Customer Reviews for

The Upper Room

Average Rating 4
( 162 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good quick read

Finished the book in two days. It was different, not somsthing i was use to. I love suspense, murder, and horror books. This was a mild version of all three. I would reccomend that you read this if u want an in between book.

posted by Anonymous on May 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointed!!!

I read this book on recommendation from others that really enjoyed it. I found it bizarre, disturbing and not in the least bit funny. Mama Ruby is little more than a drunken nut-case with a God/Devil complex. Even more upsetting is that she is held in the highest est...
I read this book on recommendation from others that really enjoyed it. I found it bizarre, disturbing and not in the least bit funny. Mama Ruby is little more than a drunken nut-case with a God/Devil complex. Even more upsetting is that she is held in the highest esteem by a bunch of disturbed cronies that are constantly surrounding her and supporting her craziness. Just about every character in the story acts like they were dropped on their heads as babies. The story is bizarre at best, with too many incredibly absurd and unbelievable events (even on the level of fiction). I like to get lost in a story, to feel involved. All I wanted to do was run away chapter after chapter. If this is what I can expect from Mary Monroe, I wont bother with any of her other titles. It's too bad, because I really wanted to enjoy this book. It just didnt happen for me.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Mary Monroe Fan

    Momma Ruby got issues!!! Liked the story alot, if you have read any Mary Monroe books you will like The Upper Room.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Interesting

    A book written about violence, racism, alcoholism and religious beliefs. The story takes you on a journey through the civil rights era, following loud mouth Mama Ruby. People both love and fear her. It follows the relationship between Mama Ruby and Maureen and a cast of characters. Difficult to read at times. This book is not about civil rights per se, but is centered in that time. Im looking forward to reading more by Mary Monroe.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Good but..

    This book is entetaining but the ending is disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Good read..quick read...wanted a lilttle more closure.

    I couldnt stop reading this book! So many details ...poor maureen i wish she would have heard the truth. Some events that took place were crazy...it was crazy that no one around mama ruby told her she was wrong

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Very Strange

    I didn't like; while it was written well with illustrations and period history I thought it was a little too vulgar and far fetched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    I liked it but...

    I enjoyed the book even though it was a little unrealistic. I do wish that the ending was a little better as well. But over all I'm still a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    Disappointed

    I was surprised by the storyline. The story was very violent, and I am just surprised that the character commited so many murders without being caught.

    This is my first Mary Monroe story, so I will have to read another of her books to see how her stories generally read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Just ok

    It me two weeks to finally finish reading this book. For me it was a slow read untill I got close to the end then the story got really good. I reakly wish I could get my money back and check this book out from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Bizarre...

    The events and characters in this book were bizarre, outlandish, unrealistic, sadistic, ignorant, and ridiculous. With so much positive feedback from others, I was very disappointed. Murder is not funny, no matter how crazy the storyline. With that being said, I did finish the book, because I wanted to see how this mess ended. So the author gets 3 stars for keeping my attention and great character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Great Read!!

    This book is funny and interesting. I especially enjoyed the many types of Black American dialect spoken through character. I would have liked a more detailed ending; however, it left more to the imagination should the author decides to crate a sequel to the novel. I am currently reading another book written by Monroe and I am enjoying it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Strange but interesting

    I have read all of Mary Monroe's books, this one was really strange. Good but strange. What I find most strange is that I read this book about 4 months ago and if I am understanding correctly it was published in 2002. But now she has a new book recently released titled Mama Ruby, that tells the back story of her life??? Backwards...someone, anyone-tell me whether it is worth the 10 bucks please. Otherwise, I will wait until it 3 or 4 bucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hmmm....Interesting.

    Mary Monroe crafted a very disturbing yet intriguing character when she created the story of Ruby. At times Ruby seemed like a sub-human with super hero.....well villian qualities. Villian as in the Batman's Joker of Gothem City. Ironically, Ruby and her community always placed her in the hero category. Anyways, this book will definitly keep you engaged, but it will not fall into the "fine literature" category. Again, I have to reinterate that this story was engaging AND disturbing. I did not care for the ending, the author could have delivered a stronger plot had Ruby's daugther been able to confront and learn from her birth mother about Ruby's past and her birth. Without giving away too much, I found this part very disappointing. The author, in my opinion, missed the opportunity to make an interesting book good...maybe even great! But at the very least, i stayed engaged until the end, so that make it worth the pocket change I paid for the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    this book was ok.

    This was the first book that i've read from this arthur.This book was not what i aspect, But it turned out ok. Ruby was a mess. All she needed was love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2