Customer Reviews for

The Unwritten Rule

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

The Unwritten Rule

I LOVE LOVE LOVED it!

From the moment I picked it up, I couldn't put it down-I read it through in one sitting! It was sooooo good!-Completely heart-wrenching-Sarah and Brianna have typical teenage relationships, concerns, and insecurities; but instead of becoming te...
I LOVE LOVE LOVED it!

From the moment I picked it up, I couldn't put it down-I read it through in one sitting! It was sooooo good!-Completely heart-wrenching-Sarah and Brianna have typical teenage relationships, concerns, and insecurities; but instead of becoming teenage stereotypes, Elizabeth Scott created characters that felt so real they could just as well have been me or my own friends and family.

I think everyone can relate to having a crush on someone who's unavailable, the premise of the story. I love that this is the "best friend's" story-because as a character, she doesn't usually get a chance to tell her story, which is funny considering that most people would probably relate better to the insecure Sarah, than to a beautiful, confident, popular Brianna. Interestingly enough, Brianna's character is just as real as Sarah's, and her story is just as relatable; their common insecurities become the catalyst for both the beginning and the end of their friendship. I was on the edge of my seat, hoping throughout that Sarah would finally get the guy, but not being able to turn away from the impending train-crash of her friendship with Brianna.

I've felt the tug-of-war in Sarah and Brianna's friendship, many times in my own friendships-Neither of the girls is perfect; instead, they are human, and their friendship is real, made up of the little slips and accidental insults, and taking each other for granted, combined with force of habit, and those special moments that form our most valuable friendships-It's amazing how much we can overlook for the bond of an important friendship-but not boys; that's where girls draw the line, and where they have to make their choices. It's easy to wonder how many girls might have missed out on the chance of true love, when it's at the cost of a friendship-How many of us are that brave?

I also found relationships with the parents really touching. I, myself, was lucky like Sarah, in having very loving, caring parents. But I also saw enough of my friends who weren't so lucky; both those that were divorced, and some still married. Parents who DID love their children, and raised them, but after eighteen years, that was it, as if they were done. Parents who seemed to turn into acquaintances, who wished my friends the best of luck and that was that. I saw their relationships from Sarah's side, and felt sorry for them. It was such a vivid dynamic, seeing how Brianna's parents put their own problems and insecurities on her, how scared and confused it made her feel, and then to see her both fight against her fear of becoming and ending up like her parents, and subconsciously mimic their behaviors as defense mechanisms.

I was blown away by the depth of the story, and at the end, the only question I could think of was, "Why hadn't I heard of this author before???"

posted by moviebunny on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Annoying characters

From the sample, the book seemed promising so I went and bought it. I soon realized I hated the author's style of writing everything as if it were a grocery list. Brianna is annoying and so is Sarah. They're polar opposites to an extreme. One is too pathetic, the other ...
From the sample, the book seemed promising so I went and bought it. I soon realized I hated the author's style of writing everything as if it were a grocery list. Brianna is annoying and so is Sarah. They're polar opposites to an extreme. One is too pathetic, the other could never make friends irl with her attitude. The love story was mediocre and the friendship a wreck. I'd save my money if I could.

posted by 6183782 on January 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Unwritten Rule

    I LOVE LOVE LOVED it!

    From the moment I picked it up, I couldn't put it down-I read it through in one sitting! It was sooooo good!-Completely heart-wrenching-Sarah and Brianna have typical teenage relationships, concerns, and insecurities; but instead of becoming teenage stereotypes, Elizabeth Scott created characters that felt so real they could just as well have been me or my own friends and family.

    I think everyone can relate to having a crush on someone who's unavailable, the premise of the story. I love that this is the "best friend's" story-because as a character, she doesn't usually get a chance to tell her story, which is funny considering that most people would probably relate better to the insecure Sarah, than to a beautiful, confident, popular Brianna. Interestingly enough, Brianna's character is just as real as Sarah's, and her story is just as relatable; their common insecurities become the catalyst for both the beginning and the end of their friendship. I was on the edge of my seat, hoping throughout that Sarah would finally get the guy, but not being able to turn away from the impending train-crash of her friendship with Brianna.

    I've felt the tug-of-war in Sarah and Brianna's friendship, many times in my own friendships-Neither of the girls is perfect; instead, they are human, and their friendship is real, made up of the little slips and accidental insults, and taking each other for granted, combined with force of habit, and those special moments that form our most valuable friendships-It's amazing how much we can overlook for the bond of an important friendship-but not boys; that's where girls draw the line, and where they have to make their choices. It's easy to wonder how many girls might have missed out on the chance of true love, when it's at the cost of a friendship-How many of us are that brave?

    I also found relationships with the parents really touching. I, myself, was lucky like Sarah, in having very loving, caring parents. But I also saw enough of my friends who weren't so lucky; both those that were divorced, and some still married. Parents who DID love their children, and raised them, but after eighteen years, that was it, as if they were done. Parents who seemed to turn into acquaintances, who wished my friends the best of luck and that was that. I saw their relationships from Sarah's side, and felt sorry for them. It was such a vivid dynamic, seeing how Brianna's parents put their own problems and insecurities on her, how scared and confused it made her feel, and then to see her both fight against her fear of becoming and ending up like her parents, and subconsciously mimic their behaviors as defense mechanisms.

    I was blown away by the depth of the story, and at the end, the only question I could think of was, "Why hadn't I heard of this author before???"

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Annoying characters

    From the sample, the book seemed promising so I went and bought it. I soon realized I hated the author's style of writing everything as if it were a grocery list. Brianna is annoying and so is Sarah. They're polar opposites to an extreme. One is too pathetic, the other could never make friends irl with her attitude. The love story was mediocre and the friendship a wreck. I'd save my money if I could.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I didn't really like this book...

    Ok so my friend recommended this book to me and so i read it and...i really didn't like it. I didn't like the writing that much (it had a lot of phrases, which just bothered me for some reason). Sarah was not that well developed and it was annoying that she never really stuck up for herself and never said what she wanted to. I didn't like Ryan because he could have prevented everything in the very beginning, and then finally, although the ending was realistic, i didn't like it. I guess if you are just really bored and are looking for a quick read, this will suffice. All together, this book just annoyed me.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    good....

    I thought this book was pretty good it just didn't really capture my interest. I felt like it sort of kept repeating itself, and it went on for long. I guess what im trying to say is that it dragged. Regardless it was a good book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Rules of Girls

    The title is true, there is always an unwritten rule that you dont fall for your best friends boyfriend. Elizabeth Scott has put together an amazing book that deals with Sarah, her best friend Brianna, and the guy that Brianna likes, Ryan. But Sarah really liked Ryan a few years back and truthfully always had a crush on him. Those feelings are tossed around even more since Brianna started dating Ryan and she has to endure hanging out with the two of them and not speak her mind.
    A side story is the terrible home life that Brianna has. Her parents divorce has not been an easy one and lately she has beguin to feel like an object rather than a person. Her deep desire to hold onto something and make love happen is what keeps her with Ryan, even though she admits to Sarah she was kissing another boy. I hate Brianna's character for being so condescending to her friend. But I cant fault her because it was her environment at home, and you really can see how its rubbed off on Brianna.
    The whole book is tied up in Sarah's conflicted feelings of loving her best friends boyfriend from afar, and her desire to tell her, and head off a conflict.
    The ending is so painful to read, and more than once I found myself crying. Ms. Scott does a great job of making the dialog between all the characters really feel real and never contrived. In so many ways, the book rings true for me. Sarah has always lived in the shadow of the pretty, popular Brianna. And guys always would be close to Sarah, but only to get closer to Brianna, and she always hated that. This is all about sometimes doing the wrong thing, but in the end you are being true to your feelings, and it really being the right thing to do.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Anonymus

    So ive read Elizabeth Blooms other books and they were good, but this one...it just wasnt up to par. I felt like shoouting at sarah to grow a spine and tell brianna that sometimes here comments made her feel bad. I know i would! I actually have a friend like that. Were great friends,but if we think the other is wrong, we let them know. But not in a mean way, just like offering your opinion. I just thought she should do the same. Also, i was hoping that everything with ryan would happen earlier on in the book so they could develop further as themselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    I loved "Pefect You" and "Bloom"

    I read two of Elizabeth Scott's books Perfect You and Bloom and I really enjoyed it. So I was really excited to read this book when I got it from the library, especially since I thought the plot sounded really interesting. But in reality, I felt like this book kept reapting itself for about the first 100 pages. Yes, Sarah had a huge crush on Ryan, but I felt like Scott kept going on and on about that, with only a few plot twisters thrown in there. This book really didn't even reach its climax until the last 30 pages of theb book. I thought it was an okay book, but I would recommend borrowing it from the library instead of buying it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Dissapointed

    Ok, usually i like this authir but I found this book kinda boring and predictable. The characters were pretty nively developed but the girls best friends often was annoying. Especially after I figured out that she went out with the guy even after she knew her best friend liked him... Like seriously who does that. Then in the end when the main character finally got the guy of her dreams, best friend was angry and calling her swear words which I found totally and completely not needed. And i one of my best friens went out with the guy I liked and she knew BEFORE going ot with him and still did it we would nor be friends anymore. Amd if that was the case in this story, there would nor even be a story. Dissapointed:(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Bad

    The characters really ruin a story that had great potential. I do not want to ruin the story for those who want to attempt the easy read, but I do not tecommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Absolutely Loved It!

    I read this book in one sitting; I devoured it in a few hours. I will definitely be reading more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    BORING!!!!!

    I could barely get into this book. It seemed completely repetitive and lacked any sort of climax at all. I only finished it for the sake of me purchasing it. Had to read several other books in between just to break the monotony. Dont waste your money!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    Great read!

    I really loved this book. I finished this book in one sitting and it only took me a couple of hours. I could not put it down and I was sad when it was over. Elizabeth Scott does a wonderful job of capturing a teenage triangle with intense realism. I remember kids being mean and confused like this and it took me back to that place I am so happy to not be a part of anymore! She captures the mean girl, but gives the background behind what made her so callous and insecure. She captures the side kick friend, who grows into her own new person while trying to to make things right. She captures the shy boy who wants something but doesn't know how to get it, without making mistakes. A wonderful a quick read. I plan on reading the rest of Elizabeth Scott's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Much more than just falling for your best-friend's boy

    I just love her writing! It inspires me so much because she makes you really feel everything, it's like you momentarily vanish form your body into the character's skin! This was such a sweet book and such a nice topic to explore because, even though it's sort of cliche, it keeps on happening often. And I don't think it will ever stop happening. The way Scott writes about it though, is about much more than just falling for your best-friend's boy. The Unwritten Rule is also about family, parents, true friends and many issues. A very short and light read but filled with numerous types of emotions.

    The characters were incredibly real, I loved Sarah! The cover is beyond gorgeous, I fell in love with it from the first time I saw it, which was weird since I don't find feet appealing at all, but the sweetness and the purple background makes it irresistible to watch. Its one of those covers that when you see it in the shelf, you just have to pick it up. If you like sweet love stories, if you're a contemporary or Dessen fan, or if you've enjoyed Scott's books, you will love this one too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Nothing interesting

    I only read it because my friend recommenxed not reading it. And so, like the rebellious person I am, I read this book. And I seriously regretted it. The characters were too underdeveloped, and I was expecting simething more funnier and interesting. Im glad I didnt buy it because this wouldve been a disaster.

    There were too many paragraphs and the author kept reating the phrases. Did I mention that the characters were immature in handling their problems? This book was meant for an immature college student. The author should really make it more appropriate and matured for high school+ people.

    Overall:
    DO NOT BUY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Not good

    I did not like this book at all i found my self hating all the people in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    from the moment i started reading this book i could not put it d

    from the moment i started reading this book i could not put it down. though the characters were annoying at times and i absolutely hated the ending. it was well written and stopped me from doing something stupid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    waste of money

    the synopsis is the entire book. Thought it would be cute-I was wrong. Drawn out, not much of a story live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint DOT wordpress DOT com

    Sarah has had a crush on Ryan for years. He's smart, funny, and he understands her. He's also really cute.

    Sometimes it even seems like he might like her back, although Sarah can't imagine why since she isn't pretty or all that interesting--just ask her best friend Brianna.

    Brianna is everything Sarah isn't: beautiful, tall, and confident. She's the perfect girl with the perfect life--if you don't know about her parents (Sarah is the winner there).

    Really, it makes sense for Ryan to date Brianna instead. They look good together, they like each other. It makes sense.

    But then why does it feel like Sarah and Ryan are the ones with a special connection? Why does she still want him so badly?

    Why does it seem like he wants her too?

    Sarah liked him first, but it doesn't matter. She still likes him. That doesn't matter either.

    At least, it's not supposed to.

    The only problem is, it does in The Unwritten Rule (2010) by Elizabeth Scott.

    At 210 pages (hardcover) The Unwritten Rule is short and sweet and surprisingly original for a book that veers into familiar territory especially with a lot of the recent epic romances in young adult books. (I'm looking at you, Jacob. You too, Edward. Heck, Bella, I've got my on you too.)

    I was excited for this book after reading Living Dead Girl which was kind of traumatic and just . . . bizarre. I kept hearing excellent things about Scott but I didn't see any of it in that book because she lost me at child abduction. But I also heard that book was a bit of an anomaly so I was eager to give her another chance. That said, I wasn't sure what to expect from this book since my fellow blogger Nicole at Dog Ear was unimpressed by the book.

    Weirdly, this is the second book I've recently discovered I kind of love only after finishing it and writing up the review.

    A lot of the plot points here have been done before, but what really got me was the emotion Scott captures on every page. This book is potent. I was right there with Sarah. Her wanting Ryan, her eagerness to please Brianna, even her concern about her parents; it was all palpable to me as a reader. Sarah is torn up by her conflicting emotions and the fact that what's best for her might not ultimately include Brianna.

    The other great thing about The Unwritten Rule (despite what the cover might suggest) isn't really a romance. Yes, there is romance. Yes, there is heartache. But really this is the story of a friendship and sometimes those stories are hard to find. While Sarah's feelings for Ryan are a catalyst The Unwritten Rule is so much more than a love triangle or a romance. It's a little snapshot into a normal girl's life. It's a character study. It's an examination of a friendship.

    I can't even explain it that well, but Scott captures so much here that The Unwritten Rule is really a must read not so much for the story but for every thing else because so many elements come together here in such interesting ways.

    Possible Pairings: A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley, Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart, Swoon by Nina Malkin, Stealing Henry by Carolyn MacCullough, Vibes by Amy Kathleen Ryan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    I love hated this book

    It didnt go past the ideal of likng your bestfriends boyfriend. This is the right book right but ......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Ok

    I liked it, I did. The writing was great it was easy to read and it captured me. However I wished it had more depth to it and I wish it was more "developed". It was too repetitive, would've been better if there was more story to it. Overall, it was enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9