BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Up Jumps the Devil

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2014

    Not work the money

    Extemely disappointing. I was so stoked to read this book after I read the discription. I was let down. It was not funny at all. I found the author prejudice and boring with little to none knowledge of history. I wish there was a place for negative ratings. I gave it a one just to get my feedback to move.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    The Devil and his Travels

    A different take on the bad guy. A fun adventurous read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Up Jumps the Devil, by Michael Poore, follows John Scratch, aka

    Up Jumps the Devil, by Michael Poore, follows John Scratch, aka the Devil, through his thirty five year relationships with three band-mates after they sell their souls to him in the late 60’s. Memory goes on to become nationally famous, Fish becomes the head of a massively successful life insurance company, and Zachary revolutionizes the computer industry. Their chronologies are interrupted by scenes of the devil’s past in Rome, Egypt, the New World, and most comically interesting of all the early days of the United States. The back cover will hint that this is a love story, and it is, but in the most basic sense. The devil is madly in love with a fellow angel who cannot stand humanity long enough to remain on earth with him permanently. The desire to make the world a better place for her, to make an earth that rivals her home in heaven, is what motivates the devil’s influences on major world leaders. Although the devil is presented equally as a lover and a fighter he remains the devil that society all knows: without qualms over performing some pretty disgusting and morally offensive acts. 
    There were about a dozen times in the novel that I forgot I was reading what is essentially a condensed biography of Lucifer. Then he would fornicate with a cow or make a deal for someone’s soul or (my favorite) get shot in the stomach and laugh it off. Satan has never been presented with so many human traits and drives before; he has rarely ever been so relatable. The idea that the devil is seeking to better humankind was what most impressed me. He isn’t out to tempt you away from God but he wants to tempt you with something better than heaven- your own world. However, all the sins that your overly religious great grandma Bertha told you about- drugs, weird sex, experiments on human reanimation- play a heavy hand in the plot. This is meant for mature audiences without a doubt. 
    Some not so heavy themes were family and morality. The devil is able to live for a time with his lover but they never expand their family, he is unable to form familial tie with humans due to their short lifespan, and his maker/ father kicked him out. Zachary comes from a family broken by tragedy but always has a mother to turn to. No surprise Zachary is one of the few characters with a happy ending. Then on morality, the devil has this clause in the agreement that allows him to terminate you (aka snap his fingers and swallow you up with fire) if you act like a jackass. So if you take the power the devil gives you and take advantage of old ladies of destroy the structures of a country you are eliminated from the gene pool. The devil is some twisted way promotes beneficial progress and good will for all humankind. 
    I really liked this book, even in its few moments of “oh my gosh he did what?”, because it doesn’t feed into or directly challenge religious teachings while simultaneously providing good entertainment. Up Jumps the Devil also presents the devil in a human light, making me (and other readers) think about how we ourselves act. Just how much better than Satan are we really?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Simply surprising

    I didn't know what to expect when I first purchased this book but I quickly was hooked and couldn't put it down. It is an original take on a timeless entity that leaves the reader literally befriending and connecting with the devil himself. At the heart of the novel is a beautiful yet tragic love story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    It will shock you. Make you laugh. Cringe. Dance and play gui

    It will shock you. Make you laugh. Cringe. Dance and play guitar. You'll want to read passages aloud to anyone who'll listen. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1