BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Up Country (Paul Brenner Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is an excellent book!

Upcountry mixes memories of the Vietnam War with an image of current Vietnam and how the war is still a part of their lives. It also tells a great story of a man who undertakes a mission, comes to terms with his past and falls in love. I couldn't put it down because at ...
Upcountry mixes memories of the Vietnam War with an image of current Vietnam and how the war is still a part of their lives. It also tells a great story of a man who undertakes a mission, comes to terms with his past and falls in love. I couldn't put it down because at the end of each chapter something happens that makes you want to keep reading and I even started reading it again right after I finished it.

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

DeMille is excellent - but not this time.

Nelson Demille is, by far, my favourite author and a writer of substantial quality. All of his books are of the highest quality and a pleasure to read and re-read. Up Country is however, the only exception. Being many many pages in length it is certainly an interesti...
Nelson Demille is, by far, my favourite author and a writer of substantial quality. All of his books are of the highest quality and a pleasure to read and re-read. Up Country is however, the only exception. Being many many pages in length it is certainly an interesting insight into the '68 Tet Offensive however it is lacking any worthy plot. The novel unfortunately reads as more of a set of war memoirs although I am pleased that Nelson has 'got this off his chest'! I even flew to the Vero Beach book centre to meet Nelson and for him to sign my copy so it's a shame I'm unlikely to read this novel again. An interesting read, but not a classic.

posted by Anonymous on October 31, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    It was a trip dow memory lane

    My Brother was an infantry man with the 11th Armored Cav. in Viet Name in 66-67 and I could not believe what memeories this book brought back to me ---- like just waiting for letters from him to know he was still alive. I love Nelson DeMille and I love his books and thank him for writing this one - I told my brother and about it. It was funny because he has never talked much about his time in Viet Nam but he expressed a desire to read it. I know he will love this book - I am ordering it for him today.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Classic DeMille

    This book was obviously very important to Mr. DeMille, returning to Vietnam in print to deal with his experiences both as soldier and visiting former soldier. The story is classic DeMille, well thought out and expertly unfolded as you turn the pages. The characters are definitely classic DeMille, full of wit and sarcasm. The only drawback to the book is that at times, it felt more like therapy for dealing with the horrors of the Vietnam War than a story; however, for those interested in 'primary history', it is good to read to understand how DeMille feels about his involvement in Vietnam.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Loved it!!  People who were there or who watched it on TV news e

    Loved it!!  People who were there or who watched it on TV news every night (me as a 10 year old girl), this really gives the Vietnam war some perspective!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Very real!!

    From speaking with people who were in country at that time and in the places listed with the 1st Air Cav, this book is the real thing..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2003

    Another one!

    Ever since I picked up The Charm School, my first crack at DeMille, I've been a fan. I don't read his work in any particular order, but I have enjoyed them all. Bumping into Paul Brenner again was good. Joining him on this little adventure was even better. The premise, the cast of characters, and the usual good, solid writing made it a great read. Four stars is my max (like Bobby Bare says, there ain't no tens), and if I really like it, I'll read it twice - which usually involves buying it twice, which makes authors even happier than five star ratings. This one I'll read twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2003

    DeMille fan

    This is 2nd Demille book I've read & I'll read the others, too. This one is very suspensful and a real page turner. The conflicts between the main characters add to the suspence... Demille is so descriptive of the terrain and people, it was very easy for me to imagine I was there along side them. Unpredictable ending too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2003

    Best for his subject - Viet Nam

    I was pleasantly surprised because I thought it would be draggy -- due to the # of pages but it moved really smoothly and anyone interested in this war from any perspective -- needs to read this book. I am a long time fan of Robert Parker who has a billiant character by the name of Spenser -- Paul Brenner comes close to being this great! If you like Paul you simply MUST read some of Parker's books featuring Spenser!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    Up Country Took Me Back

    This is my first Nelson Demille book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Frankly, I've read stronger plots and story lines but I must say that, having been there as a young soldier many years ago, I could see the places that Paul Brenner was visiting, Cu Chi, Saigon, Bong Son, Hue, the A Shau Valley and Khe Sanh. He was walking on the remnants of my boot prints. Excellent reading and a must if you have seen the elephant In Country. Thank you, Nelson. Sua Sponte.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    Interesting Discovery

    I am an avid reader of all mysteries, intrigues, and the like. I have just discovered the authour Mr. Demille, and I must say I am very very impressed. Up Country was a fancinating story for me, a Canadian, who was of the age of Vietnam, who was married to at that time, an American draftee. I have read and watched most stories produced about Vietnam, and still didn't feel that I understood what the heck happened! Through Mr. DeMille's Up Country I got it. I thought it was the best Vietnam story I have ever seen or read. I am able to clearly visualize what it was like for those that had to be there. And I am really sorry for those that had to be there! The plot of Up Country was pretty creative, could have been a little more intrigue, and I definietly felt the ending was a cliff hanger for the next Paul Brenner case???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    Mary B. - Avid Reader Who Just Discovered DeMille

    When I have read all of the latest releases from all of my favorite authors, I start looking at authors I haven't read before...i found DeMille and was drawn into this book from page 1. I then discovered that i had read Charm School years ago when my husband had the book and loved that one too! So...now I have found a new favorite author and can't wait to pick up some of his other books. Great job on Up Country...I'm from that generation and am drawn to anything from that time - the book made it so real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    Paul Brenner 'up' to his neck in trouble again!

    This second novel with Paul Brenner is superb. I have never been to Viet Nam, but the book made me want to go! DeMille proves once again that he can keep his character's alive long after you close the book. I enjoyed Paul Brenner's wit and survival skills. A must read for any DeMille fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    incredible

    He just keeps getting better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    very interesting

    I have read all of Nelson DeMille's books and always look forward to the next. This book did not disappoint. I found it not only interesting but very informative. I received so much insight to the war - something I had not expected to get from the book. My stepfather is a viet vet and we can never get him to tell us any stories. After reading Up Country, I think I now know why it is so hard for my stepfather to talk about those times. Very descriptive, very visual and induces the reader to consider his/her feelings towards the viet war and the viet people. At times it is a slow read but, the graphic detail enables you to feel what the author is trying to portray. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    An Enjoyable Challenge

    This book is a great read. As a soldier preparing for a possible war, reading this book allowed me to review my own inner thoughts, beliefs, and convictions. I have read many of Nelson DeMille's works and I have enjoyed them all, but this is the one I will remember the longest. The descriptions of combat and dedication to duty described in this book could only have come from a soldier that has been there. Mr. DeMille doesn't glorify combat or war. What he does, however, is to give us an insight as to what a soldier's personal experiences could be, and the pride and honor a soldier feels for doing his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    WOULD HAVE BEEN 5 STAR...EXCEPT...

    A very good read, and I was very happy to see Paul Brenner return. DeMille does his typical great job of re-creating a very likable character, and the storyline was very good. The only thing that kept this book from being 5 stars was the ending, which I will not give away, but really left me hanging. I look forward to his next novel, which I understand will be the same character from The Lions Game, and Plum Creek, John Corey. It should be great because those other 2 were, Any Grisham fans that are looking for a change, this is your man. I have noticed that many reveiwers of this are Vet's, so any that are reading this please accept my prayers and my thanks for your service.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Like being there

    In this book Mr. DeMille made you feel as if you were there. As a veteran, I actually could visulize the places he spoke of. Not since 'Plum Island' has Mr. DeMille kept me up late at night reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    Enjoyable

    A good story, however filled with inaccuracies. Minor things. Things that made the book not credible. Viet Nam has never or seldom issued 21 day tourist visas. Visas have typically been 90 days prior to lifting of the embargo, 30 days after that. The description of his arrival at the Airport in Saigon is not accurate. The arrival terminal has been air-conditioned since before we had an embassy and jet-ways have existed since before their was any inkling of a consulate in Saigon. And yes, there still is a Saigon although the Colonel would have you think otherwise. These, and many other inaccuracies illustrate poor research. I expect better research in a 'historical' novel, especially from a well known author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3