Customer Reviews for

The Urban Homestead: Your Guide to Self-Sufficient Living in the Heart of the City

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Manual

A GREAT manual! Easy to read, understand, and implement. Lists real projects that anyone could accomplish on any budget. Highly recommended to everyone!

posted by Z7 on December 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

eBook Formatting is horrible!!

B & N should never have sent me an email asking for a review on this one. I had already sent them an email the day I bought it telling them that the ebook formatting is horrible. I ask for my money back and they said there was nothing they could do! I guess that is a hu...
B & N should never have sent me an email asking for a review on this one. I had already sent them an email the day I bought it telling them that the ebook formatting is horrible. I ask for my money back and they said there was nothing they could do! I guess that is a huge disadvantage of eBooks - you can't return them even if they are defective! I think this is probably a very good book in print format, but on the ebook there are large portion that run off the right hand side of the page and you miss entire sentences or even paragraphs. It is very very hard to read and certainly not worth the $9.99 eBook price.

posted by BEBBB on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Manual

    A GREAT manual! Easy to read, understand, and implement. Lists real projects that anyone could accomplish on any budget. Highly recommended to everyone!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Taking Back Our Self-Reliance!

    This is a wonderful book in SO many ways. Anyone who is sick and tired of corporations running the world and everything, EVERYTHING being about the all mighty dollar will LOVE this book. Let's take back our lives from all the agencies and corporations who pollute our world, treat us like numbers, not people, poison our kids, and have created a culture that values THINGS and money above all else. For me, this book represents all the ideas and tools I need to put parts of my life back into my own hands. I am 43 and was raised on canned and frozen convenience food so many of these ideas are just mind-blowingly simple and amazing to me! I've strugged with my weight my whole life and it's no wonder because I've mostly consumed dead food. What a disgusting thought.
    I could go on and on but I won't. If you want to grow your own food and make your own stuff, this book is a good place to start for the ideas and instructions on how to do so. It will surely inspire you to keep doing more and going further. It has me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    THE URBAN HOMESTEAD... MODERN DAY OLIVER WENDELL DOUGLAS

    The Urban Homestead: Your Guide to Self-sufficient Living in the Heart of the City.

    THE RESOURCES SECTION is the best set of web links and my favorite feature

    Kelly Coyne and Erik Knutzen give us a FANTASTIC simple manual for self reliance in an urban home. A simple set of projects. Great ideas. Great graphics.

    I am a Green Acres Oliver Wendell Douglas kind of guy from planters on the deck to the real veggie gardens with green projects like shading and grey water. I found even more ideas o try out.

    Growing you own vegetables and herbs... local source... freshest organic food... great exercise... step in to it

    Non toxic cleaning of your house... saves money... better for your health

    Composting your food... grass clippings... coffee grounds... egg shells... This is all easy... safe... great for the environment and the best fertilizer available

    projects on canning and preserving your food with lots of recipes.

    Let me know what you think.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Delivers what it promises!

    This is an excellent and intelligent discussion of a wide range of issues related to urban homesteading and pursuing a self-sufficient lifestyle in general. Be prepared for the politics that go along with it, but I found the presentations enlightening and thought-provoking even in the few cases I may not have fully agreed with them. Excellent resource/ bibliography!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    part of my library

    Good idea book on homesteading. I'm working on my MG certification and am turning my 1/10 acre urban property into a food forest - and have pulled plenty of good ideas from this book. Hope it's useful to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Great book!

    Good for anyone that wants to learn about homesteading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Gloriously easy to use and understand

    Coyne and Knutzen did a wonderful job with this book. It assumes you know nothing and are interested to learn. It gives explanation for every project. Finally, it gives simple steps to accomplish each idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1