Customer Reviews for

The Unwritten Rules of the Highly Effective Job Search

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    Not sure it was a gift

    It was a gift to son.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    good book

    the book was good..
    i also came across the site www. Hound .com which has various job opportunities and has far more career then a normal job site..
    it has many different categories of jobs and a good different choices..
    you can check out which serve section you want to and apply for that section.. its really easy and well understood how to apply for jobs.. so try it out and check the place

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Great Job Search Book!

    This an outstanding and well organized book that when tweaked for your specific situation will help you focus on the important activities to be accomplished during a job transition situation. You do not have to agree with every single thing written to benefit from this book. The overall guidance is applicable to everyone in this situation. I highly recommend reading this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Solid Advice for Job Seekers

    As a career counselor who has been in the field for more than 14 years, I'm always looking for resouces that will help my clients. Orville Pierson's book offers concrete, helpful methods to avoid the major pitfalls of job search. In providing specific ways for job hunters to track their progress, this resource should be used by anyone who wants to run an effective and successful job search campaign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    This book was so helpful!

    This book gave my job hunt the structure it needed. It provided a framework for clarifying what I really want and showed me the steps to get there. I can't recommend it highly enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2007

    The One Job Hunting Book You Need

    I'm the Career Transition Practice Leader of one of the two largest firms in the business and since 1987 I have observed thousands of job hunters. The ones that use the Pierson Method are the ones that get jobs rapidly. The common sense advice in Pierson's book highlights subtle but vital components of successful job searches. For instance, in order to productively network, you have to know the names of the employers you are targeting. Also, the number of those employers has to be within a certain range--not too small or too large--or your search will veer out of control. The Pierson Method simply works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    A personal job coach

    Orville Pierson manages to break down the steps of job hunting into do-able chunks that make sense. I had a real lightbulb moment, too, as he explained how some of the ¿playing by the rules¿ steps, like sending resumes in response to classified ads, are not the most effective ways to get work. That alone helped me shift my priorities and begin to see the connections I already had in all the areas in my life in a new light. I felt like I had a personal coach at my side: ¿Good going! Yeah! You¿re doing it!¿ This book is both a really useful aid--and uplifting, besides. Most important, his experience as a job coach validates the normalcy of the anxiety that comes with job searches. So while Orville helped tone down my nervousness, I could turn to the actual task of DOING something to get a job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    A 'how to' book that works for the reader

    As I read through the Pierson method I was so happy to see a job search method that combines an excellent description of the realities of a job search with a true understanding of the job seeker. Readers will come to know why they balk at the idea of a cold call and spend many hours surfing the internet. And they will also gain confidence in themselves, along with a system that works. Pierson knows the job search trail and he knows what it's like to look for a job. Bravo for this wonderful book. Jess Dods, MBA Career coach

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    A Must Read For Job Search!

    As a career counselor for over 20 years, I found this book concise, practical, and enlightening. You will find that this is the book that has been missing from the top seller¿s list on how to get ready, get moving and manage your job search. With a great deal of insight and with a whole lot of common sense, along with a sound grasp of what it takes to find a job, Pierson¿s book is invaluable to job seekers. It is sound advice and helpful tips from the man who can demystify the job search for anyone. For example, he reminds us that to increase your odds in job search, a Target List is crucial. In the Pierson Method, this Target List is a key tool in job search ¿ just as important as your resume ¿ because it focuses on a group of organizations you might want to work for and hire people for the kind of work you want to do. He reminds us that the Target List also helps you see exactly who your resume is designed for before you sit down to write. And, in 10 pages he gives us the strategies for pulling together a Target List that is proven to work! Don¿t want to work the Pierson Method alone? Check out the special bonus section on how to Team Up for a Successful Search which outlines how to use a Job Search Work Team to work with others or to set up a program to work with others. Don¿t conduct your next job search without reading this book first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    A Proven Plan to Launch Your Career Search into Overdrive

    As a former career advisor, I unequivicocally recommend this book because it completely corresponds with my professional experience. The number 1 way to find employment is through networking, and that is just what Mr. Pierson emphasizes in his book. This book is really neat for three important reasons. First, it is written in a very sensitive and supportive tone. This is very important for those conducting a job search because the job search process itself can be an emotionally taxing experience. Second, it provides an overview and plan for the entire process. By the way, few other books in this field provide this kind of information. Third, it provides specific numbers and benchmarks to let you know you're on the right track. One of the keys to successful job search is staying on track and working through the difficult times. This book is the only one I know of that provides a systematic way for the job seeker to do just that. I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in conducting an efficient and 'effective' job search.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    It's the real deal!

    I am lucky enough to have had Mr. Pierson in my corner the last two times I was in job search. I swear by the Pierson Method. This book wraps the Method up, all in one easy to grasp, easy to use package. This is great news for anyone looking for work, or wanting to improve their position in the workplace. I urge everyone, without hesitation, to buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    A Companion for the Journey

    Orville Pierson has achieved in his book what no other job search book writer has even come close to providing -- a companion for the journey. And the companion is a knowledgeable, compassionate guide for what is one of the most important spiritual quests in life -- the search for one's work. Pierson helps the job seeker, step by step, elicit one's gifts, talents and interests, and teaches how to match them up with the needs of the job market/community. I found 'The Unwritten Rules of the Highly Effective Job Search' to be inspiring, thought-provoking and engaging to the point of being a 'great read' -- that is, you want to keep reading to find out what happens next. Most of all, this guide gets you to where you want to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1