pro-life/pro-choice debate, because it focuses on the sacredness of life. However, Shusterman does not take the topic from a religious or scientific perspective, but bases this book around moral everyone should have: everyone deserves the right to live and not just in the scientific sense that all your body parts are functioning, but living as a whole. All this was channeled into the lives of runaways who were slated to be unwound in this unforgettable story. I can¿t really explain how amazing this novel was you¿ll just have to read it for yourself to understand. Just know that although most of the novel was pretty depressing, the story ends on a hopeful note. Fans of The Host by Stephenie Meyer, the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, and Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer will also enjoy this novel.

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Confused

I dont want to buy it and then not like it. Should i buy it?

posted by 10552750 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 877 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 44
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    A Great Read!

    Unwind is well written. I love Neil Shusterman's work. This book is amazing. The characters are so realistic sometimes when they feel something, you feel it too! Personally I love disturbing and violent books and this book has it! I love this book and there is something for everybody in this book, romance, survival, violence, etc... The idea of cutting of body parts and selling them is a good story idea an Neil broght it all the way. Your money is not wasted on this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Epic.

    This book was beautifully written. i love the way the author made everything fall together. The chapters are told in alternating points of view, and its amazing how he makes the charactors thaughts sort of dance around each other. The only thing i could think when i got done was "the mans a genius".
    this story is set in the future where you can have your child "unwound". unwinding was brought about to please both the pro-life and pro-choice people. It is an act where, once a child is between 13-18, their parents can sign an order to have them, basically, taken apart. The doctors take all the organs and apentages from the bodies, and reuse them in other people. so basically, the life of the unwind (which is what they call children who are unwound) doesnt technically end.
    One thing is inevitable: you will fall in love with the charactors. They are so real that it will actually make you want to cry when you remember that they are fictional charactors. Its a great book, and shusgterman leaves no questions unanswered. Ever bit of information given in this book is part of a greater plan, and in the end it all makes sense. I cant get over it. If there were more authors in the world as brilant as Neil Shusterman then we would have a better planet :) haha. I cant even put into words how much i loved this book!! I wish i could whipe out my memory, and read this book for the first time again, and again, and again. Thats how much i love it (and i dont even like to read).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    Thoughtful, Intruiging, and Unbelievably Great!

    This is one of the first books by Neal Shusterman that I have read, and I thought it was unbelievable. The story was interesting, in the fact of how real and lifelike the characters were made out to be, as well as the depth of the story and the journey that the characters embark on for their lives. Unwind is without a doubt one of my favorite books that I have personally read multiple times and would recommend to anyone that has an interest in coming of age/science-fiction novels. It is a timeless book that people can look at and think, "This looks interesting".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2015

    Consider me completely wound up in this story¿ Unwind is the fi

    Consider me completely wound up in this story…

    Unwind is the first book in the Unwind Dystology Series by Neal Shusterman. The series takes place in a dystopian society where after a 2nd Civil War, there is a new Bill of Life stating that parents have the option to “unwind” their children between the ages of 13-18. The unwinding process consists of the subject being unwound and divided up for organ/part donations. The theory is that they are not being killed, yet still live on in this divided state within those who received their “donated” parts. The medical society no longer performs all the life-saving techniques of today, yet more often than not, chooses to just perform the surgical replacement of whatever ails you. This has led to parents unwinding their children for different reasons and society accepting this new way of life and health. The first book consists of the central characters Conner, Risa and Lev. They ended up in a harvest camp for different reasons, but their strength and strong-will ultimately bring them together.  What happens when parents make this decision and change their mind too late? What if the unwound fights too hard? Who can change the way the world views unwinding? All these questions along with some of the most poignant scenes that I have ever read are in this book. I will not hesitate to finish this powerful series, along with picking up the other works by this author. I finished Unwind a few days ago, but still feel this sense of awe- what a fantastic story, it truly stays with you and the intensity of the storyline can’t be beat!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2015

    This book is about and process called unwinding. Unwinding is ta

    This book is about and process called unwinding. Unwinding is taking apart a child for spare parts to give to people who need them. Unwinding is an alternative of abortion. this book talks about three kids who escape being unwound. they also save hundreds of children also escaping unwinding
    i hope in the second novel, it explains how Rolands arm survived the explosion.
    also i wonder if Blayne was actually able to explode from clapping his hands without a trigger.
    This was an amazing book, i recommended all my friends and family to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Unwind

    This is one of the best books I have ever read in my whole life! Definetly would reccomend it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Don't even get me started on this book it was amazingly written,

    Don't even get me started on this book it was amazingly written, I love how deep it is and the ending made me feel so deep I rushed into every word devouring the book. I just really adore it I’d actually rather read this book than watch Television, it’s so much better.

    Well, my teacher didn’t call me a “book eater” for nothing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Hi

    This book is my all-time favorite.Hunger Games & Twilight lovers will love this suspensful thriller.;)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I just recently finished this book and I recommend it to every t

    I just recently finished this book and I recommend it to every teenager! It's exciting, fast-paced, and contains a mixture of great characters. It is worth reading for sure!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    READ IT

    even thought the plat might be dark it really opened my mind up to things i had never thiught about. This book gives a voice to the terminated babies. I read as a school group and all four of us were hooked by the second chapter. The other people in the class were asking about it all the time. It really inspired a new way of writing for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Wonderfulbook

    IF U HAVENT READ THIS BOOK IT IS SOO GOOD DEFINETLY U SHOULD BUY IT I TRULY LOVED IT AND REAS IT IN HOURS

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Aweome book

    This book was better then expected, seriously give it a read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    One of the best books i have ever read

    The book unwind is one of the best books i have ever read. In my opinion the book was really good in the frist page, and i should know I have read hunger games and harry potter serres I think ever one should get this amasing book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This book is officially one of my favorites. The way the characters are portrayed is phenomenal and the story is very enticing. It was hard for me to put this book down! I really liked the style of having different points of view of the characters. It allows the reader to understand the characters even more. Overall this book is superb and I simple can not wait for the next book: UnWholly!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    One of the best books EVER

    I have read a ton of books and by far this one is the BEST, never fail to remember everything about it. I wish it was longer or made into a movie or something!! I recommend this to everyone!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    An amazing book

    I was a little skeptical when i first started this book but nowbits one of my favorites! It was a little creepy at times but in a good way. I couldnt put it down! Connor was a troubled teen whose parents saw as too much of a hassle, leading to their decision of unwinding him. Risa has no parents and evn thiugh shes an awesome pianist, they say she isnt good nough to be kept. As part of his religion, Lev was unwound as a "sacrifice". His parents have told him that hes special for being unwound. When connor "saves" lev from unwinding and teams up with risa, they all go on this amazing adventure together. They soon realize they are going ti have some difficulty staying alive until they reaxh eighteen. And they are right. Eventually they are taken to a harvest camp. All in all a wonderfuk book with n ending you will never see coming.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Unique twist on a dystopian novel

    This book is great. I couldn't put it down. I can't wait for the second book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    AMAZING BOOK!!

    This book was amazing. It was the fastest I have ever read a book because it kept me engaged from start to finish. It was simply amazing, end of story. I highly recommend this book for teens around 13-15.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Very good i apsolutely love it

    :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    So good

    Intriguing story. Great characterization. Not one complaint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 877 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 44