Customer Reviews for

Uprising: Three Young Women Caught in the Fire That Changed America

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is one of my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE books in the entire universe. I am 13 years old and in the 8th grade. It taught me about an event that changed so many peoples lives. Haddix is my favorite author. I felt like I was with Yetta'my favorite characher'as she was striking and as she was falling an in the fire. The story line at first was hard to follow but once I understood how it worked, I could not put the book down. I cried almost the entire last 100 pages. It was terribly sad'I love sad books' but it moved me. RIP all of the factory workers and all of the other people who worked in the Triangle Shirtewaist Factory or were involved in the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory. RIP 3

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Wonderful book!!!!

    I have read everything that Margaret Peterson Haddix hs written, and this is by far her best book. She tells the story of a devastating fire in a touching and compelling way. If you have any doubts about reading this book, let me put them to rest. This book was marvelous and well worth the time I spent reading it over and over. This book deserves a spot on the bestseller list of absolutely everything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    This is awesome!

    I'm not going to spoil this book's AWESOME story line, but I will say that it's worth the money. I will also say that Bella, Yetta, and Jane are all caught in the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire, and only one of them survives. I will not say which one, though! You'll have to read it to find out. Yetta is probably my favorite character, with Jane as a close second. Overall, I love this book, and it is worth the money! People who like historical fiction will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book is so good and so sad. It is about three girls, Bella, Yetta, and Jane. Bella is a imagrant from italy who comes to America so she could send money to her poor family back in Calia, her village. She works at the triangle shirtwaist factory, home to the fire that changed America. She labors six days a week with a meager salary of four dollars a week and less if you do even one little thing wrong.
    Yetta is a fabrente girl who immigrated from Russia with her older sister Rahel she is part of the union composing a strike against poor working conditions at the triangle shirtwaist factory. She is dying for equality, and when she see's Jane the rich girl she wishes she could be able to have enough money that she does not have to work.
    Jane, is a rich girl who see's the girls on strike and wishes that she could be as free as them. Later she realizes that she is a very rich girl, but she does not have any money of her own, or that she has any control over. She admits she is not sure her father loved her. Her mother did, she is sure, but her mother died when she was nine. Other girls, their mothers would tell them to tighten up their corsets and get out there, and they would do it beacause they knew they loved them. Jane knew Miss Millhouse did not love her.
    "Falling does not take a long time even from nine stories up, but for it did it took the last moments of her life" - from Uprising
    In this book one of the three friends survive two die. The blank is the spot wher ethe name of the charachter would go. I will not tell you that. For the other death an exerp is in the overview.
    I give this book five stars Margaret Peterson Haddix is my favorie author, and this book rocks!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    This is a great book about three girls named Bella, Yetta, and J

    This is a great book about three girls named Bella, Yetta, and Jane. Bella and Yetta are both immigrants in the U.S. and you learn of their struggles in the new world. This book is very eye opening and attention grabbing. I really enjoyed her writin style. You feel like you are really there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is one of the saddest books that I have ever read. If people don't want a spoiler then don't read the review called "Heart breaking".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    I did not think that this book would be very good when I started it. I was wrong. By the end I couldnt put it down. I will definately recommond this to my 15 yr old niece. A great read about history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    A great read

    This is a great read about the triangle fire. I couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Memorable and heart warming

    This book touched my heart and i wish i could thank margaret peterson haddix in person for the book and how well written it was:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    AWESOME

    Awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Manufan10

    This book I should give a two but I am giving it a three because it was pretty intese but it was pretty predicdable about what was going tohappen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Very good

    It painted on what immigration looked like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Loved it

    Omg where can i start well ill summries it for u best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Bob

    Huh?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Margret Peterson Hadix

    I have read most of her booksbut im wondering if this one can compare to the others. Is it worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Best

    Get the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    anonymous

    i loved it soooooo much it was almost as good as the hunger games!!!! Bella's my favorite!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    OMG

    this book was awesome! i loved it especially the last line where she thinks two other voices are wispering with her it was sooo beautiful you must read it it was amazing just please get it for me it was based on a real event please read it now go and get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Read description before you buy~

    This book sucks. Like sucks hard

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is one of my all time favorites i love anything by margret peterson haddix!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4