BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Upgrading and Repairing PCs: Field Guide

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    WHAT A RESOURCE!

    I first looked in this book for a serial-port pin-diagram to settle an argument at a hardware troubleshooting seminar. While browsing through I was so impressed by the quality of it's content that I immediately paid the $59.95 purchase price & comitted myself to reading it 'cover-to-cover.' I am now about 200-300 pages into the book and am even more impressed than I was at first. This book is a MUST HAVE for any good tech-support area (I recommend keeping 3-5 copies on-hand as you will end up with techs fighting for them when a call-in pops ANY hard question).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    Very Informative!

    I highly recommend this book to all the newbies in the industry. Well written and easy to follow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    This book is great besides the fact that a lot Fjhljdhawssfbjf

    This boook is great since i have the print version it came with a how to DVD with two hours for runtime it has helped me alot with understandibg not only how to repair and upgrade a pc it has helped me understand a pc more thoroughly and pc history. Thanks Scott Mueller for making a book that completely covers e erything in one book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Scott Mueller did it again a great book for computer people that want to learn about the newest technology and to UpGrade & Repair their computers.

    Five out of Five Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Become an EXPERT with PCs thanks to Scott Mueller!

    Upgrading And Repairing PCs by Scott Mueller is THE reference manual for PCs. This new edition of the book covers the latest technology, while still providing plenty of knowledge regarding the older technology as well. Scott writes in a way that is precise and easy to understand, which is incredibly helpful to everyone from beginners to those with an advanced level of knowledge regarding PCs. I highly recommend this book, as well as any books by Scott Mueller, in your quest for knowledge of PCs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Everything you ever wanted to know about computer hardware!

    A LOT of information in one place. Could be overwhelming to the casual reader but a real find for someone what wants indepth information on computer hardware in one place. The DVD-ROM is a clear, easy to absorb, chunk of information which I recommend as a "view first" before jumping into the book. I wish I had read the book before I bought my last computer, I'll probably build my next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Great Reference Manual

    This book is definitely for people who are technicians or understand the technology gibberish. If you are someone who is just learning computers this is NOT the book for as it is simply too in-depth. This book is a must-have for any technician's reference library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An industry standard

    Have worked in all areas of I/T for the past 20 years this book is used more than any other for detailed, cogent. and extremely accurate information on the guts of PC's and laptops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    Scott 'HELP'

    He is the best when it comes to 'computer technology explained so I can understand.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2001

    Excellent Study Guide

    This is a great book in preparing for A+ Certification. I read it and took the sample questions on the CD, for two weeks straight. I passed both portions of the exam first time out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2000

    A must-have for an PC enthusiast

    This book is great for the intermediate to advanced user in PC upgrades or repair. This guy really knows what he is talking about. I espicially enjoyed the software on the CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    Informative but not definitive

    The author appears to position this book as THE definitive guide to PC upgrade and repair. If so, this proactive assertion does an injustice to the reader. 1) I believe this book (and the 10th edition) contains a fair number of 'sins of omission and comission' (e.g., revisionist/inaccurrate computer history, incomplete understanding of x86 internals). 2) Although books of this size (1500+ pages) are rarely error-free, poetic license can be graced upon honest mistakes/typos. Opinionated diatribe warrants no such respect. It seems that at times, the author will serve opinions as bold facts. The author's take on overclocking (multiplier-lock/unlocking) is an example of this. 3) Fortunately, if you have a good grasp of x86 (PC), most of the 'hiccups' in this book will be trivial. 4) Overall, a good guide -especially to the beginner- but not THE definitive text on the subject of PC upgrade and repair. 5) This review is 100% personal opinion on the text in question. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1