Customer Reviews for

Up!

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolument ├ępatant !!!!

    Le nouvel album de Shania Twain UP! est impressionnant. Un son qui accroche, différent d'une chanson à l'autre, j'ai adoré. UP est bien différent de come on over mais tout aussi fantastique. Avec bien sur toujours une petite touche d'humour bien propre à Shania! Je vous conseille À vous tous ce CD qu'il ne faut absolument pas manquer! Bonne écoute ! Amusez vous bien! Raphaelle Simard simardraphaelle@hotmail@com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    UNIQUE, 2 CD'S - ONE COUNTRY- ONE POP

    Great new concept all songs done two ways !! As usual, great lyrics and beats. Fun songs. Great dance beats. Out of 19 songs there was only a couple I didn't love, but I have a feeling after listening to them one or two more times I will. Way to go Shania, great voice, great rythyms, great music. Loved the spanish influence on song #4!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Big Winner from "Mutt & Eileen"

    Who knew what to expect after a five-year wait. But the wait was worth it. Shania & Mutt have put out another great, feel-good mess of music--two CDs worth. I highly recommend it. After several listens to the CD (both the pop/red and country/green versions) I especially like "Juanita" "Forever and for Always" "I'm Jealous" "Thank You, Baby" and "When You Kiss Me". Can't say any of the songs are bad. "Ka-ching!" is downright cute & on the money! UP! is great ear candy from beginning to end. If you're looking for angst-ridden, deeply introspective, doom and gloom music, go look somewhere else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shania shows her abilities with this album

    Shania Twain has so much talent; all this is evident in her new album, UP! All the songs have great messages and the lyrics are wonderful, as one would expect from Shania. The music and mostly up-tempo beats are great. I love that she offers 2 CD's... My favorite is the rock version (Red), but the country one (Green) isn't too bad either. I love how she offers so many songs on one album. Other artists should take a lesson from Shania. The best songs on this album (in my opinion) are What a Way to Wanna Be, Thank You Baby!, Ka-Ching!, UP!, Nah!, and I'm going to stop now, because I'm just gonna end up listing each track on the album! But honestly, I would recommend every pop or country fan to get this album(s)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shania - I love this CD!!

    Wow, like most others, I was highly anticipating the follow "UP" to C'mon Over, a CD that I absolutely love and I was not disappointed. I have listened to Shania Twain since her first CD and I think she has the most beautiful, sexy, sultry country voice so I definitely prefer the Green CD. Her song, I'm Jealous gives me chills, along with three other ballads that are gorgeous. She truly has a gift for the ballads. The other songs are "UP"beat and each tells a story. Definitely buy this CD! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT ALBUM!

    This is a great album. What an original concept. I am not into country, but I love both cds. Shania is truly talented! She a put a lot of work into this album and it shows. There are a lot of songs I can relate too. I got it this morning and can't stop listening to it. I just wish the blue album was marketed to the U.S. My favorite songs are Up, She's Not A Pretty Face, and Nah! Shania is a truly gifted singer and songwriter. I gonna buy Come On Over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My toilet gets good use

    Shania Twain so SO incredibly talented. The fact that she sings with a tooth pick lodged in the roof of her mouth is unbeleivable. A little peanut butter will take care of that. Anyway, if you like monkeys, give this CD a try. If not, collect two hundred dollars when passing go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the best ever!

    The new album has taken everthing that shania has ever done and crafted a beautiful yet exciting album. This cd is one that you can play at least 5 times a day. It has the variety and contrast it needs to become a success in the music world. I enjoy every song on the cd, and each day i have an obsession with a different song. If i ever had the chance to meet this incredible woman, i would simply say "you are the best there ever has been and ever will be". The cd has a very positive side. I love the title track "up", it's a song i think that anyone could relats to. All the songs are great, and anyone who believes that her music is fabricated and artificial needs to go and see her in concert. She is absoutely awsome. Manufactured is far from what her music is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YOU GO GIRL!!!

    this CD is awesome.....it is ALL about the new independent, strong women of this country today!! It really rocks...keep up the good work!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth the Wait!!!

    Like all of her fans, I was clamoring for the new Shania CD, wondering how she would follow-up the masterful Come on Over. I was very excited when this CD was finally released and with good reason--it is a great CD!!! The entire album is full of uplifting, positive songs and is definitely "Up!" as the title promises. Shania leaves heartbreak and bad times to others and offers up a CD full of upbeat, energetic, feel-good music. The CD covers some similar territory as the phenomenal Come on Over did, but Shania expresses these themes beautifully once again. On the fantastic title track and "C'est La Vie," Shania sings about not taking life too seriously and knowing that no matter how bad things may get, they will get better just like she did on the song "Come on Over." And on the beautiful "Forever And For Always," she sings of eternal love like she did on the hit song "You're Still the One." The ballad "It Only Hurts When I'm Breathing" is not only a beautifully written song but also another example of Shania's knack for coming up with great song titles (i.e. Whose Bed Have Your Boots Been Under?). Shania does go for some social commentary as well, singing about America's buy now-pay later love affair with credit cards on the very tongue-in-cheek "Ka-Ching!" and our obsession with being perfect on "What A Way To Wanna Be!" Up! really shows how happy Shania is in her life and that happiness comes across full force on this CD. With two versions of each song, one country and one pop, this CD will keep her fans satisfied for awhile no matter what their musical preference should be. But here is one fan who is hoping it is not another 5 years before her next CD is released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely love it!!!!

    I love this CD. I don¿t understand how anybody could not like it. What is wrong with you people?? What a great concept ¿ 2 CD¿s red for pop version & green for the country version. What a nice surprise for her fans & a great way to silence the critics by saying she is selling out & moving to pop. This way she pleases everybody. Great idea. I have up most respect for Shania (& Mutt) for creating their own music. Although I like other cont. country artists & pop artists because their voices are so beautiful, it disappoints me that they don¿t write the lyrics or music in any of the music they sing ¿ they choose songs written by songwriters. This is why I like Shania so much. It gives her music more substance & makes the music more meaningful. She¿s involved in writing, composing, arranging, & prducing her own creative musical masterpieces. I am so glad that this album is kikken major butt on the charts. She deserves it. Furthermore you get so much musical quality for only 9.98 @ Walmart. Thanks Shania. I hope it does as well as ¿Come On Over¿ or better. Her music is so unique & different than all the other stuff out there. If you don¿t have this CD, go get it. I am a huge music fan & love all genres of music so trust me, whether you¿re a rock, pop, country, ¿¿.. music fan you will love this CD. Oh, & I hope we don¿t have to wait another 5 years for her next album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it!!

    I love UP just as much as Come On Over. It's definitely worth the wait. I also like the fact that it comes with two cd's so you can listen to two different versions of her songs. She's a great performer and I am a huge fan!! I would recommend this cd to everyone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Let's be more accurate!

    Shania has released a set of 19 songs in THREE different formats... Red is Pop-Rock, Green is Country, BLUE is Spanish/Indian and is more rhythmic than the other two. "Come On Over" was Shania's THIRD American CD, and those three actually followed a pair of Canadian releases. There are many songs in "UP!" worthy of release as singles, but my personal favorite is a splendidly written love song entitled "I'm Jealous". Terrific music and great lyrics make this a very unusual song worthy of turning up the volume every time you hear it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT, SUPER , HOT

    This is Shania at her best. And the thought of two-CD's for the price of one, that was even better!!!!!!!! The music is fast and upbeat! Country on the edge of Pop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Awesome!!

    I, like many other Shania fans, have been waiting for the release of UP! for many years. Let me tell you...it was worth the wait! Shania has a song-writing ability and style like no other artist out there. UP! is a double-disc package with both a country version and a pop version of her 19 new songs!! Shania spreads a very positive attitude with this album that is impossible not to like. The lyrics are clever, the music amazing, and Shania's voice just completes each song. Fans and non-fans alike will love this album!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2