Customer Reviews for

Up Country (Paul Brenner Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(117)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is an excellent book!

Upcountry mixes memories of the Vietnam War with an image of current Vietnam and how the war is still a part of their lives. It also tells a great story of a man who undertakes a mission, comes to terms with his past and falls in love. I couldn't put it down because at ...
Upcountry mixes memories of the Vietnam War with an image of current Vietnam and how the war is still a part of their lives. It also tells a great story of a man who undertakes a mission, comes to terms with his past and falls in love. I couldn't put it down because at the end of each chapter something happens that makes you want to keep reading and I even started reading it again right after I finished it.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

DeMille is excellent - but not this time.

Nelson Demille is, by far, my favourite author and a writer of substantial quality. All of his books are of the highest quality and a pleasure to read and re-read. Up Country is however, the only exception. Being many many pages in length it is certainly an interesti...
Nelson Demille is, by far, my favourite author and a writer of substantial quality. All of his books are of the highest quality and a pleasure to read and re-read. Up Country is however, the only exception. Being many many pages in length it is certainly an interesting insight into the '68 Tet Offensive however it is lacking any worthy plot. The novel unfortunately reads as more of a set of war memoirs although I am pleased that Nelson has 'got this off his chest'! I even flew to the Vero Beach book centre to meet Nelson and for him to sign my copy so it's a shame I'm unlikely to read this novel again. An interesting read, but not a classic.

posted by Anonymous on October 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2004

    DeMille is excellent - but not this time.

    Nelson Demille is, by far, my favourite author and a writer of substantial quality. All of his books are of the highest quality and a pleasure to read and re-read. Up Country is however, the only exception. Being many many pages in length it is certainly an interesting insight into the '68 Tet Offensive however it is lacking any worthy plot. The novel unfortunately reads as more of a set of war memoirs although I am pleased that Nelson has 'got this off his chest'! I even flew to the Vero Beach book centre to meet Nelson and for him to sign my copy so it's a shame I'm unlikely to read this novel again. An interesting read, but not a classic.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2006

    This is an excellent book!

    Upcountry mixes memories of the Vietnam War with an image of current Vietnam and how the war is still a part of their lives. It also tells a great story of a man who undertakes a mission, comes to terms with his past and falls in love. I couldn't put it down because at the end of each chapter something happens that makes you want to keep reading and I even started reading it again right after I finished it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    It was a trip dow memory lane

    My Brother was an infantry man with the 11th Armored Cav. in Viet Name in 66-67 and I could not believe what memeories this book brought back to me ---- like just waiting for letters from him to know he was still alive. I love Nelson DeMille and I love his books and thank him for writing this one - I told my brother and about it. It was funny because he has never talked much about his time in Viet Nam but he expressed a desire to read it. I know he will love this book - I am ordering it for him today.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    demille delights

    A great personal history of the war and an exciting murder investigation. Hopefully he will use the character Paul Brenner in an Abu Gharib investiogation, or something similar.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Classic DeMille

    This book was obviously very important to Mr. DeMille, returning to Vietnam in print to deal with his experiences both as soldier and visiting former soldier. The story is classic DeMille, well thought out and expertly unfolded as you turn the pages. The characters are definitely classic DeMille, full of wit and sarcasm. The only drawback to the book is that at times, it felt more like therapy for dealing with the horrors of the Vietnam War than a story; however, for those interested in 'primary history', it is good to read to understand how DeMille feels about his involvement in Vietnam.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    An amazing adventure with Paul Brenner

    A great sequel to the General's Daughter, one may have problems putting this book down. An intriguing Vietnam experience, dealing with the past and present.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    Amazing Book!!

    I loved the book!! Interesting descriptions of the war and the country, made me feel as if I was there. The characters are as suprising as the events that happen along the story, I highly recommend it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    Epic novel of discovery

    This is one of DeMille's best. A bit on the long side, it tells a great story about discovery and healing past wounds of war. Great twists and turns, as well as excellent character developement.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    Journey to worlds and lifetimes ago - Up Country

    Nelson DeMille's book, 'Up Country' is superb. His ability to weave a tapestry of Viet Nam's 'tinkling windchime,' an ambience that leaves the reader with a sense of exquisite Southeast Asian emptiness is perfect. I spent 3 tours in Vietnam, 1964-65; 1966; 1969-70, my first two tours as a marine infantryman, machinegunner and machinegun squad leader, and my last tour as a Marine CID agent assigned to Da Nang. I was later commissioned in the Army and served as an investigations officer. His character, Paul Brenner, portrayed by John Travolta in the movie, 'The General's Daughter,' truly typifies the modus operandi and 'signature' of the CWO CID Special Agent, intensely territorial, educated, highly trained and experienced, and always comtemptuous of arrogant authority, especially the fistulated mentality of the abusers of military authority, senior enlisted and commissioned officer personnel. 'Up Country' took me on a journey to my life many worlds ago - to a place that was and still is anachronistic - timecapsuled, French Indochina, Vietnam - the Michelin rubber plantations, the smell of joss sticks, villages with charcoal emanating from each home, blue-gray smoke rising into the evening air, the stench of rice paddies, a beautiful emerald land that in the end, compensated few of us. Death, life, courage, cowardice, gallantry, brutality, a pathos of sadness, all of these feelings, all of them lived in a moment while lifting a bodybag into a chopper the second day of an operation somewhere in I Corps, Phu Lac, or at the bottom of Viet Nam in the Rung Sat, Mekong, where the wounded soon became dead, putrifying beneath a poncho, those holy images of God, bloating, because marine engineers hadn't yet cleared a landing zone in triple canopied mangrove swamp forests. Viet Nam is a wonderful land. Her people are magnificent - warriors, sagacious, 'if you can't do it in this lifetime, do it in the next!' Nelson De Mille captured all of this in 'Up Country.' This must become a movie - John Travolta must reprise his role. If he declines, and I don't know why he would, a good alternate would be Mickey Rourke - he's tough, intelligent, quiet, introspective, aggressive, and 'Irish.' I give Nelson De Mille's book 5 STARS. Superb. Dr. Larry L. Kurtz

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Up Country brings the Vietnam war to life again

    I read this when it came out in hardcover; couldn't put it down. Then I even ordered it in large print so when I grew old I could still manage to read it and now I bought it again in mass market to reread.
    It's his best story if you've lived through Vietnam in any way. It
    informed and helped heal me since that war brought so much tragedy to
    my life. DeMille has a great sense of humor always and he had been back to Vietnam many years later after serving in the military there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2005

    One of DeMille's Best!

    I loved reading this novel centered on the Vietnam war. The character development is excellent, and follows the classic DeMille pattern of sarcasm,wit,and self discovery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    Tet Revisited

    The book was riviting, as a Vietnam Vet it brought back many memories, some good, some bad. His eerie discription of battlefields such as the Ashau Valley and Khe Sanh were right on the mark. I envisioned myself as the character Paul Brenner as he followed his mission around Vietnam.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    Couldn't put it down! Agree that this wasn't a "classic&qu

    Couldn't put it down! Agree that this wasn't a "classic" but nonetheless was quite entertaining, gripping and told me some things I didn't know. One other downside, was the main character's stupidity in getting hooked up. Could have had a better ending, which I thought was quite unsatisfactory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Loved it!!  People who were there or who watched it on TV news e

    Loved it!!  People who were there or who watched it on TV news every night (me as a 10 year old girl), this really gives the Vietnam war some perspective!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    This novel caught me flat-footed. It isn't for everyone, but tho

    This novel caught me flat-footed. It isn't for everyone, but those folks who actually spent time in RVN will come to grips with issues that haven't been discussed in a long time, and when they were in vogue twisted out of reality far too often. Enjoyed? No, I did not "enjoy" this novel but offer praise on a higher level, I respect this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Very real!!

    From speaking with people who were in country at that time and in the places listed with the 1st Air Cav, this book is the real thing..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    very good, well worth checking out

    one of the best books i've read. once you start reading it is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    My favorite book!

    This continues to be my all time favorite book. I love the history woven into the fictional story. I look forward to reading it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Definitely one of his best books!! 5 stars

    Definitely one of his best books!! 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 187 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10