BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Upstairs Room

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2006

    BEST BOOK

    such an awesome book!! i love books that have to do with the holocaust! this book has a sequel!! yes! READ THIS BOOK! it actually makes you like history!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    you must check it out

    I think this book is in tersting because of how childeran couldn't go to school because they were jewish.this book a boy life at time when he was a child who was jewish and had to hide from the Germans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    An Awesome Book!!!!!!!!

    The Upstairs room is one of the best books I've ever read! It is amazing how Annie and Sini can even bear the death of their mother, the war, not being with their father and sister, and not having a normal life! This book is an amazing book that you have to read!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2004

    An outstanding novel

    In my Language and Literacy class, we are starting to read the diary of Anne Frank. Also, we have to read another book about the Hollacost. I chose this book, and I'm so glad I did. My professor told me about this book and I knew right away that I had to read it. After finishing it, I get to do a collage and perform an oral presentation for it. I hope after my report that other people will be inspired to read it. It's a terrific book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    Hidden From The World

    The Upstairs Room is an exciting book. It is all history, with the authors point of view of what happened to her sister and herself, how they had to hide themselves from the rest of the world for 2 1/2 long years. It amazes me how the Hanninks and the Oostervelds were both selfless and both risked their lives for two Jewish girls. Annie and Sini kept each other company in that upstairs back room. It also amazes me that they got along together and never fought.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    An outstanding Book!!!

    A poignant and compelling story. The fact that it is based on a true story makes the novel very sad indeed. Ddespite constant danger, the couple hiding the girls (The Oostervelds were portrayed in the book as very selfless in their efforts to hide the two sisters, Anni and Sini from the Nazis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    Very Informational

    I thought it tought me how the lifestyles were for the jewish people at the time and the efort it took to run away to a better place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    Coming Back

    I am 37 yrs old. I read this book in 5th or 6th grade and it made such an impression on me I have thought about it, and searched for it, for years. I am buying it now to reread it. A very good book for a young person to read - they need to know about the holocaust to insure it never happens again. I never learned anything about the holocaust, other than maybe one line in a text book in high school, until college. These things really happened to people and we need to start making young people more aware of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    The Upstair Room.................

    The Upstairs Room was a book I needed to read for a bookreport. I am in 6th grade and I loved it. A 8-year old Dutch Jewish girl needed to live in an upstairs room(farmhouse upstairs). At first it is boring but then when you keep on reading it, it becomes really fascinating. It took me 3 days to read it, and I usaully hate reading books. It is a book for people all ages can enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2001

    The best book that I ever read!!!!!

    I think that this is a very interesting book and i think that they should make a book like this but for kids also. then the little kids will also get to know about the world war 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2001

    The Book is Inspiring

    The book is a wondreful book for kids to read.It is a book about courage and confidence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2000

    The Upstairs Room

    I read this book when I was in 5th grade and I will never forget it. I could feel how the characters must have felt during this time and once you get started reading it, its hard to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2000

    The Upstairs Room

    The Upstairs Room is a wonderful book that vividly portrays the life of a young ten-year old Jewish girl and her family during WWII. Annie is surprised by the unfair treatment she receives and eventually finds out that all the unjust treatment is occurring simply because she is Jewish. Johanna Reiss is the perfect author of this touching book because she was once the young girl that lived through the horrible time period of the Holocaust. One can easily get engrossed in this book and have a tough time putting this well written and moving book down. I encourage you to read this book and learn about Jews and the myriad of hardships they endured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1