Customer Reviews for

Urban Gothic

Average Rating 3.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brian Keene can always be counted on for providing a frightening horror novel

Tyler and his girlfriend Kerri, Brett and his significant other Stephanie, and Javier and his lady Heather drive from the burbs to attend the Monsters of Hip Hop show in Philadelphia. Tyler wants some weed so despite the protests of the others, he drives to Camden to b...
Tyler and his girlfriend Kerri, Brett and his significant other Stephanie, and Javier and his lady Heather drive from the burbs to attend the Monsters of Hip Hop show in Philadelphia. Tyler wants some weed so despite the protests of the others, he drives to Camden to buy some. They get lost in the Hood and their car breaks down. Some young blacks walk over to their vehicle; the outsiders are fearful of what will happen to them so take shelter in a nearby mini-mansion that needs extensive repair.

After they get inside, the door locks; they are unable to neither open it nor escape through a window because they are filled up with plaster A giant with a misshapen visage and body kills Tyler and plans to have sex with him now that he is dead. The others are attacked by misshapen midgets and creatures that do not seem to be human. The surviving suburbanites fight back knowing the monsters will use them as food. They have only one chance to escape when a middle aged man and though afraid the black youths try a rescue.

Brian Keene can always be counted on for providing a frightening horror novel that scares the hell out if his fans. In many ways URBAN GOTHIC is a thin plotted slasher movie except the characters don't quite fit as they understand survival means teaming together not wandering alone begging to become a victim. The trapped group never quits as they fight to the end to stay alive against the monsters. With plenty of blood, guts and gore that will make the strong queasy, fans of graphic horror thrillers will enjoy this trek into Camden.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book is destined for the big screen

a horror / slasher movie galore. I could not even finish the book. I didn't make it past the first chapter. The blood and gore makes this a fine candidate for the next primo slasher series of films -- I can see it now -- CANNIBAL II -- WHO ATE MAMA FOR LUNCH? I'm su...
a horror / slasher movie galore. I could not even finish the book. I didn't make it past the first chapter. The blood and gore makes this a fine candidate for the next primo slasher series of films -- I can see it now -- CANNIBAL II -- WHO ATE MAMA FOR LUNCH? I'm sure there is a market for this, but I'm not part of it!

posted by ShadowPanther on September 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brian Keene hits another one out of the park!

    If you like true horror stories, then this book is for you. The plot is fantastic! A group of teenagers go to the inner-city to buy drugs. The kids get scared when their car breaks down and some other teens give them trouble. They run to a house for safety and find just the opposite. It is filled with cannibalistic deformed creatures who do not take kindly to visitors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    Blood,Gore and Urban Idiots

    I was very disappointefd with this book. If you want mindless violence this is for you. It is a teen slaser B movie to be. As a Philadelphian, I was insulted. The best part of this book is by far, the cover.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book is destined for the big screen

    a horror / slasher movie galore. I could not even finish the book. I didn't make it past the first chapter. The blood and gore makes this a fine candidate for the next primo slasher series of films -- I can see it now -- CANNIBAL II -- WHO ATE MAMA FOR LUNCH? I'm sure there is a market for this, but I'm not part of it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    urban gothic

    Stop me if you've heard this one. Carload of kids break down in bad neighborhood. Scared, run into creepy house. Die in many varied and gory ways. This is a boring mish mash of just about very hack and slash teen horror movie, from Texas Chainsaw Massacre (first mutant cannibal is a dead ringer for leatherface), to Saw. In a word: disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Alright horror book.

    The book was alright read. I dont recommend buying this book, buy reading it if nothing else is better. The book was just all out killing and mutants. The ending was not that good. The ending ended abruptly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keene still has a lot of potential

    This is the 6th book I have read of Keene's. The others being: The Rising, The Conqueror Worms, Terminal, Ghoul, and Castaways.

    In his newest book, Urban Gothic, 6 teenagers go to a concert and then the leader, Tyler decides to drive through a bad neighborhood when their car breaks down. They are then approached by what looks like a gang and in panic the 6 teenagers run and hide in an old house. Of course what's in the house is 100 times more terrifying then the people outside.

    I liked this book but Keene should have gone into more detail about the characters. The "gang" sees the kids go in the house and then approaches an elderly neighbor to call the police, and then they try to decide if they should attempt to save the teens from whatever horror might be in the house. The book could have been a lot more interesting if it had focused more on these characters. We see a lot of them early on but less of them as the book goes on.

    The teenagers in the house starts out as very interesting in the beginning but seems to sort of drag on a little bit towards the end. It kind of seems like Keene was just trying to extend the book with some filler towards the end.

    Keene is interesting in that in some of his books (Terminal, Ghoul) we see that he focuses more on just a small group of characters and develops them throughout the book. While in others (Castaways, The Conqueror Worms) we don't see as much character development, but a lot of action. If he could somehow combine the two, he could make a truly great book.

    In closing, if you liked Richard Laymon's "Beast House" books or if you liked Keene's "Castaways," then I highly recommend you read Urban Gothic.

    Overall rating: 3.75/5.0

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great title!!

    I loved this book. It had a lot of suspense and a lot of horror. If you like the descent and the hills have eyes, this book is for you!! This book never gets me bored. Brian Keene never lets me down. Cant wait for his next book : Darkness On The Edge Of Town. Coming: feb. 2010 to leisure horror book club!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brian Keene can always be counted on for providing a frightening horror novel

    Tyler and his girlfriend Kerri, Brett and his significant other Stephanie, and Javier and his lady Heather drive from the burbs to attend the Monsters of Hip Hop show in Philadelphia. Tyler wants some weed so despite the protests of the others, he drives to Camden to buy some. They get lost in the Hood and their car breaks down. Some young blacks walk over to their vehicle; the outsiders are fearful of what will happen to them so take shelter in a nearby mini-mansion that needs extensive repair.

    After they get inside, the door locks; they are unable to neither open it nor escape through a window because they are filled up with plaster A giant with a misshapen visage and body kills Tyler and plans to have sex with him now that he is dead. The others are attacked by misshapen midgets and creatures that do not seem to be human. The surviving suburbanites fight back knowing the monsters will use them as food. They have only one chance to escape when a middle aged man and though afraid the black youths try a rescue.

    Brian Keene can always be counted on for providing a frightening horror novel that scares the hell out if his fans. In many ways URBAN GOTHIC is a thin plotted slasher movie except the characters don't quite fit as they understand survival means teaming together not wandering alone begging to become a victim. The trapped group never quits as they fight to the end to stay alive against the monsters. With plenty of blood, guts and gore that will make the strong queasy, fans of graphic horror thrillers will enjoy this trek into Camden.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    I have as many Keene books as I can find, this one being my leas

    I have as many Keene books as I can find, this one being my least favorite. Please keep in mind that it is a horror novel, not for the weak at heart. There are parts of this book that still disturb me to think about--therefore I feel that he really did his job here. This is Worng Turn meets Texas Chainsaw Massacre. Be prepared for gore and shocks along the way. If you are curious about Keen's work, begin with The Conqueror Worms or A Gathering of Crows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great scary read.

    Loved it. Fast paced, scary. Great late night read. Everything great about horror novels is in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Spooky Plot.....

    Loved the plot of this book, and had a hard time putting it down after I got started. Love Brian Keenes writing style and how he can keep you interested and turning pages as fast as you can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Keene disapionts with this book

    Normally I enjoy Brian Keenes work, most of all The Conqueror Worms, but this book falls way short of anything else that he has written. If you've read Brian Keene before you can expect just as much gore and violence as in his other books. Unfortunetly thats where anything good I have to say ends. The book starts off bland and full of uninteresting characters and it only goes downhill from there. Imagine the worst horror movie you've seen, with the dumbest kids then imagine it in writing and you have a good idea on the characters in this book. The ending is a little better with it closing on happier terms than his other books (by happier its still pretty grim). If all your looking for is a reason to read about stupid kids getting mauled in disgusting ways then this book might be for you, but to anybody who wants a higher quality horror novel I suggest you stay out of this urban nieghborhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites from Keene

    I just finished reading this book on a business trip and I lost sleep because I could not put it down! This is a simple & gory good time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Icky and sticky but a bit shallow

    I have dreamt about reading this book for months and once I got it I read the sucker in half a day. The good part - it's full of icky, gross horrific stuff that makes horror books fun, the not so good part - I wasn't crazy about it. The character development was shallow and maybe if the six kids who get stuck in the bad part of town at night weren't so stupid and lame, I would have liked the book more. It's hard to relate to someone who acts in a way that gets them in trouble in the first place, not to mention I could hardly tell them apart, yes they had different names but they were mere filler in the book, something for the monsters to snack on, fish food I guess one could say. And if I wanted to read a book about fish food I would have shopped in the marine biology section of Amazon, not the non existent horror section. Basically a bunch of white kids get stuck in the ghetto and when confronted with another human being that doesn't look like them, they freak out and end up making a grave mistake. They run into an abandoned house and find that they can't get out, but that's not the worst part. They are not alone in the house, and what they encounter makes them shriek, about forty times for each person, that action is repeated through out the book. Fans of "Hills Have Eyes" and those who love vile descriptions will enjoy, to me it felt more like a way to take up pages, but didn't build the story into something great. The parts of the book where someone is mourned were good, those little bits of misery and missing the dead person made them feel real, but when alive, the kids weren't so interesting. Fewer characters but with better development would have shined. I didn't get the dark gothic part of this, the urban part yes but the cloying, eerie intensity was not there, it was more of a teen outing gone wrong.

    Keene has slowly emerged as the recognizable name in horror, I personally look forward to his books and stories, my favorites were "Dead Sea" and "Dark Hollow" but I felt that this book lacked that special something, at least for me. I know that Keene doesn't let his audience dictate his craft, but I could clearly see the lack of juice in the novel when I read Ketchum's "Cover" the next day, the difference was night and day. "Cover" flowed and entertained with writing that was easy to absorb while this felt like I was following words written on the page. I thought of giving up on "Urban Gothic" half way through but decided to stick to it and just finish it, honestly I didn't get into the story until I got to page 260 which was the ending to my favorite chapter, the one that really grabbed me. Too many additions, unnecessary characters ( give us less and it will be more) and hastily finished resolutions to few things in the book that took away from the story were just few of the problems that I had with it. To each his own of course, some will love this some won't, I simply wouldn't want to read it again but I will definitely buy his next novel, after all horror is hard to resist when you really love it.

    - Kasia S.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Grotesque Horror Novel

    'Urban Gothic' is the first novel that I have read by Brian Keene, and I'm not so sure I would pick up another one of his novels. From chapter one all the way through the end, it was killing upon killing and it never stopped. I feel if the author put a little history into the novel it would have been much better. All I saw was mutants attacking scared kids and torture. But then what? What happened in the end? Was Kerri insane? Did the house completely burn down? Did mutants escape? This novel needed some more, and I believe if we had more information the novel would have been better off. Try Richard Laymon or Bentley Little. They have some great novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2