Customer Reviews for

Upon a Midnight Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Upon a Midnight Dream is a sweet romantic fairy tale meets Regen

Upon a Midnight Dream is a sweet romantic fairy tale meets Regency with some twists to keep you captivated till the last page. I could not pull myself away from this story to do anyother task. I am still thinking of this story weeks later. I look forward to the next bo...
Upon a Midnight Dream is a sweet romantic fairy tale meets Regency with some twists to keep you captivated till the last page. I could not pull myself away from this story to do anyother task. I am still thinking of this story weeks later. I look forward to the next book to see what happens with Rose's sisters. I was left enchanted but with hunger for more from the London Fairy Tale series. Ms. Van Dyken has proven many times she can produce a wide range of stories that leave me entranced!

Stefan is so funny and a sweet brute that has Rosalinds best interest at heart. I loved Stefan's horse Samson he has quite the personality. Rosalind is a strong heroine and likes to make things a little hard for Stefan. Not that I am complaining. I was delighted to see the many exchanges between Rosalind and Stefan. Rosalinds family is crazy and mad. I liked that they were really messed up and not perfect. Stefan's family has got a good mix of drama as well. If you like romance, fairy tales and regency this is a must read.



Just fyi this does not contain any swearing and all sex is behind closed doors.


posted by 12217503 on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok

196 pages

posted by 9771891 on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent story I greatly enjoyed reading, but read the stories

    Excellent story I greatly enjoyed reading, but read the stories prior they lead these characters

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2015

    I love these love stories from centuries ago. Good job Rachel.

    I love these love stories from centuries ago. Good job Rachel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Rachel Book provided by the publisher for review Rev

    Reviewed by Rachel
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book


    I really loved the concept behind this story and was looking forward to a revamped version of ‘Sleeping Beauty’ set in a regency setting. For me there was some disappointment still the story wasn’t that bad.

    I think that when trying to re-tell a classic you find that you have an idea in your head but trying to convey it to people the way you see it sometimes doesn’t come out the way you intend for it to.

    Two young lovers (first introduced in another of Ms. Van Dyken’s series) are once again re-united in Upon a Midnight Dream. We find Stefan somewhat on the debonair side with a tendency to be funny at times. Making him seem more real, down to earth is shipwrecked for a couple months coming back to England only to have changed into a brute of sorts. You might think that the experience would leave him a little more humble. Upon his entrance back into society he releases his fiancée Rosalind from their contract starting the beginning of the gypsy curse where family members start to die.

    Rosalind finds that all she really wants is to be loved and wooed as any girl wants. She also is a bit Narcoleptic which when you think about it can be rather humorous in the story. Reminds me a little of Sleeping Beauty in the Shrek movie where she nods off in the middle of everything. Cute, but a little over the top…

    The mystery of the gypsy curse is out there and easy for me the reader to figure out but at times you want to hit the characters up alongside the head as they are rather dunces when it comes to the clues. They are portrayed as idiots most of the time.

    The overall story was fun to read with a touch of the old fairytale updated for the adult reader. The sexual tension adds that adult theme to this fairytale, along with the mystery over the deaths, strange sickness and everything else that happens in the story.

    I really enjoyed Stefan’s horse Solomon who has a very strong personality of his own and it is kind of endearing the way Stefan would talk to him as if he were a human. The other element I found comical was Mary the resident fairy godmother (because no fairy tale is complete without a faux fairy godmother) and her cane.

    As Stefan and Rosalind finally marry it is more for the sake of stopping the curse then for the happy-ever-after of the fairy tales.  I did rather enjoy the story of Stefan and Rosalind despite the predictability of the mystery. I personally would have enjoyed somewhat more depth but it was after all a fairy tale.

    To find out the actual outcome, to see if Rosalind finds her WOW, factor you’ll just have to read Upon a Midnight Dream for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Fun retelling of Sleeping Beauty, regency style!!! I loved thi


    Fun retelling of Sleeping Beauty, regency style!!!

    I loved this re-telling of Sleeping Beauty by Rachel Van Dyken!  I love fairy tales and then to have it be a regency, well that was a bonus!  Rachel has taken two genres that I love and married them!  Upon A Midnight Dream was easy to read and I fell in love with the characters.  Stephan was lovable and endearing.  He made me smile and laugh constantly!  Rosalind was fiery and stubborn and wanted Stephan to 'woo' her properly!  I guess some women don't take kindly to being told they should marry immediately :)  If you are looking for a fun and romantic read, then Upon A Midnight Dream is the book for you!  It made me laugh (a lot) and it kept me guessing at the secret of the curse!  I thought I had it figured out, but there was an underlying twist that I didn't see coming.  Four stars for a fun and romantic read!




    I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Story

    I really like this author and her series. But this wasn't one of my favorites. For such a short story it seemed to drag in some areas. At the end there is a preview to "Whispered Music" which I can't wait to read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1