Customer Reviews for

Up!

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Go Shania!

    After reading some of the other online reviews, I decided I needed to write one of my own. I think that this Shania album was great! It is one of her best. I loved her use of pop on these CDs. Just because her music is in the country category does not mean it has to have the classic sound of guitars in her songs. I admire Shania for following her heart and writing her own songs on all of her albums, and this one really shows her true side. Any true Shania fan would know that when Shania first entered the music business, she was originally going to go pop. However, after that didn't work out, she went country. I think it's great that she is using her same pop backround in her new country CD's. And besides, it's not hard-core...it's like a mix between pop and country, which I really love the sound of. I also love her idea of two CD's: A red one for pop and a green one for country. Shania did a really good job on this CD. If you don't like it, don't listen to it, but don't whine about it to everyone else. However, in my opinion, this CD is totally fabulous! I strongly recommend this CD! It was totally worth the money!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolute Best CD Ever!!!!!!!!!!

    I think this is the best Shania has ever done.She has done an extremely good CD.Me and my friend really like it.I think it earned 100,000,000,000 stars!!! Great job Shania!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really good?

    I absolutely loved it. With a twist of pop this really keeps you entertained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    Shania Twain is an amazing singer. She should come to Fargo ND, or Jamestown ND. Her songs are amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hate IT!

    OH my god! I never thought that such bad music could hit the stores! I was a country music listener but she is one of the reasons why i quit! the same draggedout tune OVER nad OVER again! Its like the first song never ends! Please spare your ears and your money to this endless torture....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic!!!!

    I love this album!!! The best one Shania has done so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NOT worth the wait...if you were expecting COUNTRY music

    This was a very disappointing album. Then again, it was no suprise at how not country it was following 'Come On Over' which was not very country. Even the 'country' version of the 'UP!' album is so pop, I couldn't listen past the 4th song before I turned it off. All the singles released off the album are terrible. Everyone I know that was a Shania fan has hated this album. And the videos for the singles are heavily pop influenced to match the pop songs. -5 stars for this album. Better luck next time Shania. Get a COUNTRY producer. This album is so bad, even the pop audience might be turned of by it. Of course, I didn't buy this album, I was listening to a friends copy that he has since sold to a used CD store.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!!!!!

    WOW!!!!!Up is an amazing cd!! Shania is a great artist with an amazing voice!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Country's Best

    I'm not a huge of country music but I really like her new CD. Its'a combination of pop-rock and country in one CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONE OF MY FAVORITE FEMALE COUNTRY SINGERS

    THIS CD IS GREAT.sHANIA TWAIN IS A GREAT SINGER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Every song is a winner!

    Shania has done it again! This album is awesome, and I love every song on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shinah=awsome

    i LOVE this CD. i'm not a huge country in fact i hate it but i love Shinah Twain. This CD has the perfect blend of country and pop that makes it enjoylable. I also like the upbeat feel of the CD. It makes you get in a good mood and makes me feel better. I recomend this CD for anyone that likes fun happy music whith a kewl twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Queen of Country Music is Back!!!!

    I bought the new Shania Twain CD UP! I have to say it is really different from her last CD. I like how it is a double CD, one for the country lover, and red for the pop lover. There's a few great songs on there to like I'm Gonna Getcha Good, and the sond UP! I am really not that sure it is going to have the same success like "Come on Over" did, but all in all it is a pretty good CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GET UP!

    Shania has already established herself as the best female country singer. Her latest album Up! doesn't disappoint! Be sure to checkout : "I'm Gonna Getcha Good!", "In My Car", "I'm Not In A Mood" these are the upbeat songs on the album and don't miss the soul stirrer "I'm Jealous" and the enjoyable "Thank You Baby"... as usual Shania's album promises many more of her trademark lyricism...ENJOY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Going Up! the Charts!

    This CD is very cool. Shania shows singing freely, and haveing fun doing it. Without using bad/curse words she expresses herself freely. Her songs have some awfly wierd names, but that shows that she doesn't care what others think. She is REAL countrey, not that other corney stuff. And by what the world sees, she is going Up! the charts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shania's fall from country

    I like the album but I really enjoyed her more as a country singer. Up had a country twist, the album's great for other types of music

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Up! Up! Up! It's only going Up! from here

    This CD is a must have for any Shania fan, because it¿s awesome. I love every song on Up!, and I can tell that it will have the same staying power as ¿Come On Over.¿ No matter how many times I¿ve listened to ¿Come On Over¿, I have never gotten tired of it. Up! is definitely the same way!! Fasten your seat belt fans because they¿ll be many number one songs come from this album. Thank you Shania for not being afraid to make great music that your fans love. Also the two CD¿s worked out great for my family because my husband likes pop, and I enjoy country music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shania is BACK!

    The forth release from Shania is better than "Come On Over" and I didn't think that was possible. It contains 19 songs totalling 71+ minutes of music and it has both a country disc and a rock disc in the package, and they each have all 19 songs on them. She covers a variety of topics and delivers the Vocals like no one else can, I won't take the space to review each song but there is something to love for everyone. My favorites right now; "Forever and for Always","It Only Hurts When I'm Breathing", "I'm Jealous", "When You Kiss Me", and "I'm Gonna Getcha Good!". ENJOY!! Note: If you are looking for some kind of "new" Shania sound, or a deep "down home" country style, this isn't the place to look. Shania is Shania and she hasn't been "Down Home" since she met and married "Mutt" Lange.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD

    This CD is really good. Its definitly comparable to her last cd "Come On Over". It is a mix between country and pop, but I like it. I really only listen to the Green CD (the country one), but the rock version is good as well, they are basically the same, the rock just has more guitar. The best songs on there are, "Up", "What a Way to Want to be", "Nah", and "I ain't going down" (that is her best slow song). I don't listen to most all the songs when i buy a cd, but this one, basically every song is great. The CD plays from front to back most times, so I definitly recommend it, and i'm not even much of a country fan, just a Shania fan. This CD will do very well. I also like it that it has 19 songs, SO much better than just having about 10 songs and 30 minutes worth of listening. "UP!" has about 73 minutes, its great, Shania is amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    UP! Get's You Real Good.

    This Double CD, 19 songs each, is Pure Shania Material. No other artist can produce 4 consecutive records with virtually every song being a potential Hit, if given the Radio time exposure. UP! Starts out showing a fresh new style. Attractive to a wide age group that the whole family will accept. And true to the Title, each song goes up in desirable listening and retro's back to her lovely voice in all it's varieties and lyrics that have inspired and encouraged us before. Definitely a MUST HAVE in every CD collection along with NORAH JONES -Come Away With Me. Not a similar artistic style as Shania, but Definitely as Talented in Voice and Listening ability. You WILL literally Play this CD over and over and over and Never tire of it's silky smooth purity. 5 stars for Both these Artist's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3